We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”
Review of Perche'No

Perche'No
Ranked #1,611 of 4,131 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: US$25 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Romantic
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Perche No as in Why not... and that truly i would say ! why not have chinese chefs from malaysia cook italian food, why not have food by non italian cooks give a run for their money.. and Why not just go try this place after reading this :)

We tried this place on a yelp deal to just celebrate being together.. and boy we were impressed. A little about the place we got to know and the people behind it.. Lily and David moved from their country to san francisco and destiny landed David trying out a cooking job at an italian joint. They never looked back. I'm sure the papa, mama,nana, uncle tony, uncle pedro, uncle paul etc there have taught him to cook as in every italian household. And the staircase walls pay homage to that.

You enter the place to the warmth of a home and the wonderful smiles of lily and david. They truly kept it italian and have tried to get as much of that little country as they could to seattle. They even have outdoor seating... with the sun out you can have a glimpse of a piazza :)

The kicker is they have a malaysian nite on one monday a month and we cant wait to try that either....!! The most memorable thing was matt's sweet gesture ...we told him about how i collect wine bottle corks and want to have a nice back drop to my cabinet using that. and voila !!! he got me a box of corks to help speed the process. He plans to make a raft like piece and he gave me a big piece of it !!

Anyways if you choose to go .. a little about the food.. good size portions !! so go hungry :) They understand being vegetarian so can help customize.They have their own cured meat too.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank png_travelalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    0
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Snoqualmie
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true family restaurant dedicated to making you one of their own.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have been going to Perche No since they opened about 22 years ago. The were at the foot of Queen Ann Avenue, but now have a lovely restaurant near Greenlake. In the beginning, they were always delightful, food was good, and the live music was a treat. After all of these years, and annual trips to Italy to study Italian style cooking with their entire family, they have become well schooled in all aspects of Italian Cuisine and, like I said, making you one of their own. I don't know of any restauranteurs that work harder than Lily, David, and their sons, Christopher and Daniel. I would give this restaurant a 6 star rating if I could!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“great time, good food at a great price”
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We went to Perche No for lunch after seeing an ad in the Seattle magazine. The owner/chef and his family were there and are wonderful people. The food was very good and very reasonable. We had a salad, an appetizer, veal chop, pasta, desert, and a bottle of wine for less than $100.00. We took our time and had a great lunch. When I go back to Seattle I will definately be making reservation for this restaurant!

Helpful?
2 Thank 2lilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Nice atmosphere. But the food is NO BEUNO!”
Reviewed 6 December 2007

Nice atmosphere. But the food is NO BEUNO!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Great Evening!”
Reviewed 21 January 2006

We went to Perche'No based on reviews and had such a fun evening. They sent a van to Hotel Monaco for us and the van driver turned out to be the piano player. Everyone there seems to have been around for years and they all pitch in.
Not only is the the best Italian restaurant in Seattle but the owners, Lilly, the manager and her husband the chef really make you feel at home! It feels like a neighborhood restaurant in an Italian neighborhood in NYC and Lilly and her husband are Chinese! The food is superb and every chef's suggestion (there were many) was out of this world.
Prices are very reasonable, great value.
We spotted actor Tom Skerritt in the other dining room and Lilly arranged a photo. Great guy, lives in Seattle and is a regular at Perche'No.
Don't miss this place!!

Helpful?
2 Thank CCBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perche'No also viewed

 

Been to Perche'No? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing