We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved everything about El Gaucho”
Review of Inn at El Gaucho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at El Gaucho
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I cannot say enough about El Gaucho. You will read reviews about no elevator and that you have to take your luggage up stairs. Not so, we got to El Gaucho too early for check in, however, we went up to the front desk and they took our keys to park our car and get our luggage out and keep until we could check in. The location is fantastic, only a few blocks from the waterfront. When we finally checked in our luggage was in our room and we were walked to our room by the front desk. The personal service was amazing. Our bed was super comfortable! There was a comfy sofa and chair with a big screen TV. I will stay here every time!

Room Tip: Room was very quaint, make sure to ask for a quiet room (interior)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaytread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

Location is walking distance to Pikes Market, the Needle and just a couple of blocks from the Dock where the boat for Victoria left - early. The Manager and staff were very helpful before we arrived on the phone and during our stay. Complimentary brewed coffee & cookies were an added plus. Our room was a nice size, bed comfortable, bathroom adequate and clean. We did get some noise at night from the bars in the area on Saturday night but not horrible. It was a trade off from having a slight ocean view and being on the street side. There is no elevator but the one flight of stairs to get to the hotel is no big deal.
Yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I found the staff were not all there - there was no one at the reception desk upon arrival. The room was very dusty and the bathroom was a joke- really a corner standup shower in a hotel? It is loud at night as this area is comprised of cafes and bars.
The location is the only thing good about this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raydolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My wife and I were looking to stay in Belltown so that we'd be walking distance from our daughter - and ended up at the Inn for 4 nights.
First: know that all of the rooms are on the second floor of the two-story building. You can request rooms with a view or interior rooms opening to the small courtyard. As there are only 17 rooms to choose from, I'd recommend discussing your options when you call to make reservations. My daughter suggested an interior room to avoid street noise and indeed, the room was silent.
The door to the hotel stairs is almost unmarked - which gives you the sense that you're staying at a "secret" location. There is a large flight of stairs to get up to the common area and registration. The room we had was the size of a standard studio apartment, and decorated in what the hotel termed "50s retro" which apparently matches the restaurant below - however we never entered the restaurant so I can't weigh in on that. The room had brown and orange tones - my wife didn't like the color scheme - but was otherwise comfortable. The bed was too soft unfortunately -
In the end, it was a great location for us (easy walk to Pike's market, Seattle Center, Belltown attractions/shopping) but is expensive for what you get. As an alternative to a large chain, it works nicely. There are only one or two people working at any given time so there is more of a sense of personal attention and I suppose the expense is in part to fund that "premium" service. After doing a lot of exploration in Belltown, this is probably the best hotel in that area. It was VERY quiet for an urban spot and located very close to a number of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Hi Everyone, I hate writing bad reviews! But I have to share our experience at El Goucho. Imagine this, I am 6 months pregnant and thinking this may be one of the last shopping trips to the states from Vancouver, BC for awhile. We thought we would get all the baby clothes we needed for our soon to be arriving daughter. The sales were great! I highly recommend shopping in the US for kiddie clothes!

My partner (who prefers the title husband :)), was driving and I was navigating. I was like 'oh no, this may be an adventure' when I first saw El Gaucho. It doesn't quite look like a hotel. We pulled up, no one was around to valet our car or greet us. That meant no help with our bags too. And no elevator! So a rather steep flight of stairs (not particularly great for pregnant bodies)!

My partner made the several trips up and down. We got upstairs to a dimly lit reception area. The actual reception desk was off to the side so again could not see anyone but heard someone having a full on phone conversation about her previous evening and things like 'I can't believe what he said...' etc. Not the best welcome. Finally upstairs, we waited for her to notice us but didn't so we started talking to each other, she clued in and got off the phone. No apology. I asked if someone could valet our car. 'the person who does that doesn't start work until 6 pm so you have to do it on your own'. No apology. We got into our dimly lit room by way of a very dimly lit hallway. It was 4 pm and it felt like it was in the middle of the night. The colours were weird and I could see some sense of retro chic wannabe style going on but it was under done. The room was fine. Nothing to write to anyone about! The best thing was the bed. The lighting again was dim. The bathroom was tiny. The air conditioning too loud. We decided to change and head put for the evening. We came back to a more receptive front desk clerk but the ambience never got better. We stayed 2 nights and never saw another guest until we were checking out. One day, our key stopped working and we had lugged all of our shopping up the stairs and were exhausted! I left my partner with the bags and reported the issue to the front desk clerk, he said to try again after putting it through the machine. It didn't work again. I headed back again and he came to check it out this time. The front desk is on the same floor as the rooms. Given the lack of activity, it would have been nice to have him deal with it the first time, especially since he said this happens from time to time. On our departure, there were 2 clerks, our car was retrieved, and we were sent off with smiles and pleasant thank yous. I don't think either of us would opt to stay here again. It was fine, easy to get to Nordatrom Rack in downtown Seattle and places to eat, and also just enjoy downtown Seattle but there are better options. Our baby girl has been out growing her clothes quickly - so it was totally worth the shopping trip!

The good points: it was clean, the bed was cozy and clean, the walk to the restaurants and shopping was easy. The not so great: the service, the odd ambience and the eery feeling about being the only guests was a bit like checking into a haunted hotel!

If your stuck with limited options, consider El Goucho but if you have options, go elsewhere! It is nice to be greeted and welcomed, it is nice to have the option of valet, to have help with bags, to have an elevator, to have little touches that indicate that our choice to stay there was valued.

Have fun in Seattle!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The other recent reviews are spot on. There seems to be no reasonably priced quality lodging in Seattle during this time of year, so this Inn was a delightful find. We were here for three nights and had an interior room looking onto the tiny "courtyard". Friendly staff, iced water flavored with fresh fruit or cukes in the lobby, spacious room with upscale amenities. The restaurant smell and the onsite movie theatre with its gourmet popcorn drives you to salivation. The only downsides are a slightly cramped Office Closet, towels not changed consistently, easy parking and those stairs. The ever-present orange color scheme created a warm, dark ambience. As our front desk person cheerily put it "We don't have a fitness center, we have the stairs!"

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Not your standard issue hotel or inn. Located above a pricey but intriguing restaurant, your first surprise will be the challenging stairs that greet you and your luggage just inside the front door (no elevator). Though the hallways upstairs are reminiscent of those strange corridors in the movie "Barton Fink" ( a must-see), your room will have all the comforts of a cozy studio apartment. In our room, only one side of the bed was favored with a night table and we happened to share an exterior wall with a rumbling restaurant exhaust duct, but these minor annoyances are surely not reason enough to withhold a positive overall review. The neighborhood is great, with many opportunities for breakfast, people-watching, shopping, or just plain strolling.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmsarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#20 of 103 in Seattle
512 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 103 in Seattle
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#48 of 103 in Seattle
1,068 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at El Gaucho

Address: 2505 First Avenue, Seattle, WA 98102
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £132 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at El Gaucho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle's Luxury Urban Inn.Step back in time, to an era of uncompromising service and total indulgence. With its "retro-swank" fifties décor, the Inn at El Gaucho will give you the kind of responsive attention and personal pampering that only a 17-suite, exclusive Inn can provide.Located in Seattle's ultra-hip Belltown district, the Inn is minutes away from landmarks such as the Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. Whether you're a visitor to the city or a local spending a night on the town, the Inn at El Gaucho will serve up a memorable stay you'll cherish forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At El Gaucho Hotel Seattle
Hotel At El Gaucho
At El Gaucho Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing