We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great historic top-notch hotel convenient downtown location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #20 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great historic top-notch hotel convenient downtown location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First time visit to Seattle was wonderful and mainly because of staying at the Fairmount. Two terrific restaurants. Starbucks across the street. Excellent room very comfortable bed. Walked to and from the baseball game at Safeco Field. Walked to the waterfront and Pikes Place Market. Walked to the original Nordstroms. Took a guided tour that met us at the hotel. This is the place to be for Seattle tourism.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our convenient location. Your comments are sincerely appreciated. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Kind regards,

Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,788
    685
    192
    77
    40
See reviews for
588
1,025
140
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed eight nights. Excellent service. Mini-Suite room very comfortable. Centrally located for shopping, and walking excursions. Excellent sea food at hotel restaurant Shuckers. Had dinner there three nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as your fresh seafood dining experiences with us. We are always striving for excellence in both our service and quality, and it is very rewarding when our guests let us know they are pleased. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The Fairmont Olympic seems at first to be a relic from another age. But it grows on you! Fantastic staff! The marble and wood motif is subtle and elegant. Bellhop service was great. The Georgian was a great place for breakfast.

Best of all was the car drop off and pickup. You can be dropped off or picked up within a mile. But that covers the entire downtown area including the Space Needle.

Would stay again! But remember this place is expensive. (But worth it!)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a few days whilst on one my trips it's truly a wonderful hotel, it's like any world class hotel just perfect loved my visit had dinner one night which was very good and a few night caps so perfect for me

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write. I am very glad to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you also enjoyed your dining experiences with us. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We finished a long road trip here and after staying in so many Holiday Inns, Best Westerns etc we thought this would be such a nice and luxurious way to end our trip. A fantastic city centre location, and it certainly is luxurious, but whereas the cheaper brands we'd visited over the previous two weeks seemed to try really hard to make you feel comfortable, much of this hotel just felt like a bit of a rip-off. I mean, it's 2014 and they're seriously charging for wi-fi? ...and at $14 a day? (Luckily there's a Starbucks on every street corner where you can get it for the price of a "coffee".) And a slice of toast cost $5 at breakfast. It's a shame when it's such a nice-looking hotel to feel that you want to spend more time away from it just so you don't feel so exploited.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKTraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest. I appreciate your feedback and am disappointed that your stay with us was not what you expected. We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in our lounge, as well as to all of our guests that are enrolled in our loyalty program. You may enroll in this complimentary program at any time. I hope that you may visit us again in the future to experience the service that we are known for.

Best wishes,

Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have stayed at other Fairmont properties and was expecting a great experience. However upon arriving in our room on July 23rd in Seattle Washington it was like stepping back in time to the mid 80s. Either that or checking into a 2 star hotel with a decent bed. However, for a Fairmont it was a complete embarrassment for their reputation. The hotel had wallpaper falling off the walls, the phones looked like they had been there for 35 years and the shower had a shower curtain. I haven't seen a shower curtain in a 4 star hotel ever much less in the year 2014. Understanding the building has some historical detail but a shower curtain in the bath tub?? The lights on the end tables had this old style light switches that were discolored white boxes with the rolling switch. It was quite shocking. By the way, this room was on the top floor of he hotel which typically are the best rooms he hotel has to offer. I took several pictures to validate my experience.

Green Features: It appeared that the toilet was also an old 3.5 gallon toilet as well which is completely counter to what the Fairmont is trying to portray lately being a conservation type hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontOlympicSEA, Owner at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for being our guest, and please accept our apologies that the style of your guestroom was not to your liking. I see that one of our Front Office managers attempted to offer assistance with your concerns, so I apologize that we did not have the opportunity to find a resolution. I appreciate your feedback and assure you that I have followed up with my team to address the wallpaper issue that required attention in your particular room. I hope that you had an opportunity to enjoy our location and the hotel services that we are known for.

Best wishes,

Guy Bittner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our family has stayed in the Fairmont in Boston on many occasions and love it. So on our first trip to Seattle we decided to stay in the Fairmont and expected the same experience. Unfortunately, we were somewhat disappointed in the overall ambiance and decor of the hotel among other things.

The staff was nice but our room was dated and not as comfortable as we had hoped. We checked in and the room was hot and was still hot after returning from dinner so we had to call maintenance. Since we were on East Coast time in our head it was unfortunate that we had to wait around for repairs.

Our experience in the lobby bar was interesting as well. After waiting for about 10 minutes for a wait person we walked to the bar to order and we were told that the waitress would deliver our drinks. After another 10 minutes we left to find a bar near the hotel.

We had a suite and the furniture was showing its age - everything just looked a bit tired. The television was old and had limited access and, in addition, the wifi did not work properly making it hard to check in on work related things

Overall - I would say it is time for the hotel to do a little updating to bring this lovely, and well located property into this decade.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3boysmom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Hotel 1000
#10 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fairmont Hotels, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing