We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Zoe

Restaurant Zoe
Ranked #607 of 4,059 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 14 Ave
Transit: Bus #2
Description: Recognized as one of The 10 Very Best Restaurants of 2005 by Seattle Magazine and one of the top five for new American cuisine by the 2008 Zagat Survey, Restaurant Zoe is a favorite destination for locals and visitors alike. Located on the corner of 14th and Union St on Capitol Hill, Restaurant Zoe's lively urban setting provides the backdrop for Chef Scott Staple's seasonally crafted, produce-driven fare.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

It's a cute spot for dinner. Four of us shared a number of items family style. Each selection from the cheese plate and steak tartare to the burger and dessert was yummy. The wine list was a bit pricey...not a lot of reasonably priced options. It was a delightful September evening in Seattle, and patio dining was completely booked. Indoor seating was plentiful and really HOT. Probably not a common problem at Zoe, but sure was warm the night we dined.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caligal831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    50
    20
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington, United States
1 review
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lovely night, perfect food, spot on wine pairing. We will be back and will definitely recommend it to friends!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classy and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have had dinner twice at the new location just off Madison on Capital Hill; once during Restaurant Week and again last weekend. Zoe is nestled among a cluster of new Seattle eateries and the new spot is less formal that 2nd Ave and now has two eating areas and bar in a restful setting. The service is friendly and helpful. Last weekend, we had a variety of plates including a nice duck confit, grilled polenta main dish (I will order this next time!), great steak tartare, and a Painted Hills burger, frites -- all great. I thought the price points would very affordable for a fine restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lawyer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No go for Zoe.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We are world travelers, live in both Seattle and Puerto Vallarta. After hearing raves about Zoe, we took guests there. First off, crazy noisy. Second, expensive for the portions for most items. We were there at 7:30 pm and our guest who was celebrating her birthday ordered beet salad and the small plate of mussels and clams. Oh sorry, the waiter comes back to tell us the restaurant ran out of the mussels. That's what she really wanted. But she settled for just clams. A small plate it was. Two others preferred the signature hamburger. This was a generous entre. They liked the burger, but the fries were over-cooked. Kind of hard and crunchy. I had a nice duck breast, cooked perfectly, but on a bed of turnips. It was an odd combination. I can think of so many things that would compliment the duck better. I probably won't return as there are so many other restaurants in our Pike-Pine neighborhood. Too bad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vallartabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Everything was delicious. We had the roasted chickpeas (tasty and plenty for four to share) and the foie gras (wow!!) for starters. I had the mussels and clams, which were excellent, and my husband had the duck of the day, which was a confit; My one bite was amazingly good. The interior space with the high ceiling and view into the kitchen was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Zoe also viewed

 
Seattle, WA
 

Been to Restaurant Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing