We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roman-esque”

Machiavelli Ristorante
Ranked #232 of 4,093 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Broadway / Capitol Hill
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Roman-esque”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very typically Roman Italian food. Really good pastas and outstanding Veal or chicken Milanese. Noisy bistro-style surroundings and good bar (though tiny). If you want really good trattoria food, this is the spot! But come prepared to have a cocktail (or two) and wait. No reservations and all of Seattle knows how great this spot is!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    56
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Recommended by a local, this place was open on a Monday which was perfect. Didn't have to wait too long having no reservation. Excellent menu choices; food was served quickly and hot. The dining room is very small and noisy and the entrance is narrow; the bar is the waiting area, but with no seats available we were constantly in someone's way. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridgetOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service was great”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

They have a different take on Italian food and it works. I had the eggplant (not fried). The service was great and the food tasted really fresh.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisjohnson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tasty food but loud”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant over Easter wkd while on a visit to seattle. We heard good things about it so decided to give it a try. Was very busy when we arrived at about 6pm. We were told 20-30 mins wait but actually got a table in about 15 mins. They really move people along. Not a place to linger over wine but rather chow down and on to the next place. Only caveat is all your party must be there for you to be seated. They won't seat you if you are waiting on one person -probably to get people in and out faster. The place is small but has a good energy. Because it is full to the brim with people it is VERY loud and people are squeezed in all around you. Only negative was that it was Hard to hear the people at your table. If you don't like a noisy restaurant or you need space/privacy when you dine, this isn't the place for you. We ordered Caesar salad, gnocchi and spaghetti bolognese. Everything was really tasty and service was fast! Gnocchi is home made and melt in your mouth. Price is good as well. They serve just the right amount, as far as portion size. Same size you'd get in Italy. Refreshing to not feel bloated and sick when you leave but rather "just the right amount" full. Would recommend to a friend and would go back again if in the mood for Italian.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cantravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We are touring in Seattle. Went Monday night for dinner. Food was good, fast, and the place was full for a Monday. My husband and I enjoyed it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yetty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Machiavelli Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Machiavelli Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing