We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My parents were left in the lobby for 6 hours...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Broadway
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I made a double booking for my parents and I. We were travelling into Seattle separately and going to meet a the hotel the following morning. My parents share the same unusual surname as me, so there is little doubt to our relationship.

My plane was delayed, so we arrived at 1am. My parents tried to check in at 6pm, before their dinner.

However, because I was not present the hotel refused to give my parents their room. Instead they let them sit in the lobby for the entire evening!!! Even when my father offered to secure the room using his credit card, the hotel were unwilling to co-operate.

My parents are both over 60. This is service I would not expect an animal to endure!!!

When I arrived I expressed my disappointment at the situation. The receptionist who served us simply said 'I have only just started my shift'. Words lost me at this point...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitz_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaunceyDeVitis, General Manager at Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Broadway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

Thank you for posting your comments and sharing your experience. Please accept my sincerest apologies. Without doubt, our staff should have been able to recognize this situation and accommodate your parents accordingly. Your feeback will serve as a valuable training tool for our staff to improve our ability to handle each situation based upon the needs of the guest. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,158 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

my wife and i were to be in seattle for the weekend. we had previously booked another room at a different hotel, but when we were unable to check in a day earlier then we had planned (extra vacay day - bonus!!!), we were able to sneak a night in at the silver cloud.

quite a nice hotel with friendly staff and situated right next to all of the action happening in the capitol hill and pike/pine neighborhoods. we enjoyed a clean and quiet room with a nice step out to a shared courtyard. surprisingly quiet for it's location on such a busy street in a bustling commercial area. a nice, quick walk to tons of restaurants and shops, and the salted caramel ice cream just up and around the corner at molly moo... (incredible!!)

a bit steep for parking ($16), but nice and secure. i guess i'm just spoiled never having to pay when i'm around home... altogether, quite a pleasant and enjoyable stay - even if only for one night. we wish we could have stayed a bit longer.

for security conscious travellers - this hotel is outstanding. access to guest floors is by key card only. we always feel very safe and comfortable at any of the silver cloud locations where we've stayed...

one minor ding - there was a bit of peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling and dingy sealant on the bathtub. not bad at all, but totally unexpected given the general condition of the property and the somewhat upscale presentation elsewhere. otherwise room was spotless and very well maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckinley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Loved hotel location and everything about it! Secured gated parking garage large enough to fit our 4 door Dodge was an added bonus. Everything about this hotel was superb except for the no cable thing, that made it really boring when you were in between places. But other than that I will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank KianiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Went for a three day road trip to Seattle with another family with young kids. After searching on travelocity and other websites for two weeks and finding nothing in the city for a reasonable price, decided to priceline it. Got the Silver Cloud for literally half price. The hotel met and exceeded our expectations in spades. First off, although it's rated at three stars, the hotel is really more like three and a half in our opinion. The rooms are very nice, even a little luxurious. Combined with the great indoor pool, the free breakfast buffet, and the shuttle, we all had a great experience. Yes, the parking costs $16 a night, but how many city hotels don't charge for parking? We took the shuttle every day, sometimes two or three times a day. I just kept thinking how much hassle and money the shuttle saved us. Highly recommended, especially for half price!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

From the time we arrived until the day we left, we were treated like VIP's! Although we had hoped to have our room upgrade because of a special anniversary, this was not possible in the end. However, the check-in clerk tried her best as did the Front Manager and we were treated to chocolates, free appetizers and very good service. Our room was large enough and the free internet was reliable and fast (a really BIG bonus for us!). WE also were pleasantly surprised to have a little kitchenette complete with sink, microwave and fridge. We loved the free shuttle and the drivers were just great! One in particular was so knowledgeable about Seattle and he gave us a colourful history as we drove into the downtown area -- please keep this service! It is a reason we would go back. We were disappointed in the pool and spa area as these were in the parking garage and quite dark and unfriendly. It seems as though these were an afterthought in terms of the design. The breakfasts in the newly renovated Jimmy's were very very good and the staff here was friendly and bright. We loved the area near Seattle University and the price point of the hotel was good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

restaurant downstairs was good but stay away from the crab offerings,, really good breakfast ,, ,room was great along with everything else. disappointed they offered a shuttle to downtown but not to cruise port...offer this to people and you'll get a lot more business... overall really great and I am picky

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxfeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We booked two rooms with priceline at very short notice and I don’t think we would have stayed at this location if we wished to visit downtown Seattle. There is, however, a free shuttle bus that stops at all the major downtown sights and the drivers are very friendly and knowledgeable which makes up for the location. We had some trouble while at the hotel; we were refused two rooms together at check-in. We took one room and then came back and spoke to another member of staff who booked us to the room next door without a problem. However, when we returned to the hotel that evening one of our rooms had been let to somebody else. We walked into a room with other guest’s personal effects all over the place. The duty manager clearly had no idea what had gone wrong but found us another room. The following day the reception desk sent the shuttle bus to the wrong place to pick us up downtown, leaving us stood around for 40 minutes. In conclusion, an OK hotel in not a great location and with some customer service issues.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Storrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaunceyDeVitis, General Manager at Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Broadway, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2010

Please accept our apologies for the challenges you encountered during your stay. Our goal is to ensure all of our guests enjoy an outstanding experience, and apologize we failed to meet that goal during your stay. Your feedback will serve as an excellent training tool for our staff. Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,865 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,282 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 104 in Seattle
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Broadway

Address: 1100 Broadway, Seattle, WA 98122-4202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#5 Family Hotel in Seattle
#7 Business Hotel in Seattle
#22 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £115 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Broadway 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the trendy Capitol Hill neighborhood, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Broadway is directly across the street from Seattle University and Swedish Medical Center. Our hotel near downtown Seattle is designed with both the business and leisure traveler in mind; all rooms include complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, and refrigerators. Our Capitol Hill hotel also features an indoor pool as well as fitness and business centers. With downtown Seattle only nine blocks away, the local area shuttle can take you to some of the city's finest restaurants, shopping and theaters in just minutes. In addition, be sure to stop by the city's bustling Pike Place Market during your stay. The Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Broadway is proud to present our new restaurant Jimmy's on Broadway. Building on the success of Jimmy's on First at our Stadium property, Jimmy's on Broadway will offer the same energetic atmosphere and culinary experience featuring full-service breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing