We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballard Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ballard(Seattle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunhill Motel(Seattle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Crown Inn(Seattle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
27
31
24
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
31
24
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomfarmers marketprivate batholympic athletic clubgreat neighborhoodshower roomear plugs were providedrooms sharestyle roomcoffee stationfloor spacefluffy towelshotel providedhistoric buildingbars and restaurantsthe ground floorplace to sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

These itsy-bitsy street-level rooms are not soundproofed. The proximity to a great and lively neighborhood means that the noise is substantial. the sound comes right through the windows. It's not only outside noise: hallway sounds are not muffled at all by soundproofing. Even the door locks are loud. The white metal blinds do not keep out the light from outside, and the hallway illumination is like a spotlight into the room - all night long. Sleeping is a challenge.

However, the staff is friendly, and helpful, and the communal bathrooms are kept mostly clean.

It's like a very expensive hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmur6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This place is clean, affordable and in a fun area, walking distance to great shops and a cool craft beer bar called The Noble Fir. The Olympic Athletic club next door has the best steam room in the United States of America. Could be considered a very up scalse Hostel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank supcoronado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The other recent reviews say it all. I will just add that I lucked out since the upper king room we got had the bathroom right across the hall, and only one or two other rooms booked. The owners of this place also own the upscale Olympic Athletic Club next door and the new upscale Hotel Ballard adjoining the athletic club. You may feel the snootiness of the management because they own the other properties. Also, there are no other hotels in tiny Ballard. Unless you are in a "luxury suite" the bathroom is down the hall baby. I easily Pricelined a water view parking free hotel closer to downtown Seattle for less.

Room Tip: I easily Pricelined a water view parking free hotel closer to downtown Seattle for less.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorAlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

I think that the only way we would stay again is if we were to stay in one of the king rooms. We stayed in a street level room that was very cramped and without a bathroom. Not having an en suite was not so much an issue but we had no idea that was the case when we booked our room online. Also, there's a $10 charge to use the pool, which is located in another building-still not that big of a deal, but we weren't aware until check in. From the looks of others photos, the king rooms look like they might be a better option. The noise at street level was too much and people could literally see right into our room.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Cute little inn with lots of character. The rooms are pretty basic; however, you should be aware that many of the rooms share bathrooms down the hall.

If noise bothers you, ask for a room in the back, away from the road. It was pretty noisy with a vibrant night life right outside. Lots of shops, restaurants, and bars close by. We stayed overnight on a Saturday and awoke (very early) to the sounds of the farmers' market setting up. We enjoyed a quick shopping trip thru the market and found lots of fresh items to take home.

Another drawback is the lack of on-site parking. They have an arrangement with a nearby fitness center to provide parking, but it is about a three block walk with your luggage.

The staff was excellent, from booking to check out. They were friendly, helpful and fairly efficient. As others noted, this is an old bank building with lots of character but some of the spaces are a little tight. So even with the limited space, they have found ways to make this work pretty well.

With all this said, we probably would not stay there again. For us, the noise, small rooms and parking outweigh the charm and location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNielsen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews