We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.... Feels like you're staying with friends! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #33 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Just finished our stay at the Watertown hotel. Very very impressed. Besides the required, in my book anyway, cleanliness... And it is very clean. The staff, Tierra and Justine (there were others also), were welcoming, knowledgeable and very helpful. I loved all the extras they provide, with no additional cost, microwave popcorn, bottled water and cupcakes at check in. They really strive to make you feel like you're staying with friends vs stating in a hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank KJackson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear KJackson2013,

It warmed my heart to read your comments about how at home you felt while staying at The Watertown Hotel.

Justine and Tierra are pleased to be singled out as part of our great team. I have thanked them both for taking such great care of our guests.

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

I admit I was skeptical when I first booked this hotel. My boyfriend and I stayed in downtown Seattle last year and it was great walking distance to everything - but parking was SO expensive so we opted for a hotel that gave complimentary parking. Watertown was an affordable option that gave free parking, free WiFi and since we had a car, we didn't mind driving around.

The staff were very helpful when we checked in - the cupcakes and coffee offered in the afternoon were as amazing as everyone says. There's not much in the lobby, but for a small hotel, there's a lot of "boutique" touches that make it special. I thought there was quite a bit more security than I would've expected for a small hotel but that's never a bad thing. You swipe your card for the elevator/parking etc. and it just makes it feel more safe to be there.

The room itself was very clean for a pet-friendly hotel. I requested a room that was "cleaner" (because I'm allergic to dog/cat hair) and extra towels/pillows - to my surprise, it was all there when I arrived! Most hotels ignore that part of my request...
The washroom was kind of interestingly located. It's not a separate room but rather behind a large cabinet in the middle of the room so the room "looks" U-shaped. One side has a desk and bed and the other has your counter for the washroom. Very interesting and unique and I had no complaints.

The small touches that I appreciated were the umbrella in the closet; the Keurig machine in the washroom; the extra large mirror and even the hardwood flooring to keep it nice and clean. Some people complained about the dated heating system, but I think it's been updated since then because ours worked nicely and quickly.

About the one and ONLY complaint I have was the noise level. We were on the 6th floor and the weekend we went - was actually very quiet... except in the morning/late night. Our room was right beside the elevator and everyone that walked past our room or talked - we heard them. We think it was the poor insulation of the door, because it pretty much blocked NO noise. I rated the hotel with "poor" sleep quality as a result. I don't think I slept more than 3 hours at a time with all the interruptions from other guests.

I would probably stay again (requesting a room in the corner somewhere) despite the complaint. Definitely bring a car if you're looking to go downtown Seattle because there's free secured parking - but even if you don't, there's a lot around the University that's good enough to entertain (lots of food, shopping, no sights though). Overall, I would recommend it!

Room Tip: Away from the elevator and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Cherrie C,

Thank you for such a thorough and positive review of the Watertown Hotel. I am glad we met/exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for choosing us and look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Wow....that is about all I can say, just, wow. The view of Mt. Rainer and the downtown skyline with the Space needle is just amazing.
The location is great, close to everything and the people there are above average with some being way above average....kind of like if you were helping yourself the best way possible!......that good.
The price? I felt guilty. Less than half of the Fairmont's 2nd lowest grade room and a third the price of their deluxe room....what a joke.
This is the first hotel lobby restaurant that not only doesn't add a surcharge, but gives a discount of 15% when you order from your room! Are you serious??? The morning selection and hot grill make Starbuck's look bad.....Well I guess Seattle does it better when it comes to cafes.
Do yourself a favor and stay at this hotel, because when you are parking for free in the secured d underground garage with elevators straight up, you too may have a moment there when you think, wow, this is nice, and then a smile!

Room Tip: If you don;t know which room is by far and away the best....it's your lose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear MisterFrancisco,

Wow, thank you for such a lovely review... we are so glad you enjoy our hotel! We like to consider ourselves the crown jewel of the U-district.

Please come stay with us again when you return to the Seattle area.

The thankful Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed in this place over November with family to see my brother at the university of Washington (UW). The place was clean and very friendly, front staff were very helpful as when he was in lesson we had ALOT of time to kill around seattle. There was a FREE shuttle run to downtown Seattle or anywhere really, as well as a main bus stop just outside the hotel so if needed this was easy. The Ave is worth checking out which is where all the food is around with some BRILLIANT asian restaurants.

Overall Great place to stay if around the Uni District. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Onnie4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Onnie4000,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and friendly staff. We do aim to please!

I will pass along your appreciation to our front desk and shuttle drivers.

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We head to Watertown when staying in Seattle. During our recent 2 and 1/2 week stay, we again enjoyed a wonderful room, great housekeeping, excellent front desk service when needed. The hotel has its own delightful character with lots of helpful amenities. The garage is convenient, the lobby an alternative for reading/computing. We found the beds comfortable and rooms well designed even for our longish stage. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Mary E,

Thank you for your positive review of our wonderful hotel. We are glad you had so many nice things to share.

We welcome the opportunity to see you again when your travels bring you back to Seattle.

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel is nice looking, and convenient to the University, but my stay here was awful. I had reservations for 4 nights but left after 2 so I could get some sleep.

Upon checking in, I noticed a hair band on the floor in the area between the bathroom and the bedroom. Not impressed, but I was exhausted and had to get the hospital so I kicked it to the side, dropped my bags, and got on the shuttle. When I returned and began to unpack, I noticed there were 3 hairs in the tub, one of them a pubic hair. But the bed was made and looked clean so I fell in and attempted to sleep. Then upstairs, the noise started. It sounded like very heavy stomping or something but it went on all night. I couldn't drown it out with the a/c on high, a sound machine, a fan, and an mp3 player. This was not normal noise! I was finally able to fall asleep out of pure exhaustion, but woke at 2:30 AM to hear the same noise happening. It was still going on when I got ready to leave for the hospital again in the morning. I talked to the front desk about it and asked them to ask the people upstairs to please stop whatever they were doing, assuming they just didn't know that in this hotel, with no carpeting on the floors, every noise was going to carry to the floor below. The front desk attendant assured me she would talk to them and I went to the hospital.

Day 2: I returned from the hospital late in the day. I got in bed and started to doze off and then problem #2 started. Kids in the hall. Teenagers or young adults running up and down the hall, knocking on doors, in and out of rooms, giggling, screaming, yelling at each other. Every time it would get quiet for a few minutes I'd breath a sigh of relief and think I was going to get some sleep, then they'd come out of whatever room they were in and start over. Again, soundproofing is a big issue here. Every noise in the hall sounds like it's right in your room. I called the front desk after listening to this for about 2 hours, but of course once I called, the kids never emerged again. HOWEVER, as soon as the kids quieted down, the stomper started up upstairs again. I gave up at this point, nearly in tears from weeks at the hospital, no sleep, and I just wanted to go home, so that's what I did. I checked out the next morning and went home.

I could not recommend this hotel if you want to sleep or have any peace. You may get lucky but you might have an experience like mine. Unless of course you just want a place to party, then this may be your place!

Room Tip: Get a top floor room so you don't have to listen to people stomp on your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whispurrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Wispurrr,

I am so sorry to hear about your less than stellar experience while a guest of our hotel. I would value the opportunity to make things right with you should you choose to call me.

I would welcome hearing from you.

The Watertown Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Even tho the beds were a bit uncomfortable for our tastes the room was very nice. They have a Keurig coffee maker in the room and coffee is provided. Parking is provided. Very clean, Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fisherwoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConnieSchneider, Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear MaLong,

Thank you for being our guest. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you again in the future should your travels include Seattle.

The Watertown team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 105 in Seattle
1,601 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 105 in Seattle
2,354 reviews
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: £120 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing