We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value to quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

With the feel of a boutique hotel and the price of a value hotel, Watertown scored well with me. The room was spacious, clean and efficient.

I stayed on business for a week, so the fridge and microwave were nice for those early morning and late night snacks. There's a small market right across the street.

Some of the furniture in the room was showing a little wear, but easily overlooked.

Nicely done Watertown!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myklreinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear myklreinhart,

Thank you for being our guest and for all the positive comments you provided us about our hotel.

We appreciate both your feedback and your business!

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We drove from San Francisco to Seattle in order to see a concert of our favorite performer at the Seattle Zoo in Woodland Park. So we went looking for a hotel in the same section of town as the park and selected the Watertown. This hotel also happens to be right next to the University so if that is your destination it is very convenient. Also, being next to a major university, the area is full of stores and restaurants that cater to the college age crowd.

This hotel looks pretty new and is very well done. The lobby is modern and inviting and there is a very small coffee bar sort of place. Kind of like a mini Starbucks off the lobby which is OK for a cup of coffee and muffin but even though it has some other items like a sandwich offering and a few other things, I think one can do much better outside the hotel.

The room had a very unusual layout that I had never seen before, but one that worked very well. As usual when you enter you are in the room with the bed. In our room, on the right after you enter was a large wall unit consisting of a closet for hanging clothes and which contained the guest safe. Next in line was an alcove for the TV. Now here is where it's different than normal. This wall system actually forms a divider and the bathroom area is behind it.

The bathroom area consists of a sort of dressing area, a sink area and a toilet/tub/shower room. A nice feature is that the closet mentioned in the first paragraph has doors on both sides and can be accessed from both the sleeping room and the sink area of the bathroom. See me photos for a better appreciation of the layout.

Back in the sleeping room there is a large desk with accessible electrical outlets, the bed, and an easy chair with ottoman. All in all, very well designed and laid out with lot's of storage space, well appointed and plenty of light. On each side of the bed were very nice reading lamps on adjustable extensions

The bathroom area was also very well done. Large counter around sink, several large drawers for storage and a very good shower. As I said before, the TV is in an alcove in the room divider system that, of course, is viewable from the bed. Under the TV alcove is another space accessible from the bathroom side that contains the refrigerator.

The room was very clean, did not show signs of wear or damage and service was very good. Speaking of service, a very nice feature is a free shuttle run by the Hotel that will take you to and from most of the most popular tourist destinations in Seattle (Seattle Center where the space needle and Chehulie glass museum are, city center, pikes market, pioneer square, etc. The king bed was extremely comfortable.

As is always an issue with inner city hotels is parking. What attracted us to the Watertown is that free parking is included free (first come first serve). this is a 2 or 3 level underground lot with security gate that you open with your room card key.

All in all very nice.

If you found this information useful in your decision making process, you gleaned information you may not otherwise have discovered, you appreciate the time I took to write it, or you just enjoyed reading it, please give me a "helpful" vote.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Califdan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Califdan69,

We are delighted you chose to stay with us while staying in Seattle. Those concerts at the zoo are a lot of fun. Gald we added positively to your experience!

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our family's first stay in Seattle and the Watertown Hotel was perfect. The rooms were modern, very spacious, and clean. The staff was very helpful with directions and a suggestion for breakfast. It is located near the University of Washington campus, but the free shuttle made it extremely easy to get downtown and back. I would definitely recommend it for a business stay or pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors for a better veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joymom3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear joymom3k,

Wow, we are delighted to hear your first stay at the Watertown was perfect. Let's hope we repeat that on future visits!

Thanks for being our guests,

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Two blocks from the beautiful and serene campus of Univ. of Washington--absolutely a must for an early AM walk. Close to good food, the freeways, and an incredible hardware store, of all things--totally a kick to walk through while you wait for your table at the restaurant next door!
Free onsite parking and wifi, afternoon coffee and mini-cupcakes, clean and modern rooms, good service. I would return happily.

Room Tip: as in lots of hotels, a "queen" is really more like a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailb0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear JaneE1956,

Thanks for such a great response regarding your recent stay at The Watertown Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our signature cupcakes as well as our breakfast offerings in the Pineapple Cafe.

Our fitted sheets have arrived and are in the wash as we speak. They should be in the rooms by the end of the week, which will solve out sheet issue.

Please come back and try them out!

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were very impressed with the friendly helpful reception that checked us in early to a large, immaculately clean room with a very comfortable bed, and more importantly good quality pillows. The only downside was that the bottom sheet was too small for the bed and could not be tucked in. This resulted in us waking up in a tangle of sheets several times during the night.

My husband found the modern decor took a bit of getting used to (he would have liked a rug by the bed instead of hard floors) but I found the chairs and sofas comfortable.

We enjoyed the coffee and cupcakes provided in the lobby and though that the breakfast in the cafe was pretty reasonable. We were pleasantly surprised to find that parking was included in the cost of the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneE1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is really fun hotel. The lobby is modern and cool with unique furniture pieces and some cool neon. The rooms themselves are what I would call a industrial modern and very comfortable.

The hotel offers movie loans and board games if you are staying with family. The lobby has a coffee service and café items. The food was OK, in keeping with a Starbucks type of faire. They also have complementary mini cupcakes in the evening with pineapple frosting. Um, lets just say I hope no one was counting how many I ate.

The location of the hotel is far enough off the freeway that it was quite. It is a bit north of downtown Seattle which does make for having to fight traffic when going back to the city. However they do offer a shuttle service. They also have a parking garage that is included in the price of the room unlike the downtown hotels that will add huge parking fees.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WCDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear WC Diver,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us... and just in case you wonder, we did not count how many of our signature cupcakes you consumed, that is exactly why we have them!

Hope to see you again soon,

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Second time at the Watertown Hotel. Our last visit was back in 2009. I had the positive review then, and again, I have the positive review and better rating. For UDub business, we were here before 8am, left the luggages and they shuttled us to the campus. It was the very easy fun walk back to the hotel through the beautiful campus and stores that cater to the students.

We got the 6th floor room this time. It is big, airy, comfortable, and bright. What I like about this hotel is the fact that you can open the windows, and there is the floor to ceiling windows in the room. WiFi is free (thank you!) but it disconnected itself all the time. I had to go to the iPhone setting to connect every 30 min. After all I gave up and just used my 3G network.

One complaint was the lack of iPhone dock near the bed. I had to recharge it at the foot side of bed.

As we do not need to do touristy things any more, we would definitely come back to this hotel in our next trip to Seattle. It is just over all nice neighbourhood, less costly, and more interesting restaurants and stores. And if we need to go downtown, we can take advantage of the hotel shuttle.

There is a great breakfast/lunch place called Portage Bay Cafe down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cattledogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 104 in Seattle
1,389 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £101 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing