We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Seattle-style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
“Modern Seattle-style hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great location a short walk from the University of Washington and all the restaurants and activities in the "U" area. Lots of windows and light throughout hotel with cheerful decor. Very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Young children enjoy watching the activity on Roosevelt Ave. (west rooms) and there is not excessive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Courtney,

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and its location. It is a nice design with lots of wonderful windows!.

Your comments about the pleasant staff is also greatly appreciated.

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    300
    71
    26
    16
See reviews for
325
238
53
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel, due to its location and clientele, feels like a very nice dormitory. The kind that I would have loved to have lived in as a college student. I stayed one night in a 2 queen-bed room for business at UW and found it is exactly what I needed.

The building is new, looks clean, and is attractively presented from the street. There is plenty of window walls, full height glass, and amenities. The room has plenty of space and the restroom tucked behind the TV/closet wall is creative. The porthole on the toilet/shower door is a charming touch. Water pressure is good. The looming cabinet (TV/closet) is a bit oppressive, as is the choice of wood color. There are a lot of stains when examined closely, and it is not appealing when found.

The walking distance to UW is very nice. The academic ambiance is very pleasant, especially with warm beverage in hand on a cool morning, walking along with the students towards the campus.

Breakfast at the café is not free, but guests receive 15% off.

There is free shuttle service to downtown Seattle that requires reservation. When I showed up at the reserved time, staff at the desk started whispering to each other. One of them inched over to me after a few minutes to tell me somehow my reservation was “lost”. They were thoughtful enough to infrom me since I had already checked out, they cannot reimburse me for a cab ride ($15).

Overall the desk staff feel like students on a part time job. Definitely no air of institutional professionalism. Which is okay if one is not picky with that sort of thing, and the student ambiance is what one is after.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redraisinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear redraisinz,

Thank you for your feedback about our hotel and glad to hear it is mostly positive. I would be happy to look into the shuttle mishap and reimburse you if we were at fault. If you are interested in pursuing this, please call the hotel and ask for the manager and I will help you!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great location to the University of Washington. Hotel is clean, staff is friendly, and the modern decor is nice. Wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the amenities - hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Justin R,

So glad to hear you found out hotel to be hip and cool, what a great description! We also appreciate your comments about our pleaseant staff and the cleanliness of the property.

Thanks for being our guest!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a whim because I had to be in the vicinity very early the next morning. Because of late booking, we got a very low rate.

The bed was remarkable. My husband is tall, we usually try to get a queen bed, and we don't sleep well on hotels. We both commented on the great bed in the morning.

Parking garage is secure and free for guests. Really small spots, but that's typical.

We left too early to try (or see) the free breakfast, but there was coffee in the lobby and a Keurig in room.

Decor was sort of northwest woodsy with nautical. Very clean and uncluttered. Soaps, shampoo, conditioner in dispensers, rather than tiny travel bottles. Appreciate the effort to reduce waste of all that plastic.

Good location for UW. Holder for key cards is a small local map. Free wifi. The hotel reminds me of a Kimpton, but much more affordable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coug1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Coug 1984, and greetings from a fellow Coug, class of 1979!

We are so glad to hear you liked our rooms/beds and enjoyed your stay with us.

We do offer coffee and breakfast in our Pineapple Cafe, where hotel guest receive a 15% discount. We also offer complimentary coffee and our signature Pineapple cupcakes in the lobby each afternoon.

Please return again when you can take advantage of more of our many amenities!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

After reading the reviews, I decided to try it here. It was a good decision. The room was modern & clean. The staff was young, with a great attitude. They were super helpful. The secure parking was very assuring. Even though it was in the University district, it was relatively quiet there. The students seem to congregate several blocks to the east. Some of the other reviews mentioned homeless street people. After touring Seattle, it seems to be a city wide problem, not just here. But we had no problem with anybody bothering us. So, yes I do recommend The Watertown Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimlr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear jimlr53,

Thanks for much for your many positive comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the nice rooms, as well as our great staff. I am pleased to hear you felt the team had great attitudes and were super helpful. That makes my heart sing!

We hope you come back and visit us again, we will look forward to serving you.

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

For someone like me, who travels nearly every week for work, I have a great appreciation for clean, comfortable, convenient hotels. All of which the Watertown Hotel is, and more. It's the perfect place for those staying one or two night for a quick visit to the city or UW or Seattle Children's Hospital - convenient to all of these places, and the free shuttle service is perfect. However, as someone who stays multiple nights per week, this hotel is so much more. The rooms are not a typical hotel layout, they're spacious, airy and comfortable. It feels more like a loft than a room and is clean, roomy and modern. The staff and management go out of their way to be helpful, friendly and courteous. For those needing a longer term stay in the area, this hotel can't be beat. It's not a full-service Hilton-type hotel, so don't expect room service. However, there are tons of places in walking distance, including Trader Joe's and there is an in-room Keurig machine with drink choices, microwave and even microwave popcorn.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet and relatively bright. If you can get a South-East facing room, you may w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kato Akita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Kato Akita,

Wow, we like what you have to say about Watertown and the staff/managment! We do go out of our way to be friendly, helpful, and courteous, and we are glad it shows through.

We are glad you like our clean rooms as well, and look forward to accommodating you again!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed here for one night (I wish it could have been twelve longer!), and I have to say, I was really impressed. First of all, the hotel is lovely. The rooms are carefully laid out, with lots of light coming in, the linens are clean and crisp, the Keurig machine for coffee and tea is very nice.

But beyond the basics of an excellent hotel, I was really impressed with their customer service. I stayed here during a stressful 24 hours, when I was interviewing for UW grad school. I had a rental car, I had an early wake-up call, and I had a marathon day in front of me. They were happy to accommodate my needs, issuing a cheerful wake-up call, allowing me to check out but keep my car in their lot ALL DAY, and feeding me a delicious breakfast at their little cafe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear KatieT,

I am thrilled to hear you noticed and appreciated our customer service, as we feel this is the lifeblood of our industry. We work very hard to communicate that in a serving way to our guests.

We also appreciate your comments about the lovely hotel, linens, coffee, and delicious breakfast.

We wish you could have stayed 12 days as well. Maybe you can just return for another visit!

The Watertown team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#60 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing