We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Certainly not one of the standard chain hotels than are common in the US. A quite quirky room design which I liked. Good size mirror, washbasin and facilities although the bathroom was cramped by comparison with the rest of the room. Although a fairly new hotel, some of the furniture and fittings show use and could use attention.

The breakfast available each day within the room rate was ok but could have been a bit less formulaic. After 4 days of the same breakfast, more choice would have been welcomed.

The receptionists were superb and very helpful. Very difficult to advise what the other staff were like as the hotel appears to operate on low staff ratios.

I liked the hotel and would return if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antarctic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

Our 4 night trip included 6 family members and was mainly to see the university and environs, but we also wanted to see the Seattle sights, and the location was good for both. The staff was perfectly nice about various requests regarding our various room and parking needs. We especially liked the layout of the rooms, and the little cupcakes and coffee in the afternoon. The rooms were clean and quiet, and breakfast was good. Many restaurants are within walking distance; one we especially liked was Araya's for vegetarian Thai. Our only (slight) difficulty was with the tight parking spaces in the underground garage. However, we were not charged for parking. The 3rd night free promo made our stay economical.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We have stayed at Watertown several times over the last few years and had been pleased, but on our last stay experienced the stench of men's cologne which suggests - well, it screams that the bedspread had not been laundered after the last guests' stay. We were frankly grossed out. Also, the rooms are looking a little tired - curtains faded and paint marred. A shame, for this was a great place to stay in the past.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback about the experience you had in May of last year.
We agree that the odor (of any type) on any of our furnishings is unaccepatable. We trust that we were able to resolve this issue while you were with us.

We hope that this is not the final memory of our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you once again for your comments.

Marco Baumann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We needed to stay north of Lake Union, so after a lot of research online and my local relatives, we stayed here for 3 nights. Very clean, new, nice underground parking which cost $10 (I think) per night. The elevator goes from the garage right up to the room level with your room key. Felt secure in a "University" type area which was 5 blocks to a lot of restaurants. Comfy beds, AVEDA products, robe, coffee machine, fridge, microwave, popcorn, better than at home.

The only little downside was that the breakfast for hot food wasn't ready when they opened, so my 2 year old had to wait for her eggs and bacon or not get them at all. It was free, so one can't complain too much, except she was up at 4:30, so waiting until 6 was still a long time.

The staff was really nice and they had a "general store: for sugar and the like at the front desk. The room was rather quiet despite being on a busy street. Well designed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in March as part of the College Band Director's National Conference. Because all of the activities were at the University of Washington, the location was ideal. There are lots of restaurants and shops in the area within walking distance. There is a little grocery right across the street, with food, sandwiches, wine and beer, etc. Our room was spotless and very cleverly laid out. The free wi-fi worked flawlessly. Nice amenities, and flat screen tv. The free underground parking was terrific. We had a lovely view of both Mt. Rainier and downtown Seattle from our room (404). The staff was also flawless, and the shuttle service (again, free) was a big help.Breakfast was fine, nothing special but nothing wrong with it either. Our only complaint was the rooms could be a little more soundproof. The hall noise was bothersome, and we could hear the people above walking around.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Just stayed here one night with my teenage daughter and her friend because of an event they were attending at the UW. This is by far the best value I've found in the Seattle area. I made my reservations online through the hotel's website by using the BEST promo code and ended up with a price that beat other online travel web sites.

This is not a high-end upscale hotel but the little touches they provide rival, and beat, some Seattle-area high-end competitors. They do not nickle and dime their guests to death. For example: 1) the secure, underground parking is free; 2) they provide loaner umbrellas at the front door which are needed in the Seattle area--my daughter's friend didn't bring an umbrella so the loaner came in handy; 3) they have a free computer in the lobby that we used to look up movie times at a nearby movie theater; 4) they have themed "carts" which are complimentary--we used a spa cart that contained a foot spa, handheld massager, CD player with relaxing music, lotions, shampoos, loofah, etc.; 5) the cookies in the lobby during check-in were delicious; 6) the free breakfast is very good for getting tourists through a morning of sightseeing in the area; 7) they provide a map on their card key holder which was very convenient for sightseeing; and 8) we did not use the free shuttle but that is also a nice touch.

Regarding the previous comment about the hotel not being near anything, this hotel is a few blocks off busy 45th and a few blocks away from University Avenue. We were able to walk to the UW, several movie theaters and many restaurants. Our room faced Roosevelt Avenue and we were not bothered by street noise (I don't think it is a very busy street). I prefered the location to a hotel such as the Deca because it is a little bit out of the way. After dinner and a movie we walked back to the hotel around 10 p.m. and felt very safe along the way.

I will be staying here on my next trip to Seattle and my daughter and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSNDIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The Watertown is, hands down my favorite places to stay in the U-District. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is well kept. The hotel and rooms have a modern aquatic theme with bright clean bathrooms, comfortable queen beds, ample closet space and gorgeous views of downtown Seattle. The rooms also come with complimentary Aveda products, fluffy bathrobes and free parking. The Watertown also has a small workout room to squeeze in your morning run on a rainy day as well as business meeting rooms for your convenience. 

The thing I really like is that they actually put time and quality into their continental breakfast. Last we were up they served sausage and eggs, a variety of cereals, soy milks, juices, bagels, smaller sized pastries, granola, fruit and very delicious organic Greek yogurt. The coffee and tea flow all hours and in the evenings they have fresh baked cookies and complimentary wine/beer bar. Really, The Watertown has everything in one place. 

They also have two sister hotels; the University Inn just a block away and the Maxwell that just opened in Belltown.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeSarahTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 103 in Seattle
1,376 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 103 in Seattle
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £108 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing