We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury or your grandmother's spare room?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I travel to Seattle most weeks of the year and always stay downtown. This week, I stayed at the Fairmont and was disappointed. The rooms are in serious need of a remodel. Decorations are so far out of date it's surprising. Bathroom seems downright old. Air vents are behind the curtains, so you can choose either a dark room or comfortable temperatures. If you opt for comfortable temperatures, you only have vertical blinds partially cover the light. Not the typical Fairmont experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,011 - 2,017 of 3,202 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our Room was great, large and well appointed. The HVAC was inconsistent and we balanced by opening windows to warm or cool.
Room Service was top notch. Lunch in the grill downstairs was fun and a nice selection of wines by the glass. The room was a clothier in the early part of the centuiy and our server had good insight to the history.
Location is tops....close to the things we were doing in Seattle. Car and Driver were available and very handy for some tours. Car rental was handled in the lobby, and the associate managed to come up with a car at a very busy time.
Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Not an internet geek at all but getting kicked off 20 times a day is a bit much. Major cash grab. Have stayed at other fairmonts and haven't seen this. Shuckers is very average seafood restaurant as well. Ate there, overcooked shrimp and average service. Location is nice and rooms are pretty good to be fair. Guess thats why its on hotwire for cheap.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, General Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your feedback. I truly appreciate the time you took to detail your concerns.

Please accept my personal apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay regarding Wi-Fi. I assure you that your experience is not the standard to which we aspire, nor which our guests have come to expect. I hope that you reported the issue during your stay and that the situation was rectified.

Guest feedback is extremely important to us as we constantly review our practices to ensure that we offer our valued guests consistent, superior service. I would appreciate it if you would contact us so that we may clarify your specific issues and find a solution. You may contact me directly at dennis.clarkgm@fairmont.com. I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Dennis Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We are frequent visitors to Seattle, and usually stay at the Grand Hyatt which is close to the Paramount theatre. This weekend my 9 year old daughter and I had tickets for "Oliver" at the 5th Avenue theatre, and knowing that Seattle weather can be on the damp side, I decided to find a hotel closer to the 5th.

From the moment we walked in we were wowed. The decorations for Christmas were amazing, there seemed to be staff everywhere wishing us a good morning, opening a door, or just being helpful. Check in was seamless, they did not have our room ready, since it was only 11 am, but told us were would be on an upper floor as requested and would call when the room was ready. They whisked away our bags and off we went to lunch and the show.

We enjoyed the show and then came back across the street to see if our room was ready, because by now it was 4:30 pm and I had not received a call. The lady at the desk said that they had a note we were at the matinee and did not want to ring us and disturb anything. How thoughtful! We were given our keys and up we went to our 10th floor corner room, our bags were delivered about 10 minutes later. Very nice!

The room was perfectly suited for the two of us. It was very clean and well maintained. Some very nice touches I noted: a lavender sachet in the closet, a wonderful charging station on the bedside table with plugs and usb ports, plush robes and slippers, a lint remover, an umbrella, Keurig coffee maker and a kettle with selection of teas and k-cups, wonderful soaps and other toiletries, and a real hairdryer. Oh, and my daughter was pleased that Disney channel was included in the t.v. channels, which is not always the case!!

My daughter and I visited the pool area, and were especially pleased that the pool is not kept 2 degrees above freezing. It was nice and warm, the employee said 85 degrees, but I venture to say it may have been a degree or two warmer than that. Off the pool was a top notch fitness area, locker rooms with full showers, additional toiletries, even flip flops to borrow should you need to, and a swimsuit spin dryer.

This morning we ordered in-room dining, it arrived about 20 minutes after I called--which was probably a busy time ~9 am on a Sunday. Everything was fresh and hot, and the tip for the delivery is included in the charges, I did tip our server a pinch more because he was just so polite and on-top of things.

I can think of only 3 real negatives to the trip--because we were in a corner room, we had 3 sets of windows, the windows have a blind, a sheer, and a heavy drape. Even closing all the parts, it was hard to close the drape perfectly to block out all light... we ended up waking earlier than we planned because of this. However, at night, the room was pitch black, so a small nightlight would have been nice for the bathroom, we got by but there was some stumbling in the dark! The last was the parking situation. I did not valet, and was under the impression that overnight parking was $37 for self-park. Apparently, that is for 24 hours only. We were there 25 hours, and the charge was $50! I will inquire before our next trip, because I believe valet is $47 a night, and I do wonder if I would have been charged more than $47 had we used a valet. I suspect not, and that next time we will take advantage of that service.

Overall an absolutely wonderful stay, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kierste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Was there for dinner and the food was just average. Not the best food. But service was great. We had to return one of the plates since the food was just way too salty. For this type of restaurant, disappointed with the food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was my first time staying in a Fairmont hotel. If the rest of their properties are like this, I could see myself going out of the way if needed to stay at other properties. Very classy hotel with top notch service. Hotel is within easy walking distance of Pike's Market and shopping. Service by the entire staff was incredible. Rooms are roomy and very comfortable. A premium bed......probably the best I have ever slept in a hotel. I was able to get a decent rate by booking and paying in advance. I would highly recommend this hotel over any other full service hotel in downtown Seattle

Room Tip: Corner room upgrades are lovely. See if you can talk yourself into an upgrade if you are a first ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markweitzel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The rooms feel like you're at a bed and breakfast establishment. The location is perfect in close walking distance of the market and great restaurants. The exercise facility is small but excellent. The equipment is top notch, providing a great weight workout and the selection of treadmills and ellipticals is satisfying.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,758 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,117 reviews
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#15 of 104 in Seattle
1,625 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 104 in Seattle
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £155 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing