We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but no complaints”
Review of Mediterranean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterranean Inn
Ranked #31 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No frills, but no complaints”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I had to book a last-minute trip to Seattle for a very sad occasion -- the memorial for a dear friend who had passed away. I really got gouged on the airfare, but luckily, I was able to find a room at the Mediterranean Inn for a very good price. The location was perfect for me, not far from the Space Needle or downtown Seattle, close to bus lines that can get you wherever you need to go. When I say "no frills," I mean it -- the rooms have no air conditioning, and the hotel charges for internet use (which is pretty unheard of these days). That said, all I really needed was a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay for a couple of days, and the Mediterranean was absolutely all of those things.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sotto1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry to hear of the circumstances of your stay, but glad to know that we were able to have a comfortable place for you here. We do aim to be "no frills" so that we can pass our savings onto our guests and stay focused on great customer service. Though we are always looking for ways to improve, knowing we don't have it all figured out, and very much appreciate all feedback.

Air conditioning is something we currently only have to offer in some of our top floor units. Thanks to the mild Seattle climate we are in, it rarely is an issue.

We appreciate your patronage and feedback and hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    685
    192
    64
    35
See reviews for
286
633
143
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Took a risk and booked this hotel for a 12 night stay, having never stayed there. Had read the reviews and I wanted a location in the North Queen Anne area which had a small kitchennette and off-street parking. The Mediterranean Inn met the criteria. Check in was smooth, with brief explanation of amenities. My room was on 4th floor facing Queen Anne Ave, king bed, window seat and small kitchennette area. I requested dishes and cooking items and the next day a large pack of an electric hot plate, pots and pans, dishes, cooking utensils, flatware and dish soap arrived with a drying rack. Worked perfect for me with the fridg, microwave and small sink. Many good restaurants within walking distance and I could bring home my leftovers too. A Safeway grocery store is across the street too. Underground parking was good. The wireless connection in my room was slow and I ended up using my mobile hotspot instead. The hotel credited me. The gym in the hotel is equipped well and I used it several times. They keep fruit and water bottles plus extra towels in the gym which appreciated, The housekeeping staff was wonderful. I worked in my room a couple of days and didn't use housekeeping and they were quiet and respectful. My last night there, we had a power outage. I always carry a flashlight and a whistle with me just in case and the light was needed, You can't believe how dark hallways, stairwells and an underground parking garage can be until you have no lights. All the power was off in the entire block so the hotel staff did their best, They came down and manually opened the garage door so I could get my car out. I will stay here again when the weather is cool, not hot. There is a ceiling fan in the room but no air conditioning so be aware of this when you book. Not a problem for me this time of year. All around great experience for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I always prefer an upper floor and I would choose a room 4th floor or higher on the Queen Anne Ave s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you again for your feedback. We are so glad to know that your extended stay here was pleasant and comfortable. The power outage definitely caught us all by surprise, and while it was unfortunately entirely out of our control, we find it has been an invaluable learning experience.

Regarding the air conditioning, we do have some of our top floor units that have air conditioning. Calling the property directly is the best way to guarantee one of those as needed. We are hoping to expand the number of units with A/C soon to continue to ensure comfort for our guests.

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had gone to the ballet and couldn't get home due to snow. We booked this place last minute. It was perfect! The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. We had a 5th floor room with a view of Queen Anne. The room had a comfy window seat where we sat and watched the snow fall. They also have a rooftop terrace with great views of the city. There are tons of great places to eat within blocks. A local favorite, Dick's, is right across the street. There is also a Safeway in case you need anything. Our room had a kitchenette which would have been handy had we been there longer. The room was clean. Not a lot of city noise made its way in. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the space needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpackerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, as unexpected as it must have been! We really do have a great location and it seems like you took full advantage of it. Thank you again for your patronage - come and see us again the next time you head to the ballet, snow or not!

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have traveled all over the world and stayed at truly amazing hotels and resorts. But when push comes to shove, it is the people that count. Who'd have thought that right in my own back yard (when going through a nasty divorce) a group of people at the Mediterranean took me in as family! Don't miss the roof view and amazing restaurants, either!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and a view of the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for your patronage and gracious remarks! We wish you the best and will look forward to hosting you any time that you need a place to stay.

Best Wishes,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We only stayed here as we had a Groupon deal but was not disappointed; we checked in pretty swiftly and must say I didn't feel like the front desk staff were judging towards us like others have said, quite the opposite really, the chap that checked us in was very talkative and advised us where we could grab some late drinks and food.

The room was perfectly fine and great for the price that we paid; we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm glad to hear you found us on a deal and enjoyed your time. Personally I think we have a fabulous staff here, and I'm pleased to hear that the gentleman checking you in did everything we aim to do consistently: be friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient with everyone.

We look forward to having you back with us!

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has all the little touches I care about- windows that open, fantastic location, fridge, microwave..very clean, friendly, and quiet even on the night of the Super Bowl win(: even the coffee makers are okay and not the awful pod kind. There is also a Starbucks right there. Quite a find, we will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DianaSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you back next time! (Perhaps even for the next Seahawks Super Bowl win!)

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a weekend their during a justin timberlake conert. It was nice. Room size was good for the price. View was next to another building. Parking was a battle. Staff was good. Thin walls where you can hear your neighbors. Pretty clean room. Bed was beat so they compensated it with a topping mattress. It didnt work. Pillows were just horrible. Bring your own. Great location. We walked while we were there. Space needle, pikes place and other sights. We walked the whole time. Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you found a place so close to the concert and that you enjoyed your time in the area. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find our beds and pillows as comfortable as we both would have liked. Parking is definitely more difficult for us on nights with Key Arena events. We always recommend to guest to come early as we can't guarantee spots, so it's good to hear you were able to find a space with us.

Regarding the title of your post, we are absolutely a non-smoking property and take any violation of that extremely seriously. Unfortunately, on busier nights those that stay with us don't always want to follow our policies. I hope this wasn't a discomfort to your time here.

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 101 in Seattle
1,021 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#33 of 101 in Seattle
2,348 reviews
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Inn

Property: Mediterranean Inn
Address: 425 Queen Anne Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109-4517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#9 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#40 Family Hotel in Seattle
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for business or pleasure in the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. The Space Needle, Key Arena and downtown Seattle are just moments away and for our coffee lovers we feature a Starbucks(R) Cafe off the lobby. The hotel is beautifully appointed with the look of the Mediterranean that embraces you with a comfortable and relaxed feeling. Each guest room features a kitchenette and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Seattle
Mediterranean Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing