We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An historic hotel that doesn't feel like a carbon copy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An historic hotel that doesn't feel like a carbon copy”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This used to be the Olympic; another time was the Four Seasons. As part of the growing Fairmont chain this beautifully refurbished hotel goes out of its way to help visitors relax and quickly feel known and welcome. Very spacious and open, multi-leveled lobby leading up to a beautiful dining room. Cozy bar and inventive drinks. Excellent spa with good swimming pool and hot tub; massage room; sauna. Staff is uniformly gracious and proactive in anticipating guests' needs. House car available for short trips, first-come first-served. Very well located; five blocks from Pike Place; two blocks from convention center. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Had an executive suite: sleeping and living area separate--definitely beats a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,859
    702
    197
    77
    41
See reviews for
603
1,060
146
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I had a wonderful four night stay at the Fairmont in Seattle. I was there for work and originally booked for three nights. Unfortunately I became ill overnight on my last night there from food poisoning from a local restaurant (not one of the ones at the Fairmont!). Being sick alone in a hotel room far from home is no fun, but everyone at the Fairmont went totally above and beyond to make me as comfortable as possible. Everyone I interacted with was very caring--the bellman who brought me some pepto-bismol from the gift shop below, the housekeeper to whom I apologized profusely (and tipped what I hope was generously enough) when she had to clean up the bathroom which was in not such a nice state after my illness, and everyone else whom I dealt with as I was recovering. The "Royal Service" agent who assisted me on the phone was helpful first with my request for a late checkout and then, when I realized I was not going to recover in time to make my afternoon flight, arranged for me to stay in the room for another night, charging the same (low) group rate that I'd had for my original booking. They even surprised me with a complimentary bowl of soup as I recovered--just what I needed. All of this gave me a very positive feeling about the employees and their care and attentiveness towards their guests.

Even before that I had really enjoyed my time at the Fairmont--very pleasant and well-appointed complimentary health club and pool and nicely decorated rooms with curtains that overlap to provide a true "blackout" for a good night's sleep. The decor style is classic and old-fashioned--if that doesn't appeal to you then you won't be at home here but I loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wurldtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

For that last 10 years or so we have spent a night or 2 in the city to celebrate a birthday or the holidays. Our hotel of choice has always been the Fairmont. I always feel like a princess in this hotel. No wonder, as he staff treats their guests like royalty. The hotel is beautifully appointed: the rooms, hallways and lobby all reek of old money. We love the lobby area and sampling one of their famous martinis. Yes, this is an expensive hotel, but you do get your money’s worth. There is some good news for those of you who are watching your dollars these days – we certainly are. We joined the Fairmont’s President’s Club – its free. They email you when there are special rates offered around the world. We took advantage of this great rate for our stay this December. If you like seafood, you can’t go wrong with Schucker’s. Also, there is good happy hour in the lobby and bar with reasonably priced drinks and snacks. Treat yourself – your deserve it!

Room Tip: This hotel is in the center of the city, so it really doesn't matter which side of the hotel you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebBAuburn_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Can't say enough good things about the hotel - probably my favourite stay of the year. Great service from the concierge desk, who provided a fantastic wine bar and a great spa recommendation.

Rooms were lovely, well appointed and large. Very clean and well maintained. Room service was fantastic. Easy to get to many of the locations in downtown Seattle - Pike's Place and the Seattle Art Museum are close by.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caycay_can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Large, beautiful rooms. Service was excellent. The location is within walking distance of so much in Seattle. Only negative was that the bar staff was overwhelmed when our group of 10 came in for drinks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here in April for 3 nights, checked out for 1 night, then checked back in for another 3 nights. During our first three nights, our room was spacious with a newly renovated bathroom and large living area. The hotel is in a great location in downtown Seattle and the staff was very helpful in directing us about town. When we checked back in, however, we were checked into one of the old rooms, which was smaller and very disappointing compared to our first room. We called the front desk to ask to be transferred to another updated suite, and they accommodated us immediately. What great service! And what a difference in rooms! The complimentary breakfast each morning was amazing - just be sure to ask what is included in the complimentary breakfast and don't order beyond that if you're on a budget because they charge you an arm and a leg for the extras ($7 for a grapefruit!!)...but overall our stay was excellent and would definitely go back if we have to go to Seattle again in the future. Also, we took advantage of the pool, hot tub, and gym and that was very nice. Great to work out in the freezing weather and they had an excellent massage therapist for a reasonable price too.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hotel is well located, in downtown Seattle and has a good and helpfull staff, worth the price. i would return with no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,621 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing