We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and cozy”
Review of Phoenecia at Alki

Phoenecia at Alki
Ranked #873 of 4,098 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: US$20 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: West Seattle
Seattle
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Intimate and cozy”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

This little jewel on the beach is a great place to go when you want a new experience. A small, family owned spot where the menu changes so frequently that they write it on a chalkboard. Great small plates and delectable pizzas. Get there early or wait for a table. It IS well worth the wait!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LavenderSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very tasty pizza and small plates!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Dined for the first time at Phoenicia Monday night and I am sad that I have never been there before. The food was really good and the service was friendly and personal. Other reviewers have commented on the small dining room and close-together tables. Yes, it's less roomy than some but I didn't find it to be a problem. We sat by the window and enjoyed a beautiful Alki sunset. Our table of 4 enjoyed the mixed greens salad and the Kale salad that was on the special board. Both were delicious. We also sampled the 39 flavor beef, yum! and the seared scallops small plate...definitely should not miss that one...One couple shared the sausage pizza with mama lil's peppers...mmmmm. And the other had the Margarita pizza. I am from Jersey so usually like thin crust east coast style pizza but this crust was very flavorful and melted in your mouth...this Jersey Girl gives it a thumbs up! The specials on the board looked really tasty and the wines by the glass were delicious. Please note that they offer beer and wine only!
We also tried the baklava which was just the right portion and fantastic. Highly recommend trying Pheonicia. We will be back again soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joycegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansville
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Chip Off The Old Block”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I fondly remember Hussein Khazaal who started the Phonecia at Alki many years. Before that he ran a restaurant of the same name on Queen Ann Hill, where I regularly took out of town business guests for dinner. His clay pot chicken and lamb dishes (he often drove to Ellensburg to hand select his lamb) were to die for.

Sadly, Hussein passed away a couple of years ago and now his family carries on the tradition, albeit differently. I will let others tell about the quality of the food and wine, as I have nothing to disagree with the positive reviews. What is most gratifying to me was to see his daughters, grown women, now, working the restaurant with the same, gentle kindness that their father used to have. The last time I saw them, they were little girls.

The food is delightful and the service friendly and warm. You won't be disappointed at Phoenicia.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HansvilleHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Flavor!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

A cozy atmosphere, gracious hosts, and terrific beach-front location are matched by the obvious love of bountiful flavours that are the key to their elegantly conceived and prepared fare. Pan roasted salmon on a bed of zaatar (from the owner's garden), balsamic braised lamb shank, fiery prawns, thin slice pizza, a warm plate of green olives, kale salad, chocolate creme brûlée - the menu is varied but concise. Prices range from very modest to special treat level. Wine offerings are varied but not overwhelming. Even the adventure that is parking near the Beach location is well worth the effort.

    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRossP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
269 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
“Good food, with charm”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is a tiny restaurant, but an absolute gem. The food is lovingly prepared and uses fresh, local, organic, sustainable ingredients. The flavors are spectacular and the wine pairings perfect. The owner takes loving pride in the food. The restaurant feels more like you are eating in someone's home. This my new favorite restaurant!. It's located in the West Seattle neighborhood and while it's just a few minutes from downtown it's a beach area . Parking is a challenge. Nice ambiance just a few steps from the water. Nice for a sunset dinner. The seafood here is incredible. I had the garlic shrimp dish with the 39 spice beef. Lots of garlic and spices and simply loaded with huge shrimp. The 39 spice beef was an amazing dish. We also love the fact that the food was not over salted. which I find almost everywhere these days and instead use wonderful fresh spices to bring out the flavors. We had the pizza and I didnt find that all that special but people seem to like the pizza here. Our waiteress really gave us great service. There is outdoor dining in the front but only a few tables. The main dining room is small but cozy. it's just really a cozy ,yummy place. Recommend reservations. It's not a very big place and people tend to linger over dinner here. I highly recommend this restaurant. I hope it does not stray from excellence. Hope you enjoy!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank F5993GMericd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phoenecia at Alki also viewed

 

Been to Phoenecia at Alki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing