We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different Hotel Experience”
Review of Inn at El Gaucho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at El Gaucho
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Different Hotel Experience”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The Inn at El Gaucho is a different experience. It's located at Wall Street & 1st, which is about 6 blocks from the subway (3 blocks west and 6 or more blocks north). We took the subway from SEA-PAC airport and found out that many people don't even buy tickets to get on the subway. But, there were inforcement officers who did come on and check a few people. Well it's cheap. Seattle is really on a HONOR SYSTEM.. So, El Gaucho.. It's subtle.. not too far from things.. very close to the Space Needle. and the Pike Market. IT'S PERFECT. Only a few rooms which require walking up stairs.. they do have an elevator for luggage.. so perhaps if you are handicap they could let you go up the elevator, but not sure about that. It's a hotel that's just far enough away to be in the best spot you could figure. The room was fine and bed very luxurious..They have a fine "insider" crowd that caters to their upscale nightclub atmosphere.. Somewhat expensive.. ordered a very generous tasty filet migon and salad and crab app.. $113.. but was great..You must go to the breakfast place CJ's.. just two blocks to the left (away from downtown).. IT IS THE BEST.. PROS: Great room CONS: Expensive Food PROBLEMS ENCOUNTERED: They didn't have our reservation--it was put in Wrong.. Advice: Call the hotel to confirm your booking with them.. They have to have someone re-enter information that is faxed to them.. and they can have mistakes.. call a day or two after you make booking.com to ensure they have the right information

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericpinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    101
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
35
221
38
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SPRINGFIELD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend a few years ago and loved it. Tons of character, comfortable room with plenty of space, outstanding location. We walked or biked everywhere, and the hotel staff were so accomodating, letting us stash our bikes in their storage room. For us, this inn set the standard for hip, urban boutique hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WriteToColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Slightly overpriced boutique hotel in Belltown. Lots of stairs (and no guest elevator) which were not an issue for me as I need as much exercise as I can get since I'm a lawyer. I can see how the stairs might be a major turn-off to others.
Great location for Hempfest: inexpensive alternative to the way overpriced Edgewater, without the crowds and nonstop ruckus, yet close enough to go back to the room to freshen up.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank travelcounsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I came here on an Urban Getaway package. What a great time. Rose petals on the bed, champagne on ice, dinner at the steak house downstairs. We had such a lovely stay. And the service was exceptional! Joni and Sharon answered every question and printed directions to everywhere we wanted to go! I highly recommend this place to anyone going to Seattle. It's right in the middle of the city, walking distance to the market and the Space Needle! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for an atrium room or a sound view room if you can afford an upgrade. The rooms facing 1st Ave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerExtrodenair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The Inn at El Gaucho exceeded our expectations on a number of levels.

First, though small, the quality of the accommodations were above average for the price. A leather sofa and chair were by the flat screen TV, and the bed was very nice. The staff was very nice, and like good boutique hotels, they had little things that set them apart from chain hotels.

Second, if you're OK with walking, the Inn is within walking distance of Pike Place Market, Seattle Center, and the up and coming Belltown neighborhood (where the Inn is located).

The Belltown neighborhood has a number of up and coming places to eat and shop, so if you're OK with stepping outside of the usual routine of chain hotels and chain restaurants, the Inn at El Gaucho would be a good choice on a future visit to Seattle.

Room Tip: Room 11 has a small view of the ocean, but does look directly on the condo building next door. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coastal_ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent 6 nights the El Gaucho Inn over the July 4 week. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We really appreciated the leather sofa and chair, it was great to have a place to sit and relax at the end of the day. The free Starbucks coffee in the lobby was good every morning, they even had decaf and tea for the folks who don't want high test.
Every evening there was ice water with lemon slices or ice tea in the lobby with a bowl of fruit. The staff was courteous, especially the valets who parked and retrieved our car for us.

The location in Belltown is really convenient. We walked to Pike Place market, the Space Needle, and to lots of resturants. Although the El Gaucho doesn't have an elevator, they did bring our bags up to the second floor on a freight elevator so we didn't have to carry them ourselves up the stars.

The only amenity we would have liked was a balcony, or some place to sit on a deck. The hotel is only a few blocks from the water and a roof top deck or something would have been great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscrdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We chose Inn at El Gaucho because we wanted to stay near downtown but avoid some of the larger hotels. The location is great because of its walking distance to downtown attractions. It is a smaller "boutique" hotel so the rooms are fairly small and a bit dark for our taste. As mentioned there is a set of stairs to climb to get to the hotel but that wasn't an issues. We also did not experience noise issues mentioned by few other reviewers. The big problem we had was that when we arrived at the hotel they didn't have rooms with two queen beds. I specifically did not book online and called by phone their booking agent in order to ensure I get such room. They assured me I will get it. Once there such room wasn't available and we paid extra for an additional person. When I asked them to remedy the situation by giving me an additional room they were not willing to do it. They also stated that they experience this issue all the time. I told them that they should bring it up with their booking agent or stop using that booking agent but they said that they cannot survive without the booking agent (Expedia.com and Hotels.com). Anyway, very poor service overall. One additional problem we experienced is the smell of the kitchen below (not a good food smell but just smell of a commercial kitchen).

Room Tip: Pick a room facing a street (not a courtyard) as it might be a bit lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#58 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#19 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at El Gaucho

Property: Inn at El Gaucho
Address: 2505 1st Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1302
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at El Gaucho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle's Luxury Urban Inn.Step back in time, to an era of uncompromising service and total indulgence. With its "retro-swank" fifties décor, the Inn at El Gaucho will give you the kind of responsive attention and personal pampering that only a 17-suite, exclusive Inn can provide.Located in Seattle's ultra-hip Belltown district, the Inn is minutes away from landmarks such as the Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. Whether you're a visitor to the city or a local spending a night on the town, the Inn at El Gaucho will serve up a memorable stay you'll cherish forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Inn at El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At El Gaucho Hotel Seattle
Hotel At El Gaucho
At El Gaucho Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing