We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Hotel”
Review of Mediterranean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterranean Inn
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I really liked this hotel. It is a bit off the beaten track in Lower Queen Anne. But, as others have noted, it is on several bus lines directly downtown. Also, if you have a car, there is a parking garage ($50/week). Only a few blocks from the Seattle Center. my room was on the small side. And the "kitchenette" consisted of merely a tiny sink, small fridge, and a microwave - not close to a full kitchen. However, the staff provided a hot plate on request. Rooms on the top floor at the rear of the hotel (extra charge) do have a nice view of Eliot Bay and the Sound. No onsite restaurant (except for a Starbucks), but many in the area. All in all, a nice hotel in a safe and busy neighborhood at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwpColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Greetings from the Med!
Thanks so much for your nice review; I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is convenient to have the kitchenette, everyone really likes it and you are correct you can ask for items at the front desk that you can utilize during your stay, especially if you are an extended stay or relocating into the area. We love our neighborhood too, it’s easy to walk everywhere, we have a Walk Score of 92, a Transit Score of 74 and a Bike Score of 76 – when it’s a little better weather come back and try out one of our city cruiser bikes. Thanks for staying with us, hope to see you again soon!
Kindly,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    664
    187
    62
    35
See reviews for
275
610
141
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel is in a good location and has quite a good selection of restaurants close by. Also bus services etc are just a few blocks away and the monorail from the spaceneedle can be reached on foot in less than 15 minutes.
The hotel room was clean and the bed and pillows were great. However, the guest service was not as it should be for the amount it costs to stay there. Check in is at 4pm, but our room wasn't finished yet (check out is at 12, so it should be possible to clean the rooms in off season). We were waiting until 4.30 and then I asked if there is a status update on the room, and found out that she forgot all about us, even though were were standing right in front of the reception area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQ345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Greetings from the Med!
Thanks so much for your feedback and comments. Oh my, I am so sorry that you were unable to get into your room until 4:30, you are correct, check in is at 4PM and we do our utmost to make that happen.

Unlike most hotels we are lucky that we are very busy year-round, and it could have been that we were sold out the night before due to an event and had some late check-outs that prevented us from getting into the rooms on a timely manner. None the less, our policy is to check your bags, offer a solution (Starbucks in the Lobby to have a coffee and wait, or other venues in the area to take a brief refreshing walk or grab a bite, and to get your cell phone number so we can contact you when the room is ready, or if you are waiting in the Lobby follow up with personal updates).

I apologize that we didn’t follow through with our usual friendly service and attentiveness. We will use this review as a tool to improve; we are always striving to do our best for our guests. If you do have a concern don’t hesitate to ask for a Supervisor or Front Office Manager, we take our guest concerns seriously, we appreciate your business and want you to have a pleasurable stay in Seattle. I hope that you allow us another opportunity to earn your business.
Kindly,
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Grandma watched the kids and wife and I spent the day in Seattle. Booked the Mediterranean Inn because it was in a good location at a really good price and had solid reviews. The hotel had nice decor, the rooms where clean and well decorated, staff was friendly and the location was great. We did some bar hopping and then went to dinner at a great cajun/french restaurant down the street. Lots to do in the neighborhood. The wife and I would definately go back here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have some great views. Lots of fun restaurants within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was our second visit to the Mediterranean Inn in Seattle. We traveled there to go to the “Battle in Seattle” college basketball game at the Key Arena. This hotel's location was perfect...just a short walk to the Seattle Center, where the Key Arena is located. Also located in the Seattle Center area is the Space Needle, Children's Museum, and Pacific Science Center. Again this trip, we were pleased with our stay. The hotel is all non-smoking and the staff was all very friendly and helpful.

We requested our two rooms be near one another and both were on the 3rd floor, just one room apart; both were quite nice. One was with a king bed and roomy window seat/sofa, and the other with two queens; the beds were quite comfortable. There were plenty of drawers and a closet (with a curtain instead of a door). Bath amenities were of good quality. In the rooms, there were small refrigerators, microwaves (with complimentary popcorn), and coffee makers (with complimentary Starbuck’s coffee).

Check-in was easy and quick; parking cost $10/day and was beneath the hotel. A room key was necessary to access the basement parking levels (a little dark down there, but there are two convenient elevators going directly to each floor). Off the lobby, there is a work-out center, and a business center with computers. There is also a door that adjoins the Starbuck’s next-door. There are numerous restaurants and a variety of cuisines within walking distance of the Mediterranean.

We had a great time and will definitely go back for next year's "Battle in Seattle!"

Room Tip: Ask if there is a chance of seeing the Space Needle from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Greetings from the Med!
Thanks so much for your wonderful review and kind comments. We are very convenient to everything, I hope you had a chance to use our new in-room safes, check out our new and larger business center and our newly remodeled Starbucks just off the Lobby!

There are so many great events at Key Arena and we are so close, having some fun places nearby to dine pre and post event is nice too. We look forward to welcoming you back to the next “Battle in Seattle” game. All the best and thank you for staying with us! Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The staff are friendly and helpful and will happily give you directions and any information you need. Free internet in the computer room in the lobby so no point paying for wifi. There's a Starbucks inside the hotel which is nice. The view on the roof of the hotel is great, go there at night and you can see the space needle lit up. Stayed in a room with two double beds, the room was average, clean and big enough to stay for a few nights. I found the beds comfortable but my friends didn't and there are only 2 sheets and a thin blanket on the bed so we had to turn the heat up to stay warm. No view except to the room next to us so kept the curtains closed the whole time. Pretty good stay when you manage to get a cheap deal, might stay there again, but you still need to take a cab to the city centre which will cost you around $10-$15. Not as close as you think. Overall was pretty good, give it a try!

Room Tip: Ask for a view otherwise you'll see nothing but into the room of another person. Ask for more b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renae-87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Greetings from the Med!
Thanks so much for your great review and kind comments. Our building is in a hollow square so we do have rooms that face the courtyard which some people really like. Next time call the property directly and request an exterior room if available and we will accommodate your request as best we can, 99% of the time we can also match the best available rate out there right over the phone.

We are very convenient to everything, and it’s just a short cab ride to downtown. Public transportation – city buses are just a block away, are easy to use and less expensive than a taxi, the Front Desk can help you with any transportation, including rental cars that will drop the car right at the property. Sounds like you had the chance to use our new and larger business center just off the Lobby and check out newly remodeled Starbucks.

Our rooftop deck is fantastic, did you know that TripAdvisor rated it the # 2 view in the world last year? It’s beautiful any time of year. Thanks so much for staying with us; we really appreciate your business. Kindly - Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Currently staying here. Obviously water-damaged bathroom ceiling and wall, nonfunctional shower head (can't be moved from current position, which is all the way down), nonworking wireless internet and still being charged $5/night for it, stains on the sheets, gasoline fume-filled elevators... Really, I don't know where to begin. This was booked for me as a business trip, and if the hotel was so excellent just last year, then it has really gone downhill. There are no signs of recent renovation, but there is a TripAdvisor "2012 Certificate Winner" sticker placed prominently in the vestibule window. If my workplace wasn't relocating out of the area, I would recommend that they no longer book here until the problems are addressed. Front desk staff is mildly attentive, but did not address the internet issue when I brought it up (politely). Good thing there's a Starbucks that throws a free wifi signal that's actually strong enough to reach my room, which overlooks a ground-level courtyard. Also, the only vending/ice machines require a trip back to the lobby. Awful. For $30 less per night, I booked a personal room to which I'll be moving post-business dealings for the rest of my stay, at a higher-quality chain hotel and with a view of the Space Needle, which is very close. I agree wholeheartedly with those who say that this hotel's quality and amenities do NOT equate with the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Space Needle (although I'm sure these rooms cost more and are probably alw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank knxvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very clean with incredibly comfortable beds. The hotel seemed to be new or newly renovated, which is always nice. Each room has complimentary Starbucks coffees and teas, with a coffee pot and microwave. The hotel is connected to Starbucks downstairs. The desk staff is friendly and helpful-- they know everything (good spots to eat or hang out, transportation tips, etc.). The location is perfect-- walking distance to everything, but not in the middle of town, so it's quiet at night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Director of Sales at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Hi Jacqueline,
Thanks so much for your kind comments on your stay at the Med!! Our staff is very knowledgeable about the area and there are so many great places to dine, shop and it’s so easy to walk to everything, it’s hard to decide where to go first! I hope you had time to take in the Chilhuly Garden of Glass near the Space Needle, sure wish we could afford some of that glass art in the Lobby! - It is so amazing! We do have some wonderful local upcoming artists that we have purchased glass from, and it’s on display in our Lobby; hope that you enjoyed that as well. We have family in Austin and love it there too, such a beautiful city…”Hook ‘em Horns”! Come back and stay with us again soon! The Med
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at Queen Anne
#73 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Inn

Property: Mediterranean Inn
Address: 425 Queen Anne Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109-4517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#40 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for business or pleasure in the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. The Space Needle, Key Arena and downtown Seattle are just moments away and for our coffee lovers we feature a Starbucks(R) Cafe off the lobby. The hotel is beautifully appointed with the look of the Mediterranean that embraces you with a comfortable and relaxed feeling. Each guest room features a kitchenette and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Seattle
Mediterranean Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing