We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air conditioning in most rooms”
Review of Mediterranean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterranean Inn
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

No, I was not aware that your rooms do not have air conditioning. You say it says so on Expedia... Nope just checked my mobile app. Then you tell me it's common in Seattle's mild climate for hotel rooms to not have air conditioning... Also not true. Sure most days (not in July) it might be okay, but the fact that you omit this from booking sites and address the issue at check in, springing the news upon the weary travel is
terrible. I do appreciate the free cancellation. I recommend this option.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Julie,

I'm sorry that we didn't provide you the experience we would have wanted for your time here. What we most likely meant to convey is that due to Seattle's mild climate, it is common for many places (businesses, some hotels, restaurants, apartments) to not be furnished with A/C. It isn't listed as an in-room amenity on our site, or any other third party site, but I understand that it is an easy thing to have over-looked during booking. I'm sorry that it seemed as though we were springing it on you at check-in. We don't want anyone to stay with us who will feel dissatisfied, and so we are happy to cancel any reservation without penalty if someone would rather book elsewhere.

It seems you were able to find something else for your time in Seattle. I hope you were comfortable and that this didn't interfere with any vacation plans.

Kindly,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,540)
There are newer reviews for Mediterranean Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Excellent service, very clean and functional rooms with an affordable price tag. Located in a most convenient location for both business and pleasure. With a Starbucks attached to the hotel and a Safeway grocery a few steps away, yes microwave and mini fridge too and so many dining options in a 4 block radius you'd wish for a longer stay. Want to check out downtown, an 8 minute walk to the monorail and a few minute ride and voila your there. Dave time to visit the Space Needle and Chihuly Garden before you catch the metro rail. The hotel has a roof deck with stunning views of the Pueget Sound. The desk clerks are super efficient and knowledgable. Forgot your lap top, no problem the hotel offers their business center with high speed internet & printer free of charge. I give it a "10" for location - lower Queen Anne, service, cleanliness and value.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSPDSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review! I'm very pleased to hear that you found us to be such a great choice for your time in Seattle. We hope to have you back with us soon!

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was a great hotel for the money (package air/hotel deal). Located close to Seattle Center (Space Needle and museums) as well as many restaurants and stores. Rooftop deck was definitely cool and we went up several times. The bus is just a block up the street and I wish we used it more often, although it's only about a 30 minute walk to Pike Place Market. Room was a bit outdated but very clean with a nice little kitchenette. People were very nice. The veggie/fruit water is a nice touch as we had many cupfulls. Business center with several computer came in handy as I didn't want to pay for Wi-Fi in the room. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The outer rooms are the way to go. We were fine with the window open and fan on. I spoke to someone...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeacfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us while you were in Seattle. The location is absolutely wonderful for those wanting to be close to Seattle Center, and I'm happy to hear that it worked out well for you, too.

Yes, the Interior Courtyard rooms can get a bit warmer on hot summer days (which we don't tend to have TOO many of, with our mild weather). I'm glad that you were comfortable in the room we had you in, with an exterior view. We hope to have you back soon!

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel was clean and never smelled "mildewy" like a lot of hotels do. The room that we ended up staying in was quite nice. The staff was courteous and very helpful. The location is fantastic! Very close to the center of town but not too noisy.

Just be aware - the hotel has several non air conditioned rooms (it is Seattle!) so make sure that you ask in advance if the room has AC or not. Our first room did not and the information on the website did not state anything about no AC. So they gave us a room with AC at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank linda z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Linda,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. I'm glad that you found the rooms comfortable and clean, as well as our staff friendly and helpful; we always aim to keep our guests content while they are with us. I'm glad that we were able to provide you with an Air-conditioned room. Over in Seattle, we typically don't need it which is why when our building was built, it was added only to a portion of our rooms. We are hoping to expand this within the next year (again, aiming to keep our guests comfortable). In the meantime, the best way to guarantee one of those air-conditioned rooms is to call us directly ahead of time!

Thanks again for your patronage and feedback. We hope to see you again!

Kindly,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for Business, the Hotel is a short walk from our office. So our company stays here quite often. The rooms where very well appointed and clean. My only complaint would be the lack of breakfast and there isn't much in the area either that's open in the morning. There is a grocery store near by, I did find a little dinner down by the water front called the "Shanty" that had a good breakfast. While you are there be sure to check out the roof deck, awesome view of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are quieter and not many rooms have air conditioning. Be sure to ask if...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

James,

Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that your company stays with us frequently, and that you enjoyed it as well of course. Yes, it looks like the Shanty Cafe is open about an hour earlier (6am) than some other nearby breakfast places, which may be the best fit for someone getting an early start in the office like yourself. There are quite a few coffee shops serving sandwiches and pastries, as well as a Starbucks right off our lobby.

Glad you enjoyed the rooftop deck! If business brings you back to the area, we will look forward to hosting you again.

Best Regards,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Mediterranean Inn is located in the quaint Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. It is very clean and well appointed. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has a large lobby area, a rather large exercise room with lots of machines and quite a large laundry area with lots of washing machines and dryers. The rooms are cozy with small kitchenettes. We had a view of the building next to us. So nothing to look out the window at. Although we didn't spend too much time in the room other than to sleep. Too much to do. Conveniently there was a full Starbucks just off the lobby. Great place to grab breakfast and take back to the room in the morning. The only negatives here were that the beds and pillows were a little hard for my taste, and you have to pay to park in their garage and for internet access. Parking was $18/day and internet was $4.99/day. The inn is close to Seattle Center where the Space Needle is located. Just a couple of blocks. The monorail is right there too and you can use it to go to the downtown. Very convenient. Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood to walk to as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the central courtyard if you want a view of any kind.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leelorisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and found our staff friendly and helpful; we aim to take care of our customers at every turn. On that front, I am sorry that the beds and pillows weren't to your liking. We do keep some softer pillows on hand for those guests that might prefer that - I'm sorry that you may not have known that option was available. We do hope to host you again soon, so keep that in mind for next time!

Cheers,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were staying for only one night, as our flight left early the next morning. We knew check in was late (4pm), but we stopped by around noon to see if we might check in early. Our room was not available, but the gentleman at the desk (the guy with chickens....can't remember his name) offered to hold our luggage in their locked bag room. Wonderful! We spent the rest of the day wandering around the wharf and the Pike Place market (the 30-40 minute wait in line for pastries at Piroshky, Piroshky is WELL worth the wait). We took the monorail from near the market to the Space Needle and walked the block or two to the hotel, stopping at the Safeway across the street for snacks & beer. We checked in that evening, got our bags from the locked bag area and headed to our room on the sixth floor. It was a nice, clean room with a great view, but the real surprise was on the rooftop. Fabulous view of the harbor and the Space Needle, and we even got a glimpse of Mount Rainier. We were sorry we only stayed one night!

Room Tip: A room on the sixth floor offers a great view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean-Sea206, Front Office Manager at Mediterranean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. The desk agent that you are thinking of is Tim, and I'll be sure to pass along to him that he was especially helpful to your needs. Thank you again; we hope to see you back here soon!

Best Wishes,
Kelsey Asplund
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 102 in Seattle
1,055 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#34 of 102 in Seattle
2,364 reviews
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Inn

Address: 425 Queen Anne Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109-4517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#40 Family Hotel in Seattle
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £133 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for business or pleasure in the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. The Space Needle, Key Arena and downtown Seattle are just moments away and for our coffee lovers we feature a Starbucks(R) Cafe off the lobby. The hotel is beautifully appointed with the look of the Mediterranean that embraces you with a comfortable and relaxed feeling. Each guest room features a kitchenette and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Seattle
Mediterranean Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing