We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #49 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine but not Great”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is a standard Marriott. It's kind of a fun location but it's very touristy. For the price, I was expecting a lot more. If you do decide to stay here keep these things in mind: 1) Don't park your car there. It will cost a fortune. There are parking lots nearby that charge half as much. 2) Don't eat at the hotel restaurant. There are many wonderful places to eat in Seattle, this is not one of them. But there are some top-notch places within walking distance. 3) Do yourself a favor and get away from the waterfront for a few hours so you can see what Seattle is really like.

Room Tip: Before you decide to stay here, shop around. You can do better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReviewerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    645
    224
    109
    42
See reviews for
400
589
62
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My friend and I spent 4 nights at the Marriott Waterfront last week. The Marriott Waterfront is in a lovely location right on Alaskan Way. Lots of sites to see on the waterfront, so we couldn't have asked for a better location. Pike Place was just a short 5 minute walk away. Our room was okay, but we did expect it to be a bit more luxurious due to the price we were paying $200++/night. Room and bathroom were spotless!! A+ to the housekeeping staff!! Beds were comfortable, but pillows were not. One complaint we had was our toilet. It was an automatic flushing toilet and the sensor was so sensitive, that it would flush any time we walked near the toilet. We asked the front desk to have a look into the problem. They sent their "engineer" up and the only solution they came up with was to leave the lid up and flush manually. We found this quite amusing. The blow dryer in the room is from the 1980's and needs to be upgraded ASAP, we found this totally unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber. The lobby is tastefully decorated and welcoming. Friendly bell & front desk staff!! A+

The Hook and Plow restaurant was okay, nothing incredible. I did find it strange that all the employees were wearing jeans though. Breakfast potatoes were not good....I didn't even eat them as they were so greasy.

Now to the pool......it is absolutely horrible. Everything looks so dirty. The hot tub is small and needs to be replaced (maxium people it can hold is 4). I went into the pool area three days in a row, and the pool was not vacuumed once. Big piles of dirt in corner of pool. There is also lots of black stuff in the pool (I'm guessing mold on the walls). Floor tiles are dirty in the pool area. Basket with towels wasn't emptied for three days. There was some gum on a planter that wasn't removed for three days. I can't say enough how disgusting the pool area is. Definitely not up to Marriott's standards. As far as I am concerned, the pool needs to be shut down and renovated ASAP. I am very surprised that other reviewers have not mentioned the condition of the pool!

Overall, I would stay again and would recommend the Marriott Waterfront to friends & family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorneloeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for a quick birthday/valentine overnight treat.

When we got to our room, there was a note for my husband wishing him a happy birthday with chocolate covered strawberries and sparkling H20. I didn't ask for this - but when I called to request an early check-in and confirm the room type, they asked if we were celebrating anything. Nice touch!

We stayed in a waterfront room, high floor, which has a front (vs. side) view out to the water and a balcony. This was great - but if it were cruise ship season, I wouldn't splurge for that as you would likely only see the side of the cruise ship.

Bed was very comfortable, room spacious, with a nice sitting chair and a fairly large balcony. The weather was blustery so we didn't sit out there but it was wonderful to see the ferries come and go. The floor was high enough that you could leave the drapes open and no one from the street level could see you. (this would NOT be the case if the cruise ship were in port and were at floor level).

Property common areas were very clean, polished, and staff was friendly. We also easily got a late checkout.

We will go back and/or recommend the hotel for visitors to Seattle.

Room Tip: High floors, get waterfront vs. waterview for best views. Worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skarriemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at the Marriott Waterfront this week while attending a conference at the nearby Bell Harbor Conference Center. The location of the hotel is great; very close to the conference center and just a 5-7 minute walk to Pike Place Market, downtown shopping and restaurants, and the monorail.

While the hotel is on the waterfront, which is very nice, my room faced the parkade. Because of the set up of the hotel, I don't think that many rooms have a good view.

In this day of being connected, I was stunned to find out that the rooms did not have WiFi. It is only possible to connect with an ethernet cable. There is free WiFi in the lobby, but it is "spotty."

The room was clean and basic.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonandLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We were staying just one night and then going to be staying 45 minutes north of Seattle the next night. Everyone was super friendly. The room was supposedly an upgrade, while I appreciated the gesture the view was small and I didn't feel I could enjoy it because of the proximity of the rooms perpendicular to ours. Three levels of rooms had balconies that could see into our room and the one on our level was probably less than 6 ft away.

The sheets had a small stain on them, but overall the room was clean. The bathroom was SUPER clean which is very important to me. I didn't like the design of having the towel rack in the shower and the bathroom light was odd - it turned on when you walked into the room ans stayed on for a while. But, no biggie.

The hotel restaurant was expensive given the wait time to get food, refills etc and the attire of the staff. Some staff were wearing jeans others dresses with no nylons etc.

Overall it was a pleasant experience but pricey for what you actually get in the room. I stay at Marriotts whenever I can because of their exemplary service. We were even offered a 30 minute late check out so we could walk to the market for breakfast and not have to rush back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Good location to explore Seattle from. But the hotel is in need of a refurb. Rooms were tired, bathrooms basic and hardly any amenities. No wifi in room so beware. Not worth the price

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here for one night while staying in town for the weekend. Pretty good location. Short walk to the Pike's Place Market area. Great sunset views right on the water. I was upgraded to a corner room on fourth floor with an excellent view. Rooms have been nicely renovated.

Only downside is the lack of restaurants/bars close by. They do have the Hook & Plow on site, but it was dead. Ended up going back towards Pike's Place Market and grabbing a quick bite before hitting up Fox Sports Grill for the PPV UFC fight that night. Just be warned if you are walking back late at night, elevator shuts down at 11pm and there are some homeless people milling about.

Room Tip: Get a corner room with water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pikapptcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#46 of 101 in Seattle
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,073 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seattle Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seattle Marriott Waterfront

Property: Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Address: 2100 Alaskan Way, Seattle, WA 98121-3139
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#34 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#36 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seattle Marriott Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 358
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Seattle Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Waterfront Seattle Hotel Seattle
Marriott Seattle
Seattle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing