We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First - the location really can't be beat. You're just a few blocks from Pike Place Market, perfect for tourists.
We booked with a corporate rate so thought the value was good. The hotel is "old money" as others have mentioned… could use a little updating too. So I'm not sure it's worth regular room rates. The room was very clean and spacious. Not a fan of the combo bath/shower, especially after coming from a couple of other Seattle area hotels with amazing tubs!
We were upgraded on arrival to a corner king room. The windows were nice. The shades weren't working properly, but that's a pretty minor complaint. We couldn't hear any road noise and the hotel was very quiet. Comfy beds too.
Valet is so steep though! $47! That's one of the highest prices I've ever paid for valet at a hotel, outside of maybe NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,841
    696
    196
    77
    40
See reviews for
598
1,050
142
686
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed two nights and it was great. Located close to all sites and the market. Easy to catch a hop on hop off bus for touring. Walking district as well as the well known Pikes Market. More at restaurants close by. Great location for events as well

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our Stay was wonderful from start to finish. We arrived to a key waiting for us at the valet, our room nicely chilled and comfy. The Breakfast from room service is always a highlight of the trip, always on time and wonderful. The beds are super comfy, pillows plush all the comforts of home. It is also nice the door staff remembered us and greeted us by name every time. It is a hotel in which my fiancée and i have spent some great times and will always be the place we go to when we are Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Loookingforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Myself and my finaceé stayed here for 5 nights on our summer holidays. The location of this hotel is excellent for getting around the city, walking distance to Pike Place market, shopping districts and Seattle Aquarium. The gym and swimming pool facilities on the 2nd floor are superb and the rooms are very clean. However, I found the reception staff very stuck up on arrival and quite unhelpful. It seems the hotel wants to cater for the 'upper classes' and perhaps we didn't fit the bill in our converse and shorts!! The front door staff were very mannerly and professional as were the swimming pool attendants. Finally, the Wifi in the hotel was very poor and I thought it should have been offered as a free service like other hotels since the price for the room was quite high anyway. Overall it was a good hotel but certainly not a memorable experience.

Green Features: Good towel options to avoid unnecessary daily changing.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aoifs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times now, and we continue to be impressed. I love the location of the hotel, downtown and close to the Pike Place Market, restaurants, and good shopping. The restaurants at the hotel are outstanding, and service is outstanding. This time I left a watch in the room but didn't realize until several days later. Housekeeping found my watch and returned it to me, which I was very happy about. The room was quiet (very little road noise), beautiful, clean, and comfortable. Since I am a member of Fairmont's President's Club, wifi was free. We will continue to return!

Room Tip: We had an upgraded room, a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Olympic is lovely hotel in the center of Seattle The lobby is classic & elegant. The hotel location is great and is central to everything in downtown Seattle. The service was fantastic from the reception desk, to bellmen, to the concierge.
We enjoyed a king size bedroom with lots of space and that had been updated (3rd floor).
The bed was very comfortable and there is ample space in the room for 2 people (especially for a hotel in the city).
The only negative - parking is a bit steep ($47 for valet parking).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we only stayed here one night. It is a grand old hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. As someone who doesn't stay in this type of hotel often, it seems almost a little overwhelming. We stayed here mainly for the location and a bit of a treat. We were upgraded to a larger room on check in which was a surprise. The room itself was quite large, it was a corner king suite. It was a little oddly laid out but very nice. The room we had was showing its age in some places but nothing too bad. I think the windows were only single pane so there was some street noise but nothing that kept us up. The location is great, close to Pike's Market and a few blocks to the mono rail which we took to the Space needle and museums.

After we checked out we left our luggage at the concierge desk while we did a little exploring around downtown. When we were ready to leave, we pulled the car up to the front door and the staff brought down our bags for us and helped get them in the car.

parking for 24hrs was $37 for self parking (around the corner and across the street) or $47 for valet. We did the self park which wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Property: The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing