We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This nice hotel has a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Plano
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This nice hotel has a great location!”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I love the Seattle/Tacoma area and have stayed in various hotels but I like to keep coming back to the Watertown. It is conveniently located off the freeway and is close to downtown Seattle as well as the University. When I say convenient location off the freeway...I mean it! Seattle doesn't have the most comprehensive highway system and this hotel is easy off and easy on the interstate. One of the BEST features is that parking is FREE and secure!!!! Although there is no room service or restaurant on site they give you food delivery menus from all kinds of local restaurants in the area which I took advantage of and loved. I don't always get a room with a decent view (in fact my last stay I had a great view of the garbage area) but that's minor thing since I'm not living in my room and I wasn't picky enough to ask for a change.

This is a GREAT boutique hotel and where I stay whenever I make a trip to Seattle since hands down, I've tried enough hotels in the area and this is by far my hotel of choice. The shopping at University Village is nice with umbrellas you can borrow if caught in the rain.

The rooms are clean and well maintained with high end amenities. I recommend this hotel to anyone I know traveling to Seattle on vacation.

Room Tip: You definitely want to be higher up and ask for a view of Mt. Rainer if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Owner at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Brenda M,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in the u-district. It warms our heart to know when guests had a great experience while staying with us.

We will look forward to your next visit!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    317
    80
    28
    16
See reviews for
349
247
54
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It is our greatest fear every time we book a hotel. Since my husband uses a wheelchair, we need a roll-in shower bathroom. We booked a room with roll-in shower one month in advance, and then reconfirmed with them 2 days again before check-in to ensure we could have the accessible room. Still, when we arrived after a long exhausted flight only to find out the hotel staff didn't quite understand what is a roll-in shower bathroom and had already given away the one and only that they have. We booked this hotel because my husband was invited to give a presentation at University of Washington and it was within walking distance from campus. It was midnight when they found us another hotel (but under same owner) in downtown Seattle which is 15 minutes away driving distance. It was not quite possible to walk from the hotel to campus and the thoughts of travelling on public transportation and praying that it will be wheelchair accessible, just simply terrified us. We don't usually rent an accessible van for conferences but we did this time and were thankful that we spent the extra $600 to rent an accessible van for a few days. We finally checked into the other hotel and got in bed at around 3am in the morning. Since we didn't get to stay at the hotel other than spending about 1hour explaining to them what is a roll-in shower and getting them to help us relocate another hotel, I can only give a poor rating for their front desk services. Even though before we left, the manager came out to talk and apologize to us, but this cannot happened again to another person in wheelchair. It is not a matter of convenience but necessity. Honestly, we did expected more from Seattle and it dampened our enthusiasm visiting this beautiful city on our first day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chonglh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Chonglh,

We are terribly sorry for the misunderstanding about the ADA room and the inconvience it caused for you and your party.

We have learned to be much more careful to be clear about the offerings in our ADA rooms.

Thank you for your feedback,

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Easy access to the freeway and walking distance to the PCC Natural Market. Secure underground parking was a plus. Service was great. Pineapple cupcakes were tasty.We stayed in the studio King, very confortable bed. The access to a free washer and dryer was nice for longer business trips. The bicycle checkout was an added bonus!

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the ac unit. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Chris P,

Thanks for being our guest and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and visit again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was really nice, very clean and had amazing views! It was like 5-10 mins from dowtown. Right on campus of UW. Shopping is close as well at university village which is awesome outside shopping mall. Rooms dont have carpet but its a nice moden look. They call them.studios and thats exactly what they are with a closet with pocket doors seperating bathroom sink and living/sleeping area. Only thing I recommend is dont eat at pineapple cafe, it wasnt very good and overpriced. Plus unfriendly staff. Hotel staff seemed overhelmed with only 2 people checking in and a guest with a question. But were nice and seemee somewhat knowledgable. Enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laxroxtopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Laxroxtopher,

Thanks for your great feedback. I am sorry you had a less than desirable experience in our cafe. I will pass along that feedback to our food and beverage team.

Hope you see you return to visit us again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at Watertown Hotel while in town for a college reunion. Room was spacious and full of light. Loved the coffee maker,microwave and fridge. The popcorn and umbrella in the room was a nice touch. Pineapple cupcakes and coffee tasted great in the afternoon. Only disappointment was that we did not realize that the "free shuttle" had to be reserved quite a bit in advance, and did not just shuttle back and forth to the Market. We were never able to use the free shuttle, but cab fare was not too expensive. Hotel located in University district so would be great for parents. Nice market just across the street and delicious brunch right down the street! Enjoyed the stay and would recommend and stay again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keoweecruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Keoweecruiser,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, we are glad you were our guests! I apologize you were not able to take advantage of our complimetary shuttle services. It was in hot demand this summer.

Hopefully, when you return, it will be more available to serve your needs.

Thanks Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very comfortable boutique hotel, conveniently located near the University of Washington where my daughter is a student. The hotel provides a free shuttle service to the major attractions in Seattle. The pineapple cupcakes they serve in the afternoon were delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Jan N,

I am glad you found your University hotel and since your daughter is a student there, we hope to see more of you here!

Thanks for being our guest,

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at this quaint hotel for a night before we took off for our Alaskan cruise. I had done a lot of research on Travel Advisor to find a good deal at a decent hotel somewhat near the cruise port and chose this one. We weren’t sure what to expect from a “unique urban hotel” since we are suburbanites from Northern Virginia. We loved it and wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms were huge and quite comfortable. The furniture had nice clean lines (think the old Scan furniture place) which I really liked (it seems like the furniture in a lot of hotels is tacky colonial style). The sheets were a bit odd, and seemed to slide off the bed but the hotel is environmentally friendly, so I believe they were chosen for that reason. The nice thing is that they felt cleaner than traditional sheets.

Since I had looked at so many hotels, I kindof forgot about the details of which one I had chosen. When I got to the desk there was a handy map which said “University District” on the top. Being the out of towner that I am I asked if we were near the University of Seattle (not knowing if there even is one). The reservation host said “No, we are essentially on the campus of U. of W”. I am not a college football fanatic but remembered that the University of Michigan continuously lost, or more descriptively got spanked, in the Rose Bowl to west coast teams so I put 2 and 2 together and realized we were among the Huskies! We asked the very nice, informed and helpful desk personnel some recommendations on where we should eat dinner which we followed and found ourselves at a Thai place on University way. What a gem. We also got directed to a nice place for breakfast. We were very impressed with this hotel on many levels and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Gus4evr,

We are glad you found our hotel to be both comfortable and affordable. We appreciate all of the kind things you said about us.

Please come back and see us again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#62 of 101 in Seattle
1,350 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 101 in Seattle
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing