We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #13 of 26 Seattle B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Ballard has the feel of a European town, within Seattle, with a tree-lined avenue, brick buildings, and a huge selection of quality bars, cafes and restaurant. On the avenue itself sits the Ballard Hotel in a historic building. It has the charm of an old-world hotel, with small rooms (for American standards) but cozy - my bed was in an alcove, with a real duvet. The less expensive rooms have shared bathrooms in the corridor. I was aware of the potential level of late night noise, not unlike what you find in the Latin Quarter in Paris, and had brought earplugs (which turned out to also be standard supply in the room) - but this Tuesday night turned out to be very quiet. The hotel does not serve food of any sort, which is anything but a problem with many wonderful cafes and bakeries within a short walk - "Fresh Flour" across the street to be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank plasbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with an impromptu trip to Seattle the weekend before Valentine's Day. Our stay here was so great!

The rooms were a little on the small side but absolutely gorgeous! Every little detail is so vintage-y and adorable! The sheets and robes were so comfy, I almost sent him out to get breakfast so I could lounge in the room a bit longer!

We didn't have a private bathroom, but I heard that some of the rooms do. That really didn't bother us much as the room was so close to all the baths.

Between the cozy room and the great restaurant that the front desk staff managed to get us into at the last minute, it was a fantastic way to spend Valentine's Day!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The interior decor is very nice but all the surfaces are hard so any noise anywhere echoes throughout. Some in heels walked in and then upstairs. I laid in bed and heard every single step ring out.

The windows are original, so less soundproof. I laid in bed and listened to the street party ( this is a party late kind of area. Like the Mardi Gras but colder and damp) and then when the party was over the delivery trucks and warehouse workers zoomed around. No insulation means you hear every street noise.

The first room we went into was supposed to be heated with steam via radiator, but it was turned off. The room was so cold and the steam heat would take a while so the clerk got us an electric plug in heater. This room was located directly across the hall from the shared bathrooms. I already heard the sound of someone choking or coughing in the bathroom.

The clerk decide that another room would be warmer, so we trooped over to the second room. It was just as cold, but we couldn't stay up in later so we plugged in the heater, turined up the steam heat and huddled and shivered in bed until we drifted off to sleep. Only to be awakened in about hour with the first of the bar patrons in the streets, singing and screaming.

Room Tip: Not on a weekend when the many bars and pubs are busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fullofwonder108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

While having a visually charming interior is nice on the website, beware: this property is a retrofit, and the last thing it should have been made into is a "hotel"... since the rooms for the most part sport only a bed, one presumeably would like to "Sleep". That is not possible given the lack of soundproofing or modern windows. Noises from the street are like a night-long party in your living room, and noises from incoming guests in the hall are likewise startling, due to the echoing (uncarpeted) halls and stairways, and unsoundproofed interior. I've stayed in hostels, one-star hotels, and four-star hotels in many places in Europe (which this claims to emulate)...this is BY FAR THE WORST HOTEL I'VE EVER STAYED IN, even though I've stayed in places that stank of cigarette smoke or disinfectant. Why? Because you can't sleep here (well, maybe if you were super intoxicated...). I still have a fully paid voucher for another night's stay... and there is NO WAY I'LL EVER USE IT. You couldn't PAY me to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Absolutely charming little place! This is definitely European/guesthouse style, as most of the rooms DO NOT HAVE THEIR OWN BATHROOM. If this doesn't bother you, then you'll enjoy this hotel. The shared bathroom was literally a couple steps across the hall. I loved the decor, and most of all, the hotel was nice and clean. Our room was very small and minimalist, but perfect for a night's stay and the bed was extremely comfortable. We loved the hotel's close proximity to many bars, restaurants, and night spots, though if you're on the ground floor, passerby noise could be bothersome. Parking at night or on a weekend can be troublesome, or you can pay for shared parking at the athletic club around the corner. All in all, really enjoyed the stay and wouldn't bat an eye at staying at Hotel Ballard again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Upgrader42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Ulysses N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Ballard
Hotel Ballard
Hotel Ballard
#24 of 105 in Seattle
296 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#45 of 105 in Seattle
1,106 reviews
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Queen Anne
#76 of 105 in Seattle
1,091 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 105 in Seattle
1,601 reviews
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Address: 5300 Ballard Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107-4060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Ballard
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: £63 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ballard Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ballard Inn is a newly remodeled, vintage, boutique hotel, located in the heart of Ballard. Accommodations showcase vintage decor combined with old world charm. Completely renovated and restored to its 1902 elegance, Ballard Inn features 16 intimate rooms with 21st century amenities. Built in 1902, the building was originally commissioned and occupied by the American-Scandinavian Bank. And, later converted to a hotel, which served the city of Ballard and the neighboring communities of Magnolia, Fremont, and Wallingford for over 100 years. Amenities Include: Complimentary WIFI, Flat Screen TVs & cable, Bathrobes, Hairdryers, Access to 50,000 sqft Gym, including sauna, pool &whirlpool hot-tub, 24 hour front desk service, & Parking. Seattle's hottest neighborhood is waiting for you to explore just outside the Inn. Ask our front desk about area restaurants, bars, shopping and sight-seeing. Points of Interest: Walking distance to Ballard Locks, Golden Gardens park, local beaches and a 10 minute drive to downtown Seattle. Enjoy a cultural stay and rest at ease while staying at Ballard's premier boutique Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing