We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Love the clean, hip, green vibe of this hotel! Beautiful, spacious, very clean room with microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, robes, comfy bed, free underground parking.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB93110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    302
    72
    26
    16
See reviews for
330
239
53
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Was in Seattle for a couple of days and looking for a place to stay that wasn't in the touristy downtown areas and wasn't as low brow as the Motel 8. Prices in Seattle are on the high side and decided to take a chance on the Watertown Hotel in the University District.

New build and modern decor, the hotel is a wonderful surprise. The Room 515 is spacious, modern and with great amenities. The bathroom features separate toilet/bath/shower, very large bathroom counter an sink, tremendously large mirror and pass through wardrobe. In room safe, fridge, coffee maker, iron, ironing board and microwave features complimentary coffee & tea and popcorn.

The double queen beds were comfortable with nice linens and lots of pillows. There's also a desk and a "a la carte" service that's worth checking out.

The facility offers complimentary indoor parking, complimentary breakfast that's a nice spread (though I wish the girls had the scrambled eggs and bacon out by 7am the other morning), a friendly staff and really nice interior spaces.

Overall, I think this hotel is a winner. It's a bit removed from downtown but there is a complimentary shuttle service or you can spend $10-15 on taxi fare to whisk you into the DT area. Will be back in a few months for a trade show at the Convention Center and the Watertown is a top contender for me even with the travel considerations into downtown.

The one issue I did encounter was with the in-room WiFi. They say to just lock into the hotel's wireless but neither of my computers could do so. I didn't bother to investigate further because the desk had an active Ethernet port and I simply plugged my MacBookPro into the port and established a wireless network with that computer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BmoreTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamitos, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Watertown is a very cozy and comfortable home away from home. The rooms are very clean and the beds are firm and comfortable. The staff is extremely nice and helpful and hot cookies in the afternoon and a solid breakfast buffet always a welcome treat. Location near UW is great for visiting campus for our new Husky son! We have stayed here twice and will definitely be back again! We used the free rental bikes to tour campus and surrounding area -- a very nice amenity offered. The hotel also has various freebies to borrow while you are there (games, movies, etc). Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amerdansk_dh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

This is truly a “no frills” experience. The “Watered Down Hotel” has no room service, no bellman (carry your own luggage) and young, inexperienced front desk workers. We stayed there four nights, and asked (thrice) the housekeeper and the front desk to change our sheets before giving up. A FedEx package for me was delivered to the Front Desk, and they didn’t notify me and even denied that they’d received it even after I pointed it out sitting on the counter. The fitness center is tiny, obviously an afterthought. On the plus side, the included breakfast buffet was nice, free internet is helpful and the proximity to the U. of W. is very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willie90212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoBaumann, General Manager at Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We're very sorry about the unprofessional manner with which your package was handled, or not handled. We have a philosophy about delivering intelligent and genuine hospitality, which you did not experience during your stay with us.

We hope that this will not be your lasting memory of our hotel. We strive to deliver consistent service and apologize for failing in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elton Cambs UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We returned to the Watertown in June 2010 for a one week stay. Once again it did not disappoint . Our suite was good value compared to downtown, and was spacious. It was clean and comfortable , and although there was some traffic noise this dropped off a lot from around 10.00pm until around 7.30 ,so we slept ok. Housekeeping were unobtrusive and very efficient. Front of house were relaxed and helpful, especially when we had to return for one night having missed our flight home. The free Breakfast was more than adequate with fresh pastries and fruit every day. If you also consider the free shuttle downtown and free parking its a bargain. You could argue that the trip into town is inconvenient but you have the benefit of being 5 minutes walk from the University campus grounds - a great place to wander round and relax. Its not a luxury full service hotel but those places tend to be stuffy and we prefer the informaltiy of the Watertown.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Spent three nights at the Watertown while visiting my daughter, a UW freshman, and could not have been more favorably impressed. As busy as this hotel was, they somehow kept delivering little extras that made me feel like a special guest.
I used the towncar service to run a couple of errands downtown, so I didn't really need the rental car that I had; it sat in the garage (free parking!). Everything in the UW area is a short walk from the Watertown, and if you opt to take public transportation the bus to downtown stops a half block from the front of the hotel. It is about a 15 min. ride.
The desk staff was courteous and helpful. I requested one of the special "carts" (movies) that is a signature of this hotel and it arrived right on time. I
The room was large and well laid out. I had a quiet corner room that offered views of the Space Needle and also a bit of a water view. The shower had plenty of pressure and the bed was very comfortable. And the room was absolutely spotless. I could not ask for more.
I also availed myself of the very generous complimentary breakfast each morning, and there is a wine tasting in the afternoons (I didn't partake). I used the loaner bicycles to get around the campus and U District, and tried out a few bike trails while my daughter was in class.
When you add in all the extras that come with the basic room charge, this hotel is an excellent bargain. And it is a GREAT hotel experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sloopiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We can't say enough about this new hotel. My wife and I are in the travel business and we were thoroughly impressed with everything that the Watertown offered! GREAT value, complementary, secure, underground parking, complimentary downtown shuttle service every hour, complimentary full breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access and a wonderful, spacious, corner room, 15 min from downtown Seattle in proximity of Univ of Washington campus with access to many wonderful restaurants. GREAT service with a warm and friendly staff who went out of their way to make sure that our visit exceeded our expectations - AND IT DID! The next time we're in Seattle, there is no question where we will want to stay! THANK YOU Watertown staff!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kctravelteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4242 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorful and contemporary, urban and upscale- Welcome to Watertown Hotel. Located just four blocks from the University of Washington, Watertown Hotel is the ideal hotel whether your goal is academic or adventurous. Here, you're not only close to campus, you're close to everything Seattle: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and world-class shopping and dining. So check in and chill out. We're always at your service when you Staypineapple at The Watertown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing