We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
The Happy House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Happy House
Living Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Happy House
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Room
Bedroom1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4 - available for $25 extra per night
Upstairs Bathroom with Tub/Shower
Upstairs Bathroom
Downstairs Bathroom Shower
Downstairs Bathroom Sink
Hot Tub
Yard and Garden
Buddha Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Seattle, Washington

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fairandsq...
Boston MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed with two young kids (18mo and 4yo) for 4 nights. We had a great time and were able to relax with family members who live nearby. The yard was delightful and fun for the kids especially. Lots of different plants and areas for the kids to explore. The rooms were fabulously clean and comfortable. The owner is very nice; upon our arrival we found chocolate and wine and relaxing music -- really nice touches. The kitchen was fully stocked and we enjoyed the hot tub. In terms of advice for families I would mention is that the home is full of beautiful things and we ended up putting some of them high up to keep them out of curious hands (in other words, if you have little ones expect to improvise some baby proofing). We put the items back before we left. Also, the house does not have A/C, but the rooms in the downstairs area stay fairly cool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The yard
Liked least: Some of the outlets were overloaded and that made me nervous about fire hazards
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay! And thanks for taking care of all the things that kids might get into! It has been a hot summer here in Seattle. It is rare to find air conditioning in homes here, but there are plenty of fans throughout to minimize the house heat. If our temperatures continue to climb in the summer, I will have to consider a better cooling system!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HutsonCla...
Aledo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful gardens,cozy home, relaxing vacation rental”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My family of 4 ( 2 teenagers) had a fabulous time in seattle!! This great house we stayed in was the icing on the cake, we dined outside every evening and I had coffee every morning on the cozy porch swing under beatiful I believe, hemlock tree.we enjoyed a ping pong tournament every night and then watched movies before bed,sleeping well since everyone had there own bed. We love happy house and will definitely try to return ,also our hostess was very accomodating, thanks Melissa for such a great visit to your beautiful city. The Hutsons

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C
Lubbock, TX
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Happy House set the mood and the expectations for the perfect vacation”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family was celebrating Christmas in July with our vacation ( rather than gift giving). there were five adults loving the peaceful ,beautiful place while enjoying the fabulous city of Seattle. Melissa took care of every detail and was available and was sending us ideas of things to do outside of the known tourist activities.
The house was very clean, well stocked, had comfortable beds, and peaceful. The garden flowers, the fountain and the outdoor lights created such an oasis.
The location was great, easy to get to the major streets but there was not any traffic noise. Loved Green Lake that was nearby...the small 9 hole golf course was a lot of fun. We sought out some local restaurants that were superb.
We will definitely return and will stay at " The Happy House"
Thank you, Melissa
Sharon & family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere it created
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TexasKitt...
Valley View, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Happy House=Love”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Pure vacation bliss! The kitchen is so inviting, it's actually FUN to prepare meals because it has everything you need (grill too). Media room is a real treat for teenagers and dads, An extremely versatile place because you can be together playing board games, ping pong, hot tub, etc... but completely alone if you desire in any of the small get-a-ways right there in the yard! The showers and beds are heavenly! The gardens are just beautiful, the artwork is amazing and there is something new and interesting around every turn and on every level, inside and out. Even though you are in the city, you feel as though you have all the privacy in the world and after a day of the city hustle and bustle, to come "home" to the "Happy House" is so relaxing (as a vacation should be)! You have to experience this place, believe me, Melissa has thought of EVERYTHING to make your stay perfect and memorable!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john n
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "Happy House was a happy experience.”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We came to Seattle to celebrate our daughters graduation from Seattle University. Our family, plus an aunt, uncle and grandma joined us there. Grandma who is 95 years old found the happy house quite easy to live in. The indoors and outdoors were exceptional and we felt very comfortable there very quickly. There is plenty of room for all and the house was well stocked with all the necessary supplies and utensils. Thank you Melissa for your flexible in dealing with our needs. We shall return

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the yard and gardens
Liked least: slanting floor in hallway to bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Texas
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: Nothing really but would suggest better lighting over dining table.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous art.
Liked least: no fireplace tools
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thanks so much for your review! It was wonderful having you as guests! It would be wonderful to have you back. So glad you enjoyed your stay and it's true, the gardens truly come alive in Spring and Summer. Some trees are already flowering, and I try to add new additions each year to make it an even more enjoyable urban oasis. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing