We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast with kids ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastal Kitchen

Coastal Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Coastal Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #290 of 4,062 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast with kids ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Not bad. Good service and good food. We all enjoyed our meals but there weren't anything overly amazing. The kids were happy.

Helpful?
Thank PerkinsPartyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    102
    35
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Just Missing Something......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My Japanese wife really wanted to eat fish tonight, so we decided on the Coastal Kitchen after reading the reviews. Although the establishment's name lends it to be a seafood place, it has one salmon dish, one grilled or pan fried fish dish and one fish & chips dish, along with oysters and come clams dishes. They were pushing pork spare ribs and Brazilian Dishes. So we had the Neah Bay Blackcod pan fried fish on shaved zuccinni and greens. The fish portion was very small (4 oz.) and the zuccinni and greens were cooked in quite salty water which were underneath the fish. It was a little too salty for our taste. Presentation looks like a hurried housewife dished the food on the plate and the wine selection was minimum. For two with a 1/2 liter of wine, we paid around $75.00 which to us was a little on the high side. We sat in the back on the patio which was nice with a cool breeze flowing over us in 75F temps. The staff was friendly, professional and left us along for our conversation. Only if they had more fish selection and better taste & presentation. That was missing......

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn-P-Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Coastal kitchen was recommended by our hotelier for fresh seafood on Capitol hill and it was disappointing. We were in town during copper river salmon season so we were excited to see that offered on the menu and reasonably priced under $30. But it was a dry piece of fish barely 4x4 inches, very salty, on a bed of also dry lentils that was flavorless. I've had copper river salmon many times in the past, including preparing it myself, and it is always amazing, but this was so far from it I wonder if it was truly from copper river. The few strands of pea sprouts were also tough. the 3 ingredients just didn't work together. My husband had the cobb salad, which he liked since it had his favorites blue cheese and bacon, but the other ingredients were standard lettuce, tomatoes, avocado. Nothing special about this place and I wouldn't go back since there are so many other choices in Seattle.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank homesteaderonvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm setting - great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Coastal Kitchen in Capitol Hill part of Seattle, was featuring the coast of Corsica for the month of April. We had the featured Corsican specials and all were delicious; baked trout, polenta and harcort vert as well as bean soup (yummy broth), Ahi tuna with spicy aoli sauce, and fresh oysters. The waitress was attentive and knowledgeable suggesting the perfect wine. We observed many local diners who stopped in for a mid week dinner. Very warm setting with multiple levels and booths allowing for a quieter and more intimate dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Cod fish and chips in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were staying in a B & B within walking distance of this excellent neighborhood restaurant. I had the cod fish/chips....and the fish was the best I have ever eaten, bar none. That really surprised me.

My wife had a fish platter and also reported excellence.

Topped off with an "Old Bushmill, with a splash", and my entire meal was just super. No room for desert, however.

ps Old Bushmill is an Irish Whiskey...and a "splash" is just a few sprinkles of water, so as not to drown the outstanding booze...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnandlinda19178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Coastal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing