We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I stayed here with my mother before an Alaksa cruise in September 2010. Upon entering the hotel, we loved the ornate lobby. Our room was absolutely beautiful and very functional. We had a very nice lunch at a seafood restaurant that is part of the hotel, and finally, upon the morning of departure, I used the swimming pool. Urban hotels often have poorly placed pool facilities but this one was nice- almost in a sunroom, the pool was not huge but amply sized, and the hot tub was a nice touch. I'd definitely stay here again if I was coming through Seattle.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gamelanlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,602 - 2,608 of 3,081 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is life as it should be. As soon as we arrived in the ornate lobby we knew this was something special. We were having a reunion of sorts with friends from Seattle and Vancouver and selected the Olympic for its elegance and genteel atmosphere. We were not disappointed. Everything was perfect: our lunch in the Georgian restaurant, the cocktails in the lobby bar, the large, comfortable room with a view of downtown Seattle, and most of all the friendly and courteous service (quite uncommon in large chain hotels).
How nice to find east coast elegance in a informal west coast city!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Questmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Well it would be wrong of me to rate the Fairmont Olympic Hotel in Seattle as "poor" because it is really beautiful and the people are all wonderful. I was just so dissapointed with the noise level in my room. I did have a lower level room and perhaps it would have made a difference if I were higher up. My room was in constant annoyance of police and fire engines as well as plain old traffic. I really didn't realize the hotel was smack dab in the middle of downtown and all that goes along with that. On the plus side, I was exhausted when I arrived and could not bring myself to even go down to the restaurant to eat dinner...so I ordered room service. Pretty pricey but honestly the best fish and chips I think I have ever had...and I live in Hawaii so that says a lot!
Also when I checked out the next morning, the darling valet had a bag with homemade chocolate chip cookies and milk in my car waiting for me to take for my road trip. He brought me bottled water too and I just thought that was a lovely gesture. I appreciate beauty and staying in nice places but I don't think I would stay at the Fairmont Olympic Hotel in Seattle again. It's just a little too "stuffy". I much prefer the Edgewater Hotel located right on the water in Seattle. Close in price with the Fairmont but just more inviting in my opinion!
Mahalo!

Room Tip: Probably as high up as you can get to eliminate the noise factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel September 9-11, 2011 for a two night pre-cruise stay to visit several favourite sights and eat at two specific restaurants we remembered from 10 years ago. The hotel is an older building and therefore very sound proof. Checkin was simple and our documents from the cruise company handed to us at the front desk. No one asked us if we needed help with our bags and I guess that's the norm now as we mostly carry small carry-on suitcases! Our twin-bedded room was very comfortable with the usual expensive mini-bar. Lots of large towels and plenty of bathroom amenities. Our beds were very comfortable too. Joy of Joys - the windows opened to allow fresh air in. The main restaurant that serves both breakfast buffet and menu items was expensive - USD25.00 plus for all-you-can-eat buffett, but when you add up menu items plus juice and coffee it will come out about the same. There is an excellent coffee bar on the ground floor of the hotel if you are used to having just coffee and pastries in the morning. Overnight parking is USD 30.00 plus. You really don't need a car in Seattle, so opt for an airport shuttle or taxi. The hotel is within walking distance of all kinds of restaurants, shopping, other major hotels and Pikes Marketplace. We had a really nice stay - thankyou Fairmont Hotels for keeping up a true "Fairmont" tradition.

Room Tip: Twin bedded rooms I believe are usually located on the lower floors but very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muriel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

from the moment we arrived, we knew we were in the right place! The service is impeccable and the ambience is inviting. This hotel is full of history and iconic charge in one of the PNW's best cities. We had dinner in The Georgian and it was one of the best meals we've ever had. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HotelLover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here September 1-4 with 2 adults and 2 small children in an executive suite for a convention at the nearby convention center.

This hotel as everyone has said is very nice. The public areas are beautiful, the staff very helpful, the location within walking distance to the convention center, waterfront, and Pike Place market very good. The linens were very comfortable. The 360 virtual tour on the website is pretty accurate of what the room we were in looked like, with the exception that they have replaced the tube TVs with flat screens. They allowed us to move things in the minibar to accomodate the kids medicine and milk, which was nice.

The room was worn, though. The carpet was either very dirty or (I hope) discolored and there were places where the carpet had obviously been patched. The wallpaper was peeling in spots. The loveseat was in pretty good condition, but both the desk chair and the lounge chair were fraying and quite worn. One of the blinds did not work properly. As others have mentioned, the divider between the two rooms is just a sheer curtain, and ours was pulled off the door in a couple of places. It was okay with the kids, but we did have to turn off all the lights, move the TV and sit in the dark very quietly after 8pm when they went to bed which wasn't ideal, but was fine.

So, if you want a classic hotel with great services, large rooms, and a great location, this is a great place to stay as long as you are prepared for it being a little worn inside the rooms, and for the issue of the room divider if you are getting one of the suites.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jld1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon. The room was wonderful and spacious. The service was great and we had a fantastic time. They even have a house car ( a beautiful new Jaguar) that will drive you around at no fee, its first come first serve so on the weekends its hard to catch it but if you stay during the week it was very easy to use. You do hear quite a bit of noise in the morning hours from the traffic but we took it as part of the charm of it being an older hotel. The pool was also very nice, it did get crowded on Saturday but it was empty on the Friday. We wanted to come back for another stay this coming weekend but they were completly sold out, we were bummed but we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,174 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 103 in Seattle
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £175 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing