We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where Did The Breakfast Room Go?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Where Did The Breakfast Room Go?”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

While it has been several years, since Is stayed here last, I was surprised to find the 'free continental breakfast room' replaced with a 'pay for breakfast room'---including $6.00 for a bowl of oatmeal. This hotel appears to be the only hotel bucking the trend of a free continental breakfast. Otherwise the location can't be beat, rooms are quiet and great, and the room was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowzitMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Cordodor, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear HowzitMinneapolis,

Welcome back and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We're very glad that despite the surprise concerning the breakfast, that you still enjoyed your visit. Sometimes, we have found that bucking the trend can be positive and appealing. With our coffee shop, we were hoping to create an inviting cafe experience for both a quick breakfast and lunch that our guests could enjoy all day long. We do hear your message on the inclusive breakfast however and are always considering how we might improve our offering to be a good value for our guests. We hope that you'll stay tuned to how we continue to change and improve the Watertown Hotel in the next few years!

Best Regards,
-The Watertown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    300
    71
    25
    16
See reviews for
325
238
52
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

what was really awesome was the A/C...and the miraculous button we never seem to get in hotels we stay in..."Continuous a/c running"...or something like that. Hit that button and our sleep was never interrupted by the turning on and off of the A/c while it regulates. Yay! Thank you, thank you Pineapple. Attention to detail- A+. The pineapple cupcakes are great too! 3-7 every day. We thought the room was great-very roomy like a small apartment. Two tips- remember to make a reservation for the free shuttle. They dont really tell you that but you must. And request top floor for more quiet since part of the floor is hardwood. We were top and had no issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Cordodor, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear elissa,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel! I'm fairly sure it takes a savvy traveler like yourself to appreciate that not all A/C is created equal. I'm glad the cupcakes were a welcome treat and thank you for sharing that excellent tip regarding our complementary shuttle. I think you really have us figured out! We hope that we'll have the opportunity to serve you next time you visit Seattle. Though wherever you stay, we wish you safe travels from all of here at the Watertown Hotel.

Regards,
-Watertown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I spend four days at the Watertown in Seattle for a conference. The hotel was clean and modern and very comfortable. The staff is fantastic and they provide an excellent shuttle service to downtown Seattle.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Cordodor, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Julie,

Welcome to TripAdvisor! Thank you so much for making us your first review! We appreciate that you decided to share your experience and remind us how valued our shuttle is. We do hope that you'll choose Seattle as a vacation destination and perhaps we'll see you again!

Until then, safe travels to where ever you find yourself!

-The Watertown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
542 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Watertown Hotel was really lovely with a nice modern lobby and friendly, helpful staff. We had a very large room with two queen beds and lots of amenities (a vanity with lots of counter space, 2-way wardrobe, microwave, coffee maker and a small fridge). The hotel is in the middle of the university district and surrounded by good cheap eating places. The hotel had put together a brochure with a map showing all their restaurant recommendations so finding dinner every night was really easy.

There were some great and fun touches - pineapple flavoured water, pineapple cupcakes and best of all, the Pineapple Express - a free shuttle that picked up and dropped off from several popular Seattle destinations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Cordodor, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear SuzieLee71,

What an honor to be chosen by a world traveler such as yourself. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff is proud to be able to recommend only the best local fare when there is so much to choose from. Additionally, I'm glad the pineapple of hospitality was not lost on your visit. The cupcakes are my favorite...

If chance ever brings you back to Seattle, your 160th city, we hope you'll consider us your home away from home again.

Safe Travels,
-The Watertown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Having stayed at the University Inn many times which was booked we decided to try the Watertown Hotel next door another pineapple property. Booking on line always guarantees you get the room by...the elevator, stairs, ice machine or the noisy bar below. So when it was by the elevator we were not surprised.In fact we knew it would got go well when we checked in-the kid doing the "work" basically recited a script at warp speed without even making eye contact. We had to figure out the where even the elevator was since he showed no interest in answering any question.The room itself was tiny, the closet, TV, and micro were in a built in a divider between the sink, bathroom, which you accessed by going around. The beds were not comfortable and there were only two glasses, no other amenities. Also only two very small bath towels. But since we were visiting family and would not be in the room except to sleep we soldiered on. We arrived back about 8 PM to a sweltering room, the AC was not working. Called the desk they sent a 'tech' up who said they would take care of it in the AM. There must have been a frat party or wedding because there were loud voices all night. The next morning we went for breakfast only to find none provided so we went to the 'cafe' on site. It took the girl 20 minutes to make an egg and ham bagel. Since it was all precooked it was unbelievable! Dreadful and expensive as well. On our return at 4:00 we found our room unmade, and no repair to the AC. When I spoke with the desk clerk I was told,'we don't always get the rooms done before check in, your was done wasn't it' The maid arrived and did a perfunctory making of the bed and linens. We have stayed in many Seattle hotels and this was by far the worst. All in all we won't be staying there again. This hotel is more expensive with no service: save your money and go next door.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Cordodor, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Sharon,

First I would really like to thank you for your Pineapple patronage. It means a lot that you would extend your choice of hotels based on our brand and I certainly invite you to try our hotels in downtown as well. It sounds like your experience was very disappointing. I don't expect that there is anything I can write to convince you to give us another chance. I do however appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know where we can improve so that we can better our service for our future guests. It's your constructive feedback that points us in the right direction. I would like to gently rebut and assert that every one of our guests are important to us regardless of how one decides to book their reservation. Room requests are always acquiesced as we have the availability to do so. Lastly, we at the Watertown hope that your future travels are safe, fun and always memorable.

Best Regards,
-The Watertown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My mom and I recently had a "girls weekend" in Seattle and stayed at the Watertown. We had a great time - we only got to stay one night, but the accommodations were excellent! The Watertown is located in a bustling and electic neighborhood near UW - so the overall vibe is exuberant. The complimentary garage parking and complimentary shuttle really sold me on staying at the property, but the friendliness of everyone at the hotel (guests included) and the overall experience at the hotel will take me back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cheryl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Cordodor, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear cheryl p,

First I have to tell you that I love your review title. Pineapple Hospitality was founded to provide warm and genuine hospitality and it's wonderful to hear that we're living up to our mission. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to host many more "girls weekends". Until next time, we wish you safe travels to where ever you find yourself.

Best Regards,
-The Watertown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here our final night of a trip, fearing that my son's event at the Key Arena would run too late for him to make the last bus back to the park and ride in Bellevue. The hotel is small and quiet, very close to UW. We arrived after the cafe inside closed, but were able to get a light snack at the grocer across the street. Unfortunately, I had fractured a bone near my ankle just before our trip and was unable to use the bikes they have available as planned, but they looked quiet nice. Great recommendations from the staff on restaurants. I loved using the free washer and dryer on our floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom2HEKs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim_Cordodor, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mom2HEKs,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay though sorry to hear about your ankle. We are pretty proud of our "Pineapple Cruisers" and hope that you get the chance to try them out some day. Though in the meantime, we wish you safe travels to where ever you find yourself.

Best Regards,
-Watertown Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#60 of 100 in Seattle
1,299 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing