We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic gelato!”
Review of Bottega Italiana

Bottega Italiana
Ranked #27 of 136 Dessert in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic gelato!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I had never had gelato before and boy was I missing out! It was so light and refreshing! I had the raspberry. I loved it so much that the next night I went back and had a delicious chocolate. The server girls were super friendly and smiley. Great prices too. A small 2 scoop cup cost <$4. Great way to end an evening while walking around the market.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    16
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Gelato!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is an easy review to write. We had a hankering for ice cream and found this little place right down the street from our hotel (stayed at the Inn at the Market). We tried the Pistacchio, Vanilla, Strawberry, and Banana. Delicious! Take note, they are not open really late - at least on Sunday evening. We tried for a second visit but they were closing up.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike2131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty....mmmmm”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The gelato is light and very good. I really liked the strawberry and basil. Light and refreshing. Wife had nutella and vanilla.

Helpful?
1 Thank 282TimB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Gelato”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Bottega has some of the best gelato I have had in the USA. It compares easily with the best gelati I have had in Italy - We tried several flavors and all of them were excellent. Plus I love a place that makes real smooth gelato - instead of calling something gelato when it is really just a light ice cream. This place makes the real stuff!

Try the pistachio as it is one of the flavors that is hard to make perfect. I think I have tried it in every gelato place that offers it.

We really loved the pear as well, but the peach, watermelon, and coffee were also good. We tried other gelato while in town, but they tended to be sweeter and less intense than the gelato here. I like to taste the flavor, not just extra sugar.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cruzmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, MD
Level Contributor
221 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Best Gelato - made fresh daily”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Definitely worth a stop for the light, flavorful Gelato made in small batches daily. Opera is a blend of nuts including pine nuts and hazelnuts. Mint tastes like a real mint plant - refreshing and surprising. I got a small with a scoop of each. Pistachio was good. Fruit and chocolate flavors as well. They also have a variety of coffees and chairs to sit and relax and people watch.

Helpful?
Thank GodLovesYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bottega Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing