We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Rooms, avoid ones next to Queen Ave”
Review of Mediterranean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediterranean Inn
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed here one night on our way back home, as it was near our son. The rooms were amazingly good and clean, I liked the ambience of the hotel and the location would be superb for exploring the city center on foot, which we were not doing on this trip.
I had no issue with $15/day for the parking and the views from the deck were photo-worthy. OMG on the views from the rooftop deck at sunset.

I only have two significant negatives about this place. First, the kids at the front desk have absolutely no customer service skills or respect for customers, particularly those not their own age. They are dismissive and unhelpful. Second, we stayed on a very hot night- the rooms have no A/C, meaning you leave the windows open. The noise and lights from Queen Anne Ave kept us from sleeping (It is noisy and there is no way around it), so make sure if you are sensitive to that you don't get a room with the windows opening to Queen Anne Ave.

Would I stay there again, yes, with reservations - they just need to fire the kids at the front desk and don't get a room facing Queen Anne Ave.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikeWineHotSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stopped in Seattle enroute to British Columbia and spent one night at this perfectly located hotel. What a bargain. The rooms were neat, clean, comfortable and stocked with microwave and coffeemaker, which unfortunately did not work. There were dozens of neighborhood restaurant choices within walking distance. The rooftop deck has a beautiful view of Seattle and Puget Sound. Don't miss it. The windows open and as ours faced the street, we did have some street noise from cars and the passing cable car. I don't think they had air conditioning, but we certainly did not need it. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delightful47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

My friends and I rented two rooms for four nights on a guys' weekend. We had a very positive experience.

The location is very good. While not walkable to Pike Market, it is walkable to all that Seattle Center has to offer and a variety of good restaurants. A cab ride to the market will run $6 or $8, so you still come out ahead compared to what you could spend for a room elsewhere.

We thought the rates were reasonable. The rooms seemed very clean. The rooms have microwaves and refrigerators. However, many rooms in the building don't have A/C (just the top two floors, I believe), but the nights dipped into the 60's, so we opened our windows. (You might then contend with some street noise though.) One neat thing is that the hotel has a rooftop deck with GREAT views of the Seattle skyline and the Space Needle. Very cool.

The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The business center is free and convenient. (I believe you have to pay $5 for WIFI, though). There is a Starbucks attached, and a burger place next door (for midnight munchies). No swimming pool, no free breakfast.

I recommend this hotel. It is clean, it is newer (6 years old), it is convenient, and it is affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Friendly, helpful staff and a fine small hotel in Seattle. The rooms are most comfortable, with fridge and microwave...unless you require air conditioning. There are some rooms with AC, but they cost more. I personally loved having open-able windows, and in July, Seattle was wonderfully cool at night for sleeping. Plus, it's got a GREAT roof deck with such views of the harbor and the Space Needle skyline! And they have four computers set up for guests, with printers, so you can get your boarding pass, check email and make reservations or check opening hours for Seattle places. Parking is available underground for $15/day too and given Seattle parking meters, it's a good deal. Kudos to the hotel. I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This is a pretty neat place. Our room was more like a studio apartment with a little kitchen. It was just down the street from a Safeway Super Market which was handy when my son got sick during the night. This hotel warned me beforehand that they were trying to be green (welcome to Seattle) but the place didn't have air conditioning for one thing. June in Seattle can be hot and sticky....It was OK though, the windows open and we were on the 3rd floor. The street was very quiet below and we got a good nights sleep. The beds were older and the place certainly isn't the Ritz, but neat in it's own way. The bathroom was sort of older but clean and like I said, it was more like a studio apartment rather than a regular hotel room. The area this hotel is in, is very quaint. The people I talked to (the locals?) seemed very nice. The staff was very accomodating and eager to give me information. They even told us how to use the local mass transit buses to save money and time. I liked this hotel, although I would imagine lots of people looking for a spa like atmosphere would not be so impressed.

If I had to say one thing negative it would be the elevators are slow slow slow and because of the no air conditioning thing, they are hot and stuffy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West-Field-Trash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We had a rocky start when they didn' t have a room for 3 availible and they where all booked up. We came to a solution of one of the rooms has a baywindow with a couch in it and they would make that up as a bed. After that the stay was wonderful. The Med is perfectly located. We walked to the Seattle Center which was only a few minutes walking distance. We purchased the city passes at the music experience and found all but one place was within walking distance of the Inn. The lobby has 2 computers that you can use for free to find out schedules and locations of everything listed in the book. There is also a business center if you need to print something. The same floor as the lobby is the washers and dryers. It cost 75 cents to wash and 75 cents to dry. The next time we go to Seattle we will book a room at the Mediterranean.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I don't get the rating of this hotel. OK, it's probably not a 4 star, but 3 or even 3 1/2 seems about right. Would recomend to anyone. Great location, everything in good condition, and a really nice business center.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomL_Philadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,094 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Inn

Address: 425 Queen Anne Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109-4517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#28 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £76 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for business or pleasure in the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. The Space Needle, Key Arena and downtown Seattle are just moments away and for our coffee lovers we feature a Starbucks(R) Cafe off the lobby. The hotel is beautifully appointed with the look of the Mediterranean that embraces you with a comfortable and relaxed feeling. Each guest room features a kitchenette and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Seattle
Mediterranean Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing