We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm now spoiled to B&B's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenlake Guest House
Ranked #1 of 27 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Greenlake Guest House for the first several days of our honeymoon. It was the first Bed and Breakfast experience for both of us. I am now completely spoiled.
Blayne and Julie were great hosts. The breakfasts were incredible. My only concern was that my husband would expect me to be able to duplicate those meals. :o)
The room was comfortable and clean. Even in the heat, they kept us cool with a portable A/C. The spa tub was my favorite part. They have a great DVD collection in case you want to spend some time in. There was a mini-fridge that the guests could utilize. This was convenient for storing leftovers from our picnic at Mt. Rainier.
The lake was beautiful as well as extremely relaxing. It was a nice change of pace after the wedding. Paddle boats, swimming holes, jogging trails, people watching. There was lots to do there.
We were able to meet and chat with several new people around the breakfast table. Some were from the area and some were from places as far away as Holland.
We felt at home enough to come and go as we pleased. Whether we were just hanging out in our room, sitting in the sun room, going on a day trip, or going out for a nice dinner, we were comfortable with coming back at different hours.
Blayne and Julie were both very helpful in giving us directions to and from where we needed to go and making suggestions as to what local places and events we might be interested in. The local restaurants were great.
Overall, we had a GREAT time. I would definitely recommend Greenlake Guesthouse to anyone looking for a great, friendly, personal place to stay. If we are ever back in the Seattle area, we know exactly who to call.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BJ-and-JAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

488 - 494 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2007

Greenlake Guest House is in a very lovely part of Seattle, and the property itself is an older home that has been brought up to the highest standard. In addition, the breakfasts are great, the folks are very helpful and friendly, and the housekeeping is excellent. It is on a busy street, so the 2 front rooms could be noisy but are not. The owners have provided ceiling fans and in-room air conditioners which provide enough comfort and white noise to make the traffic noises disappear. We really enjoyed our stay and will stay there again the next time we go to Seattle.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank Gardener37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed six nights at the Greenlake Guest House on our first trip to Seattle. We found the accomodations to be extremely comfortable, the bathroom luxurious, and the breakfasts fantastic. The guest house is located a little north of the city center, right across the street from a beautiful lake (Green Lake) and park. Travel to and from the Sea-Tac airport was very easy. Our hosts, Blayne and Julie, were extremely helpful in suggesting activities and advising us on how to get where we wanted to go. There is a computer with internet connection for guest use, which was very useful in checking reservations and finding directions. All the rooms have a television and DVD player, and there is a wonderful collection of DVDs of movies that won or were nominated for oscars available for guest use free. Every afternoon freshly baked cookies appeared in the living room with coffee and tea, a wonderful welcome on returning after a day's excursions. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank J_and_B_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

I can't say enough about this wonderful B&B. First off, the location is terrific - right across from a beautiful lake and park which is perfect for people who want a lovely stroll or to people watch. It's also within easy walking distance of restaurants and watering holes, but still in a residential neighborhood.

Our hosts were gracious and welcoming on our arrival, directing us to the freshly baked cookies, magazines, and computer for guest use in the common guest living room. They were happy to spend some time giving us suggestions on places to eat and things to see. The common area is also stocked with a binder packed full of restaurant menus and sightseeing information.

The rooms are spotless and comfortable, and like the common areas retain the period charm of the house. Each guest room has a TV and DVD player. It was the thoughtful touches that really impressed me: a DVD and book library (including local guide books), a fridge stocked with water and complimentary soft drinks for guests, and even ear plugs on the bedside table.

Breakfast was hearty and delicious - fresh juice, coffee or tea, fruit salad, followed by a hot entree.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank FairviewVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Greenlake - the room was comfortable, with all the advertised amenities... the DVD selection is amazing... terrific location (residential neighbourhood near lake, restaurants)... lovely property and, above all, terrific hosts - knowledgeable and provided most gracious hospitality. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ed-Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We stayed at the Greenlake Guest House as our honeymoon. They were very accommodating to us, as we arrived there directly after the reception. My husband picked up the keys prior to the wedding, and then we arrived at midnight.

We stayed in the Parkview room. The room was quite lovely and very romantic. The large and comfy bed had the sheer draping over it. There was a sitting area that was perfect for us to put all of our stuff (including my dress). The room had air-conditioning, which was very nice since it had been a warm day. The bathroom was the best part. The shower had a GREAT head, a fantastic water heater, and good pressure. Then the tub was very nice as well since it was a 2 person jetted tub.

My husband purchased their 'spa' set and the room was equipped with bath bubbles and fizzies in a very nice pack when we got there. The pack also came with a bath pillow. My husband also treated me to the cheese and fruit plate the next day (I LOVE cheese). It was a very large platter with beautiful fruit and great cheeses. Very tasty and a great mid-afternoon snack.

The breakfasts were very good. She was very good at altering the breakfasts to accommodate our dietary restrictions. She had a selection of juices, coffee, and tea available out as well. Each of the breakfasts I had there were served in 2 courses -- starting with a fruit plate or fruit parfait then the warm breakfast being served after.

The location of the guest house was great. It was a short walk to the paddle boating rental. There are also many good restaurants in the area. They have a book available for you to browse things-to-do including local restaurants in the area. It is organized by which way you should walk (right or left), so it's geared to help you explore the beautiful area. We had lunch one direction and dinner another. Good food all around.

We had a very nice experience at the Greenlake Guest House. We have already recommended it to our friends, and would definitely go back for a weekend of relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rachel143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We've stayed at the Greenlake Guest House twice. it's a renovated Craftsman Bungalow right on Green Lake in Seattle (close to the zoo). You'll need a car to go in to downtown or you can take a bus. But if you like being out a ways and in a quiet neighborhood, this one is great. Blaine and Julie, the owners, are gracious and friendly, and they serve amazing breakfasts (and have a very sweet beagle, too, who likes to sleep in front of the fire). We stayed in the smallest room- the only one available, and it was very comfy. The bathroom is a bit small, but the shower is wonderful! They have maps and menus to many local places and will lend you an umbrella if you've forgotten that Seattle rains. Prices are competitive and certainly worth the expense. We love it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank steenychu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,743 reviews
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Broadway / Capitol Hill
Gaslight Inn
Gaslight Inn
#7 of 27 in Seattle
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlake Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlake Guest House

Address: 7630 E Green Lake Dr N, Seattle, WA 98103-4911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: £99 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our 1920 Craftsman style Bed and Breakfast. Located across the street from Green Lake Park, in one of Seattle's most beloved neighborhoods. Enjoy a morning jog around the lake before breakfast, or simply enjoy the beautiful lake view. Walk to many nearby shops and restaurants. Downtown Seattle and the famous Pike Place Market are just a 10 minutes away. You may choose from 5 well appointed rooms, many with lake views, gas fireplace, or jetted tubs. Complimentary wine hour Monday-Friday and daily fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenlake Guest House Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing