We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property & location with Attentive Staff”
Review of Hotel Ballard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ballard
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent property & location with Attentive Staff”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Hotel Ballard is one of those properties you hope to frequent on every trip. Okay, location is great (midst of Ballard). This places you in a 'target rich' area for shops, boutiques, cafes, coffee shops, restaurants...the list goes on. The property is attended to in just the right ways - clean, comfortable, pleasing to the eye. The Hotel Ballard being a hotel you just may want a good night's sleep. The answer? Beds & sheets are heavenly. Quiet? We stayed two nights and were there for a Friday night...and though there was lots of activity outside, the noise level was minimal. Before arrival I could not find information about parking but was pleasantly surprised to find a multi-story parking garage accessible by elevator from the lobby, with a pass provided for free parking. Best for last: the staff was friendly and attentive, offering a pleasant 'welcome back' every time we entered the lobby. And now a tour guide tip: the Chittenden Locks are nearby...take a walk to the park and visit the locks, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredAF08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Hotel Ballard, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello,

Great to hear that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay at Hotel Ballard! We are pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and attentive. We will share that feedback throughout the property.

The underground parking garage is something that we are excited to offer hotel guests and public parking for visitors. Parking in Ballard can be challenging, and we strive to make it easy and convenient. Unfortunately it is not free, but overnight parking is available to hotel guests for $15 per night and $1 per hour to visitors.

Thank you for the great review and excellent photos!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    48
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
125
12
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We live in Ballard and stayed here to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. The hotel was fantastic, starting with giving us their "Ballard resident discount" - what a nice surprise! Then when we returned to our room after dinner, we found a bottle champagne chilling for us. What a nicer surprise! I must have mentioned the anniversary when I made the reservation, but it would have just been in passing. How lovely they noted it and then delivered the complimentary champagne. We'll go back for our 16th anniversary :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacydrake007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Ballard Hotel is one of the finest boutique hotels I have experienced. The location is superb, close to great restaurants and shops, including the excellent Stoneburner in the same building. The hotel is immaculate, with a beautiful lobby and spacious, comfortable rooms. Guests receive complimentary privileges at the Olympic Health Club, a complete workout facility attached to the hotel. But the most distinguishing characteristic is the staff. They are friendly and extremely helpful with any travel needs or questions. Just an exceptional place to stay -- I'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We loved staying at the Hotel Ballard. Great restaurants you could walk to...Ballard public market on Sunday right outside the door. Everyone was more than helpful and friendly. We stayed in one of the Courtyard Suites and loved the outdoor space. Would be nice to have a small refrigerator in the suites and somewhere to put your glass of wine while you're enjoying that great soaking tub....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CricketSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here for our son's wedding and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations. The luxury suite is wonderfully spacious and comfortable, the bathroom is to die for, the location is superb (Scottish pub, best croissants ever nearby) and a farmers market on the street on Sunday.
Also, the Rooftop Pavilion is the most beautiful place to have an intimate (85 people) evening wedding (even the weather cooperated).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mother_in_law2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The posted reviews provide a pretty comprehensive description of this hotel, so that does makes it a bit of a challenge to add something new. Anyway, here's a try.

This hotel has been freshly re-done from top to bottom with the very best in materials, worksmanship, and furnishings. Anywhere you look, it seems new, not a scratch or a mark to be seen. Then there are the premium features. Walk-in showers are large and made to feel spacious with a glass door and a big glass panel. Most walls are wallpapered which is so well done that only if you get up very close you will see that it really is wall paper and where the individual sheets are butted. This is particularly impressive on the long walls of the halls where the appearance of length is broken up by the use of different print patterns. The paint job is first class, no visible brush marks and crisp edges at cut-ins. The doors are and feel substantial, the hardware is designer grade. At each elevator exit, a silk-screened hanging with a Norwegian flag and printed saying provides a nice reminder that Ballard was built mostly by the Norwegian immigrants.

Front desk staff are consistently bright and cheerful, offering a greeting and a smile whenever you near their vicinity. After a day or so, you get greeted by name. If you need anything more serious, Travis and Johanna who are the hotel manager and assistant manager are there to help.

The hotel is located right in middle of old Ballard that not all that long ago was a working center of trades, workshops, and warehouses. It has gentrified with time to become for the young a restaurant and night spot mecca that on weekends stays lively late into the night. Street noise and traffic are the downside, but, the upside is that some of the better dining spots of Seattle are all within easy walking distance. From our room which faced the street we could sense the street action below, but never to the extent as to become a problem. The underground garage might prove to be a bit of a challenge to some. It's definitely on the tight side as parking takes some of back and forth to get the car square in or out.

Next trip to Seatlle, this is where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYorkAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I used to live in Ballard and was shocked to discover such a luxurious, glorious hotel had just opened up. It's truly right in the heart of Ballard. Was so much fun to visit old stomping grounds without worrying about parking or driving home!! Decor was very modern, kind of vintage/50s/ modern. Room was super nice too. The only reason I gave it four stars was because the hotel overall was a bit stuffy, especially the room. The AC worked fine, but I think it had something to do with being so new at the time. And you can't exactly open the windows since it's so loud outside with all the bars. It's probably been fixed by now. The absolute BEST part of this hotel is the roof deck. So much space and killer views. A++ They were doing some construction on the roof deck at the time, so it would be interesting to see what they were building. One of the staff even brought us a bottle of wine up to the deck at no charge!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COMama36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,621 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,943 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ballard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ballard

Property: Hotel Ballard
Address: 5216 Ballard Ave NW, Seattle, WA 98107-4860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Ballard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ballard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ballard is the pinnacle of excellence among boutique hotels in North Seattle. Conveniently located in the heart of historic Ballard, we are the only boutique hotel in the Ballard, Fremont, Magnolia, and Wallingford neighborhoods. Whether you come for business or pleasure, Hotel Ballard’s 29 luxurious and elegantly appointed rooms offer all the comforts of home and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ballard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing