We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland OR
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Still the best in Seattle”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I read "doug100worth";s review, and can't agree more - I am a return customer, and look forward to future visit as well. The hotel is old-fashioned, with old-fashioned courtesy and politeness to go with it. You feel pampered at spa, and treated well at the restaurants downstairs. If you don't feel like a formal food served at the hotel, there are a lot of restaurants nearby. The cafe downstairs have good baked goods and coffee in a casual atmosphere. There are a lot of shopping nearby as well, and taxis are plentiful.

Someone commented on gym equipment being from 90s or something- I can't talk about weight machines (wait, how new do free weights have to be?), but cardio machines are up to date - digital with iphone hookup via USB, in several different languages. I found them newer than my gym's. The attendants at the fitness center are very nice too. I enjoyed going there.

Room Tip: A lot of good rooms - Tell the front staff your special needs or requests if any, and they will do t...
See more room tips
Green Features: recycle basket in every room. They don't change the linen everyday unless you request it to be changed.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eusay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,838
    696
    196
    77
    40
See reviews for
598
1,049
142
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I checked into this hotel with my mother in the same room. My stay at this hotel was going great, until it was ruined on the 3rd day when the hotel staff called to inquire when I would be arriving as they had held a room for me for 2nights as per reservations made.
The staff then proceeded to state that they did not know I had checked into the hotel (as if this is really possible given the state of security in the world) and thus charged us the FULL RATE for 2 nights for the unoccupied room. The staff member that called us to share this news was curt and unapologetic. Yes, the reservations were for 2 rooms but surely to claim they did not know I had checked into the hotel - after I was there for 2 days- is a little ridiculous.
Needless to say this hotel damaged both my finances and my perception of it!! Wouldn't recommend it to anyone

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
695 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have been staying at the Olympic for more than 30 years. We've stayed when it was managed by Four Seasons and since it's been managed by Fairmont. We've stayed more than 100 times and love the place. Sure, we have favorite rooms but it's more than the rooms as they don't have that great Seattle view. It's the people......many of whom have been around the whole time. When in Seattle, the Olympic is that only place you should stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The Fairmont Olympic Hotel is a breathtaking property. From the moment you walk in, you breathe grandeur. Located in the downtown area near Pike Market Place and a great number of high end stores, this hotel is a great choice for anyone traveling to Seattle and wanting to like a king (or queen).

The staff is professional and incredibly friendly. They did everything in their power to make sure our stay was comfortable. Even when we arrived late after a city tour the day of we were checking out, we were not rushed out of our rooms and told that we could take our time to pack and freshen up. I cannot emphasize how wonderful it felt to be treated like a guest instead of a pestilence. They really went above and beyond.

Breakfast at The Georgian was nothing short of a foodie delight. I really recommend you trying their fruit juice of the day. It was to die for. I normally don’t have such strong feelings about fruit juices. I also recommend their Olympic Rooftop Honey Bee Breakfast. Trust me, you won’t be sorry.

The rooms were spacious, immaculately furnished to the majestic vibe the hotel perpetuates. The bed was so fluffy I thought I was sleeping in a cloud. Everything was pristine.

Whenever I return to Seattle, I will definitely stay at Fairmont Olympic Hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Gorgeous well run hotel.. Spa was wonderful. Location was great. Thoroughly pleased. The market was in walking distance. Very accommodating staff, very professional. I could not have asked for anything more....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dew345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Exceptional service from the moment we arrived, staff was keen to help and attentive. The hotel is centrally located so close to shopping and Pike Market. Our room was well appointed and very comfortable. I had some challenges with the wifi as it kept dropping off and I think I may have been connected through 3G most of my stay instead of the free wifi. Beware if you are driving the only hotel parking available is valet and it is expensive ($45 per day) and if you need something out of your car it takes about ten minutes to get your car up to the front door for you to access (although the staff are cheerful about it). Breakfast was nothing to rave about. We chose not to have the buffet and our food was very slow to arrive and one egg was hard and one egg soft. However our server was very attentive and professional.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were very impressed with the quality of the employees, from Nathan at the front door to the front desk and room maids, this is a high quality boutique hotel.
We had 3 rooms, all rooms are small and a little noisy at night from the street folk, however, they are very clean and well appointed.
The location of the hotel was excellent, directly in the middle of the city and 2 blocks from the markets.
A 30 minute drive from the airport. I'm sure you will enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor to help reduce street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halma1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing