We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Old Hotel - Some Pros, Some Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The Fairmont Olympic is a grand old hotel. It's certainly not trendy, and is decorated in a somewhat fussy style - I personally think it could use a little updating, especially to keep up-to-date with all the other hotels in the area. You don't really get the feeling you are in Seattle. Hotel takes up an entire city block and according to staff, very few rooms have views, because you're looking at buildings next to hotel. For that reason, you could really be in any city. We're in executive suite, which is very very spacious! Bedroom, sitting area, dressing area, large bathroom. It's surprising room does not have a coffee pot - but I asked, and they brought us one from room service. That's where this hotel shines - in the service. Every single aspect of service has been excellent.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank wintersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,948 - 2,954 of 3,203 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

We got a friends and family rate so it was considerably cheaper than the other hotels downtown seattle.
I have to say the location is great - though after walking around i got the impression that seattle downtown is so small you could stay anywhere and it would be convenient.
We got upgraded so i'm not sure what a normal room is like, ours was nice and spacious. THe place was pretty good, think the bed was a bit old (common complaint with most faimonts) so a bit springy but not terrible. I liked the gym, its tiny but its got the basics and its in the pool area so there is a nice little atrium. If you are looking for free coffe in the morning it is poolside, i'm not sure why.
If you are a part of the fairmont club (free!) then you can use the gym for free. You go down, get earphones for the cardio machines, a towel and a bottle of water.
I liekd this place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockohorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

After spending an evening out on the town we went to retire to our room and the “bed” was horrible absolutely no support at all, and we both kept rolling into the middle and every time one of us moved the entire bed shook and did not feel like it was properly secure. Finally after 3-4 fitful hours of attempted sleep we got up and checked out. Upon checking out at the front desk we waited politely for the girl to ask us how our stay was – it never was brought up.

As this was our first stay at a Fairmont hotel it will more than likely be my last as it has left a lasting impression. It was nice to know if you get what they call the "friends & family rate" You get the worst room in the hotel.

Parking is $36.00 per day on top of what you pay for your room as well FYI.

I also completed a comment card and sent an email to the Fairmont and have not had any response to my concerns, I guess this is how you treat "friends and family"....

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsjohnsonVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I give this hotel 5 stars! Excellent stay, very friendly and accomodating staff. They change your bed sheets daily. Hotel is within a few blocks from all major attractions, and within 3 blocks of the monorail to the Space Needle. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, you can get some fantastic deals on the bargain websites right now! Great wine bar across the street called Purple, I highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravlerGirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

The hotel is located a close 4 blocks from the Convention Center, and the walk to there is great. The bellhops are quite friendly and offer to help with luggage if you'd like. The doors were always opened for me when entering or leaving the Hotel. The staff at the reception counter were quite friendly and fast. The Hotel is also clean. But this is where the compliments stop.

The non-smoking room, and the hallway leading to the room smelled like smoke, numerous room furniture items were in need of repair or they were extremely worn, the bathroom sink dripped, the carpet was stained in places as was the couch and desk chair, and the TVs were probably 10 years old with remote batteries needing replacement. There was a single instance of a repairman entering the room without knocking.

The hotel was nice enough, but definitely not 5-star quality. Perhaps "3 stars" out of 5 is more appropriate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Advantage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2009

This was our first Fairmont Hotel experience and had read all experiences left on Tripadvisor. We enjoyed our stay including the extras that the rooms have, like silk hangers for women's clothing with fragrance sachets, the great toilettries, great shower. They will shine your shoes if you like. We also loved the fact that they have a car at our disposal (at no fee), but did leave a nice tip! The driver dropped us off at several locations throughout our stay and picked us up as well. The driver can only be within the downtown area and that was perfect for us. We had stayed the night prior to leaving on an Alaska cruise and asked the concierge to schedule some activities, including a concert and a car rental upon our return in a week. Everything was waiting for us upon our return. I believe this hotel's service, staff and restaurants are one of the best we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

Just returned from a five night stay at the Fairmont Olympic and wish I was still there! Great facility in a perfect location with a well trained, very attentive staff. Initially checked in to a newly renovated room (flat screen tv, updated bath, etc.), but it was close to the street and a little noisy for me (but not as bad as the new Four Seasons on First or other hotels), and asked to be moved to a higher room. Ended up on the tenth floor in an "older room," which was perfect and very quiet. I never turned on the TV anyway, so what do I care if it's HD or black and white? Great pool and fitness center; super restaurants; a delightful piano bar in the evenings, and just plain old world charm throughout.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuakerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,755 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,116 reviews
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#17 of 104 in Seattle
1,622 reviews
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#42 of 104 in Seattle
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £151 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing