We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Hotel in Center of Seattle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #19 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel in Center of Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our family tries to go to Seattle once a year to explore, dine and shop for several days. We live in a smaller town in Montana and Seattle is our top choice for a quick city "fix". We generally like to try different hotels and this time we picked the Fairmont Olympic Seattle. Last year we stayed at the Four Seasons and although trendy and chic didn't quite live up to our expectations. Being that we have 2 young children, we like to find hotels that are near the center of where we want to be and a swimming pool. The Fairmont meets both of those requirements. I found a great rate on-line coupled with the fact that I have their premier status AND Fairmont card. Both provide many upgrades and certificates I applied toward this stay which really enhanced our experience with the hotel. I paid for a regular size room but had a certificate to upgrade to a suite. The suite upgrade allowed us to have a bit more room at no extra cost. Also, I had several dining and breakfast coupons in my account and because their breakfast is quite pricey, it made the cost more in line. They charge $6.00 for coffee and 6.00 PER glass of juice. Before you even have time to see how much that costs on the menu, they essentially bring you both without warning you of the cost. We had sticker shock just on the drinks alone. Also, they don't tell you this unless you ask, but kids 5 and under eat free with a paying adult.
The hotel seems quite grand and is very beautiful although the lobby is a bit tired - the furniture is looking worn and shabby. I noticed one couch could even be entered in the ugliest couch contest. The reception staff was very professional and offered us a paid upgrade to corner suite. They started with $400.00 more per night. When we declined they came down another $100.00, we declined again and they went down to $250.00 extra per night for the corner suite. We decided to check it out. Although it was enormous and beautiful, we decided we would be satisfied with our deluxe king suite. Thien, the doorman downstairs at valet really stood out as a wonderful employee. He was there most of the days we were and loved to engage the kids. He even gave them cookies and milk one late morning.
Our room was large enough for the 4 of us to comfortably spread out - and as you know a family of 4 can do that rather quickly. The sofa pulled out to a queen size bed and the master bedroom could be closed off with a pair of French doors. Although we had a peekaboo view of Elliot Bay (if we titled our heads just right) our view was mostly of an office building across the street. However, in all honesty, the hotel doesn't have the best views as it is surrounded on all sides by buildings. What the hotel does offer is an amazing location in downtown Seattle. We could walk almost everywhere we needed to go and if anything was just out of walking distance, the hotel provides a car to transport you to and from your destination.
The pool and sauna are a welcome treat after sightseeing all day. The downside is it closes at 10:00 sharp. However, the indoor pool is a comfy 85 degrees and the spa is large enough to hold several people without feeling crowded. I used the sauna once and it was a perfect temperature.
I think we have found the perfect Seattle hotel. We definitely will return next year!

Room Tip: Join the Fairmonts club for complimentary internet. If you get the Fairmont visa, you will receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2momstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    691
    193
    77
    40
See reviews for
593
1,033
142
673
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in , Historical architecture, grand foyer, everything was top notch, my room was amazing, we went for our 16th anniversary, i mentioned this and also joined the presidents club , they gave us a double upgrade to 11th floor and an chocolate strawberry plate that said happy anniversary, i paid 159.00 on travel zoo. We were treated like king and queen, not bad for a small town girl. I mostly want to mention the service we received in the hotel, Rick at the door was fabulous, he never stopped the whole time running to get the doors for you and with a smile, i think they should give him a raise. he deserves it.! Also the hotel has a curtousy car, a bmws, took us to the boat show and back, restaurants anywhere with a 3 mile radius, this was top notch, Mac was our driver he was great, really friendly and professional. I went to the fitness room last morning it was also 5 star, cant say enough about this hotel and its people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carOlyn51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We did not spend too much time staying the hotel during our short stay in Seattle.

The front desk, one lady was very friendly but one was a little rigid. But I guess everyone could have a bad day at work especially in Seattle's winter. The room was dated in my opinion... Very old school. But I'm not sure if Queen of English would like it either. The bed and the bedding are very comfortable however. Nice mini bar choices.

We went to Shuckers for oyster happy hours, and it was really good. We had probably some of the best pastries in Seattle at Belle Epicurean in the hotel building. But I suppose it is not part of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerX929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Staff are attentive but the most amazing thing which is the best example is that the Rick, one of the bell boys, always remembers my name which when you realise I visit once every 3 months is astounding.
The location is perfect for the city and the freeways, the food delivers and has extensive choices, the rooms are large, clean and airey whilst the beds are to die for there that comfortable. I always leave my shoes out overnight for a polish (complimentary) and never had an issue with them being returned by early morning. Wifi is fast, the gym, albeit small, has everything you need and the equipment is always working. And the massages are good. All in all I've stayed at many hotels in Seattle and the Fairmont wins by a country mile.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gerrymarkred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
559 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Classic, beautiful hotel centrally located within walking distance to many Seattle attractions. Offers great dinning, bar, health club, indoor pool and spa. This hotel was once the Four Seasons which is classically preserved. It offers great service, beautiful historic architecture. Full service amenities, great customer service. Request a room on the top floors as the hotel surrounds the city roads, the only downside is the windows need to be updated with better sound suppression as the rooms are quite noisy on the lower floors. You'll love this place!

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floors, lots of road noise on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous hotel in Downtown Seattle. 3 blocks to shopping and 4 blocks to the ever so popular Pike Place Market. Visited during the Holiday season and the Teddy Bear room is a must-see if you are there in December. Stayed in a corner room and had spectacular views of Seattle, and being on a corner, wasn't noisy at all. The complimentary car service within Downtown Seattle was also a great perk. Staff was very professional. Overall A+ rating!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for being our guest during the holidays and for taking the time to write. I am glad to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you found our complimentary car service and location to be convenient.

We hope that we might welcome you back to Seattle and see you here again during the next holiday season.

Kind regards,
Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Wonderful stay at the Fairmont in Seattle. I loved this historic hotel. Location was good and seemed to be in the heart of Seattle. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The dinner at the Georgian was amazing and had to be one of my top ten.
Loved hearing about the fresh honey supply. I would love to visit Seattle again, and would love to stay at the Fairmont again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinFamily05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write. I am glad to read that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed your room and our central location. I greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff and am very glad that your dinner in The Georgian has made your top ten list. We are very proud of our hard-working honeybees am proud that we are able to showcase their hard work in our restaurants by incorporating into our menus some of the fine honey that they deliver.

Thank you again, and I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back to Seattle and to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing