We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only an Insider Would Know to Come Here...”
Review of The Fat Hen

The Fat Hen
Ranked #18 of 136 Coffee & Tea in Seattle
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Pleasanton, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Only an Insider Would Know to Come Here...”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you're into small hidden culinary gems for breakfast, this is a "must" when you're in Seattle. You know the place is a winner when you want to try everything on the menu - even though you just came for their Eggs Benedict and their house made baked goods! In addition to the Benedict and baked goods, I've had their house made granola and yogurt. Both are excellent! I'm a repeat offender, so, on my next trip to the Fat Hen, I'll try their Egg Bakes!

The place is small and popular. That means - be ready to wait. But it is worth the wait. Parties of 2 are the easiest to seat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0rindaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Small place, small menu, big smile”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Fat Hen is off the tourist path (but not terribly so if you are a little adventurous) but definitely worth the visit.

The small menu and space is offset by the really good food. It is obvious the kitchen uses it to it's advantage and produces high quality dishes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ak_f800st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Fat Hen Brunchtastic”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Fat Hen is a Ballard standouts serving some of the area’s best brunch plates. The charming rustic café can have an hour+ queue on the weekend, but the baked eggs and variety of eggs benedicts are very rewarding. Once seated, feel free to indulge a little bit more with a pastry or two. Come to the Fat Hen when you’re ready to relax, enjoy and Instagram that beautiful spread of food. It’ll be well worth it.

Pics http://www.foodhipster206.com/seattle-food/fat-hen-brunch/

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davenguyen206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful find hidden away in north Ballard”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I never knew these few businesses were even here. We stopped in for coffee and a piece of wonderful orange pound cake made with almond flour. Very intensely orange and not overly sweet, nice large slice as well. What a surprise. I returned for an excellent lunch of cassoulet and bread. Tasty, hot on a cold blustery day. I will have to try them for dinner. It's a small place, very casual, only a few tables, a counter, but they know how to cook.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Get a window seat”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Ballard is adorable, and the Fat Hen is no exception! I had one of the egg skillets with mozzarella and basil. To die for! It was recommended by a friend and he was totally right.

We waited about a half hour on a saturday morning for 3 people, but it was to be expected. The restaurant is on the smaller side, i wouldn't recommend bringing a large group.

There was a cute coffee/pastry shop across the street where we passed the time easily until we were seated! One of my favorite meals in Seattle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reneec156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Hen also viewed

 

Been to The Fat Hen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing