We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will depend on the room”
Review of Mediterranean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterranean Inn
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It will depend on the room”
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Okay, we kind of liked it but mainly for its location. We stayed for a long weekend and returned for another five days after we got back from Bellingham. The first stay had us on a warm evening in a third floor room with windows open right on the main drag and it is a heck of a noisy avenue with trucks and cars roaring by and coming off the stop light right outside the window. Reminded me of living in Manhattan on East 72nd. The return five days we insisted on a back room somewhere off the street and that is when things were much nicer and they accomodated us. The staff can be a bit indifferent, though not unfriendly. They seem pretty absorbed behind the front desk. The Starbucks in the building is convenient though I had to laugh when they made a big deal out of cashing a $50 for a $13 purchase. The Hotel does provide bottled water in the fridge when the maid remembers to replace them, no charge. They have a brand new and convenient laundromat on the first floor for visitors. There were a couple of computers in the lounge that you could check your email. Strangely enough in the land of microsoft there was no free internet in the building and nothing to hook up onto either at this location (for free). The location is great, the rooms not bad. If I sound luke warm... well, I am...

Stayed July 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    685
    193
    64
    35
See reviews for
286
633
143
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, FL
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2007

The Mediterranean Inn in Seattle was everything we hoped for and more. The staff was very helpful from giving us directions to any place we asked & what taxis cost to different areas plus arranging for the taxis. The room was large and comfortable with free coffee packs & popcorn supplied daily. We loved that the windows actually opened & had screens so we could sleep with fresh air. The neighborhood wasn't noisey The neighborhood was great we didn't have enough time to go to all the local restaurants which we would have liked to. The restaurants that we did get to were reasonably priced and the food was delicious. Close to 2 grocery stores one upscale & one for regular people. Can't say enough about the roof top deck. You can see Seattle from there a great place to watch the sun rise or set! Close to the monorail to get downtown which by the way has free buses during the shopping hours. Free internet access in the lobby to check flights, places of interest or your email. We were leaving on a cruise at the end of our stay so having such a wonderful & updated laundry on the premises was definietly a plus. We would definetly stay here again when in Seattle. Loved the location.

  • Liked — Location & the look of the building not just another Holiday Inn.
  • Disliked — Not enough time to do everything the neighborhood had to offer.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kathalinaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

I have to agree with a couple of the recent posts in that we booked this hotel based on numerous good reviews and a good price compared to anything downtown. The two major problems was that our room did not have air conditioning and the bed was just awful.
We settled in too late the first night to realize that our room did not have a/c and didnt realize that a small portion of the rooms do (it isn't advertised at the hotel). It wasnt terribly warm in Seattle, but it was stuffy in the room and sleeping with the windows open is great until 6 am when the trucks begin to drive up and down the surrounding streets.
We knew going in we would only have a queen bed, but the mattress and pillows were not comfortable at all.
We had no problems with the staff or the cleanliness of the place and thought the location was great. In an old neighborhood with a few local bars/restaurants where you could avoid the downtown crush and a 10 - 15 minute walk to the Space Needle/Monorail etc.
If you do stay here, request a room with a/c to allow you to keep your windows closed in the morning, unless your plans are to get up first thing in the morning.

  • Liked — Bed
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tedsredseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwindow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2007

I'm not so sure why so many people rate the Mediterranean Inn as well as they do. This is one of those hotels that's all about show and very little about quality. I chose to stay at the hotel because of the generally positive feedback from TripAdvisor and the overall appearance of the hotel based on the pictures I had seen. But upon arrival, it was obvious that the hotel would be lacking. Generally unlean, tacky decor, and the bare minimum of comforts define the hotel. I've stayed in many Best Westerns that are superior in these regards. Our room was tiny and bed uncomfortable and overly springy, with old and dirty looking sheets. The window was tiny, and despite what you see in the pictures, there are no balconies--just made to look that way. Our refrigerator didn' t work, there was no air conditioning, and despite a temperate 70 degree day in Seattle, the whole place managed to be stuffy and uncomfortable. One of the elevators was broken the whole stay as well. The staff were generally unconcerned about things and there never seemed to be enough of them to handle things properly. The price is less than many other quality hotels in Seattle, but don't make the mistake of comparing this hotel to anything nice. Compare it to a Best Western or Ramada Inn, and you'll still be far happier at one of those.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank worldwindow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, VA US
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

Very clean with very good staff. Our room had views of Puget Sound and the Olympic Moutains. Downtown edge neighborhood with great walks up Queen Anne Hill, a beautiful, restored neighborhood with views of the Sound, etc. Close to a few coffee/bakery shops and about a 1.2 mile walk to Pike Place Market. No air conditioning but with ceiling and oscillating fan. In July, we didn't need the AC, especially with our windows open.

  • Liked — Size, cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TomandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

I recently stayed at this great little hotel and was pleased with every aspect of my stay there! It was reasonably priced (for Seattle), the staff was friendly, the location was good and within walking distance to the Space Needle, and the room was perfect for my needs. Taxis are easy to catch right across the street and the best way to hit the tourist areas for just a few dollars. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who desires a quiet stay in Seattle!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fancynanc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Lovely, gracious hotel -- friendly staff, spacious, comfortable rooms, 360 degree view from the roof. This is a great location for strolling, seeing well-known landmarks like the Space Needle and Key Arena as well as hidden treasures: an urban labyrinth, fondue restaurant, quaint book store, and of course, ubiquitous coffee shops, all within two blocks. We'd definitely stay at the Mediterranean Inn again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Seattle's high hotel taxes
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bionicwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#51 of 101 in Seattle
1,030 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#33 of 101 in Seattle
2,350 reviews
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Inn

Property: Mediterranean Inn
Address: 425 Queen Anne Avenue North, Seattle, WA 98109-4517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Magnolia / Queen Anne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seattle
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#40 Family Hotel in Seattle
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#52 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediterranean Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally located for business or pleasure in the vibrant Queen Anne neighborhood of Seattle. The Space Needle, Key Arena and downtown Seattle are just moments away and for our coffee lovers we feature a Starbucks(R) Cafe off the lobby. The hotel is beautifully appointed with the look of the Mediterranean that embraces you with a comfortable and relaxed feeling. Each guest room features a kitchenette and the entire hotel is 100% non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Hotel Seattle
Mediterranean Inn Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing