We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be a great hotel with a few upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burbank
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could be a great hotel with a few upgrades”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Firstly, this hotel is stunning. Beautiful. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Lots of elevators that are fast, I stayed there 6 days and never had to wait more than 20 seconds for an elevator and they were nearly always empty, despite very busy hotel. The fitness facility is great with a beautiful pool. However, the windows in the rooms are paper thin with huge gaps around them. You can hear everything outside. We asked for the quietest room, it took 3 attempts but still had to use earplugs every night. The mattresses also need to be replaced. They're really soft, and if you move your wife bounces. People who review bed comfort should really say whether mattresses are hard, soft or supportive, and not just say beds are comfortable as I have read for this hotel. It may be comfortable to sink in to a deep bowl shape for some people, but it's really bad for your back, and actually painful for those of us with back injuries. I ended up sleeping on a cot which was perfectly supportive, but my feet hung out the end. Overall not a five star hotel, but could be with a little investment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write with your kind comments about our staff and your feedback. I have responded to the comments that you sent to us directly and would appreciate a bit more feedback so that we can ensure a comfortable stay the next time that you visit us.

Kind regards,

Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,838
    696
    196
    77
    40
See reviews for
598
1,049
142
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was my first stay at the Seattle Fairmont, but have stayed at other properties in Victoria and Vancouver. We had an Executive Suite, which has a separate seating area, which was great to have. We could open the windows, which I like to do., It is an older hotel, but has all modern amenities. We even had a Kuerig coffee maker in the room. It was in a great location, and we could easily walk to Pike's Market, and the Monorail. The carpets could stand a cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn5129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale Altrincham Cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Classy City Centre Hotel not overrun by conferences (during our stay) Great position 4 blocks from Pike Market and piers.Spacious accomodation with a huge bed! The staff were very helpful and the use of the courtesy limo and driver allowed us to arrive at our venues in style!, The breakfast room was magnificent with a large choice of breakfast items.If you book here you will not be disappointed .Can't wait to return to a fabulous hotel and city.

Room Tip: We have only stayed here once our suite was perfect we cannot comment on any other rooms but we sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diagram49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for a March break weekend and enjoyed our trip. On the plus side, the hotel was very clean, staff was extra helpful and friendly. Especially the valet and information services, which led us to great shopping and the best pub fare I have ever eaten at Vons 1000 spirits. The hotel is of the older stylings, which give it a ton of character, but may disappoint those whom prefer the Metropolitan style of decor. Our room was fairly well appointed and clean. Our only complains were that our view was not very pleasant (a rooftop), the minibar prices were quite high (but we expect that these days and target is down the street) and the door that divided the bedroom from the living room was mostly for decor since it did not block sound if someone wanted to sleep while another watched TV. We did have breakfast in the restaurant which was quite overpriced for what we got, but we are told that the buffet is much better (was not available during our stay). In all, we would go back, but only if it was at the right price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a beautiful property in a great location. Within walking distance to lots of restaurants, Pike Market, etc. Consider the "staycation" package which includes breakfast and value parking. Wonderful service. I think the property could use a bit of tweaking -- getting a bit dated...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawyerlady2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A lovely hotel with very good service. An escalator was not working the entire weekend we were there - this seemed far too long to be out of order particularly with events taking place in the hotel. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great hotel, centrally located. Many attractions are within walking distance. Restaurant Shuckers in the hotel ,good seafood. Belle Epicurean Cafe in the hotel, great for breakfast. Room service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,907 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing