We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“byebye trolly”
Review of Waterfront Streetcar - CLOSED

Waterfront Streetcar
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“byebye trolly”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The trolly has been abandoned forever. The tracks are still there to rust away, tripping the lost cruise passengers looking for their boat. All in the name of progress or something.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Waterfront Streetcar”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

It is not being operated in Seattle now. When it operated it took people to the Seattle waterfront to dine at the seafood restauants, and visit the shops there. It is from Melbourne Australia brought to Seattle by George Benson a pharmacist/City Council member . It was a great tourist attracyion, and a wonderful alternative to the 99 bus being used now to get to the Waterfront.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrotter10079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Seattle killed transit in every decade of the 20th Century. They are keeping up the pattern in the 21st”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Former Seattle City Councilmember George Benson, a smart and dedicated public servant, spent years working to get trolley cars. They were installed along the waterfront in the mid-80s and carried millions of people every year. Many, including me, would drive from parts North or East and park near the northern terminus at Pier 70, then take the trolley several miles south to the Kingdome to attend Mariners' or Seahawks games. Later, when I moved to the city, I would frequently hop on to travel from Pioneer Square to meet someone for lunch or dinner on the waterfront. Or from the then-named Denny Regrade (yuppified to "Belltown") to the International District for shopping and dining.

Alas. The 2004-05 City Council and Mayor Greg Nickels decided to "temporarily" suspend the Seattle Trolley so that the Seattle Art Museum could take over the land under the maintenence barn to construct its (magnificent, BTW) sculpture park. The City Council and the Mayor promised, no -- PROMISED -- that this was just a temporary action and that the Trolley would resume operations quickly.

It's been more than seven years. The stations have been torn out. The rails are being torn out. There is talk of selling the venerable and much-loved historic trolley cars. But a city that saved both Pioneer Square and the Pike Place Market from developers has simply rolled over. Whether it is weariness of long-simmering transportation feuds or dismay about the economy, the fact remains that once again, Seattle has lost or killed a viable transportation option.

Our smug and self-congratulatory nature belies our ignorance and pattern of horrible public policy decisions. For a region that spawned everything from Amazon to Boeing to coffee, all the way through to Zymogenetics, we really can't get it right when it comes to respect for history and the need for non-car mobility.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank FeistyBrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAPE CORAL, FL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“TROLLY RIDES”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I loved the streetcar. I was with 2 other friends and we were just going to take the streetcar two stops up the hill to our hotel. After we got on we decided to ride it thru the city and learn some history. I am glad we did and we got to see lots of things that we, otherwise, woudl not have seen. We are not big walkers so the ride on the streetcar was very funa nd nostalgic. There is absolutely nothing like it in out part of the country, so, it was a fun day to spend riding. Love the clang clang clang of the bell.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TRAVELDEB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterfront Streetcar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing