We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden charges, but good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Inn
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boise
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden charges, but good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel is located within an hour or less walking distance to all of the big tourist sites (Space Needle, Pike Place). The room was close to a busy street, so I wore earplugs. I could not hear the other neighbors, the hotel was clean, and the overall, this was a nice comfortable hotel to call home for 5 days. Many of the services at the hotel include additional fees (including a few bucks for electricity use, $15 for parking, and other fees that you should research before staying here). Our Expedia price was $65/night online, but with all the additional costs, it came to about $90-$100/night. Of course, with any hotel you want to see if you are paying extra, but be extra cautious with this hotel if you're on a strict budget and really look at all that you have to pay for before going. The area felt relatively safe. Other than the fees, we found this place to be welcoming, especially after a beautiful rainy walk back from downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zifmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    650
    186
    61
    35
See reviews for
262
600
138
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We chose to stay here for our girls weekend in Seattle. Neither of us had ever been and didn't know the area or what to expect, but we loved this little hotel and the price was unbelievable!! We spent two nights here and the front desk staff was beyond amazing and so helpful - with recommendations on restaurants, places of interest, transportation, and all of our other random questions we seemed to have each day. I would say the staff is what made this stay so amazing! The room was very nice - good size bathroom, plus a small kitchenette. Very quiet area of town with easy access to the buses. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to all of my friends and family! Great, great stay at the Mediterranean!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveLondon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I think we paid $80 per night for a king room on the 4th floor. The rooms were clean and normal sized. The bed was comfortable. Wireless internet was $5 per day so we didn't bother. Underground parking was $15 per day. We elected to park on the street and pay $3 for 2 hours at a meter during the day because we were heading out in the car frequently. The hotel is in a great location, a short drive to everything and a few good restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: I think the rooms facing the rear of the hotel are quieter. Rooms ending in -15, -16 -17 and -18 mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We traveled all morning in heavy rain, excessive traffic, arriving early in afternoon very tired and hungry... We were greeted by friendly staff, parking was easily accessible in an underground lot, and our room was ready for occupancy. Although the amenities quite basic we found the hotel clean, our room quiet and relaxing with a great view of Elliott Bay. We were able to walk to most of our destinations downtown, finding great places to eat and explore without getting tangled in the crazy Seattle traffic. Furthermore, the price was excellent. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are scenic and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coriejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Location is excellent, Seattle center is just a few blocks away, it has an awesome roof deck view, it has coin operated washing machines inside the hotel for your convenience, a Safeway supermarket is just on the next block. Pike place market is a bit of a distance to walk but you can take the bus that runs practically in front of the hotel.

the room can be a little cleaner and it does get a little noisy if you're staying on the lower floors but it's a great place to stay for those on a budget.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank karsychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Was looking for a decent and reasonable place to stay, close to Key Arena. The price was right and you can't get any closer to the venue. The rooms are older but clean. The location is great as after the concert, there are several decent pubs for a late night drink and meal within 1-2 blocks. The room pictures on their website are pretty much accurate, but maybe not quite as bright, but still pretty good. The only thing was the heating was left on when we arrived and it was a little uncomfortable upon arrival. Didn't see any A/C controls so I am not sure about hot summer nights.
Overall good value and have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverTraveler-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervis Bay
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

3 reasons not to stay at the Mediterranean Inn:

1: Customer service
2: Noise
3: Location

Arrived in Seattle after a very long trip, tired & in need of a shower, decided to head to the hotel to drop our bags off, not expecting to check in as it was 11.30am. This seemed ok & we were told our room would be ready by 12.30pm,come back then. On return at 2.pm we were told to wait, our room was not ready. 2 hrs later, after watching people check in, walk in off the street & get rooms, several visits to reception to enquire on our room, falling asleep in the foyer we were finally 'allowed to enter". Would it have been so difficult for this hotel to change our room & give us a room already prepared. This hotel was clearly not full. To see others walk in off the street & go straight to a room was not a good first impression.

Unfortunately airlines do not cater their flights to hotel check in times. Maybe its time hotels showed a little understanding towards those on long distance flights? Afterall we pay for it! And we go away informing others on our travels & at home as to how we are treated. This reflects not only on the hotel but on the city itself.

My partner & I both felt the customer service for the duration of our stay (4 nights) was not only poor but quite rude. Listening to the conversations whist we were waiting a pattern started to emerge. American travellers were spoken/treated to in a cheerful, polite & helpful manner. international - sullen, unhelpful & unfriendly.

On the plus side: room was large & clean. Bed was very comfortable & linen spotless. There was a kitchenette, though this did not supply any utensils - can cook in the microwave but need to visit the supermarket across the road to purchase said. Bathroom was clean but shower/water pressure poor. The rooftop view is lovely & a nice place to coffee/wine & nibble if warm enough. Starbucks can be accessed from the hotel foyer which is convienent.

The noise in this hotel is incredible. Our room was in front of the elevators. All night we could hear the lifts moving & the doors opening/closing as well as other guests talking/yelling in the hallways. The walls are paper thin, we were distrubed by the guests upstairs & next door thumping around, everytime they used the toilet we could actually hear & even somone snoring. Traffic noise, buses/trucks early in the morning was awful.

This was our first trip to Seattle. If i returned I would definately stay closer to the city. It is just too far out. Most of the sights are in the city area. There is a monorail to the Spaceneedle which we used, it is a short walk to the hotel from there. Buses are available but it seemed that we spent all our time in the city & could have just had a day looking around the Queen Ann area.

Pike place market, Space needle & walking the waterfront are all worth doing. We caught the bus to Museum of Aviation. Locals assisted us to find right buses & the drivers were friendly & helpful. Museum was a highlight, this is really worth a look. We also visited the Gold Rush Museum & Fire Museum. Both worth a look if you are wandering around the city with no plans. Lovely staff ready to answer any questions. The Underground Tour was a little lame but we did enjoy due to the guides involved. Hilarious banter. These guides certainly made up for the lack of "views' with their ability to spin a tale & interact with the group. This tour is very busy, so book in advance.

Room Tip: Look before you buy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oziwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#71 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#52 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Inn

Property: Mediterranean Inn
Address: 425 Queen Anne Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109-4517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#40 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for business or pleasure in the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. The Space Needle, Key Arena and downtown Seattle are just moments away and for our coffee lovers we feature a Starbucks(R) Cafe off the lobby. The hotel is beautifully appointed with the look of the Mediterranean that embraces you with a comfortable and relaxed feeling. Each guest room features a kitchenette and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Mediterranean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Seattle
Mediterranean Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing