We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small hotel”
Review of Inn at El Gaucho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at El Gaucho
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at el Gaucho, located directly above the popular Argentinian restaurant of the same name.
The hotel is older, with large suite like rooms. The rooms are very comfortable, as is the bedding. There is an evening wine reception in the lobby, which was enjoyable.
The staff was friendly, and went out of their way to offer suggestions for good neighborhood bakeries and diners for breakfast, of which there are several good ones.
The real only drawback is the lack of a passenger elevator, meaning you will climb about 34 steps to enter the hotel. Some might find this an obstacle.
The Belltown neighborhood is definitely up and coming, with lots of construction ongoing. There is no shortage of great restaurants within walking distance. You are also only a few blocks walk to the waterfront, the Space Needle or downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbqbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    101
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
35
221
38
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Inn at El Gaucho during a road trip along parts of the West Coast and despite a few issues enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and personable but lacked the professionalism of a larger hotel. I like less formal interaction so that didn't bother me though.

When arriving at the hotel parking was an issue but the valet allowed us to leave our vehicle in the drop off location while we checked-in. Once checked-in getting our bags into the hotel was challenging. The hotel is on the second floor and there's no elevator. As we were on a long road trip we had a tonne of gear to haul up as we didn't want to leave valuables in the car and it was awkward.

We were put in room 19 which I would recommend against. It's at the front of the hotel which gives a view of the street but also the noise that comes with it. Even worse though is that it's right next to the front desk and lobby and you hear everything. They must have a closet or something in the front desk area and we could hear the door opening and closing. I think they should remove that door. You can hear everything in the lobby and when the door is open there's a clear view into the room from the lobby. I can live with all that but during our stay we had an additional problem with the air conditioner. It worked fine but would randomly make a strange noise that would jolt us out of sleep. It wasn't consistent so you'd lay there and wait for it to happen again and it wouldn't and just as you were about to fall asleep the noise would return. It was torture. We thought about unplugging the air conditioner but the fan in the room wouldn't turn on. By 3am we couldn't take it anymore and complained to the front desk and they were able to put us in another room. Unfortunately the air conditioner in that room did the same thing but at least the fan in the room worked so we unplugged the a/c and got what sleep we could. The next day the hotel did bring in an air conditioner repair guy and the problem was absent the next night.

The hotel is not in a new building which could contribute to the mechanical problems and noise issues but I liked the ambiance. To me, it felt like an old movie theatre or something.

We elected to use the valet service for our vehicle during our stay as it seemed like the best option. The hotel could probably have used at least one extra person on staff though as getting our vehicle back meant the guy behind the desk had to run and get it from somewhere. We also weren't able to ask for it early and leave it out front for a few minutes while we lugged all our stuff back down the stairs to the car.

There's a restaurant downstairs which looked good and seems to get good reviews but appeared to be insanely overpriced. There are lots of other good options that are only a short walk away though.

The beds were both comfortable but like so many other hotels they don't use fitted sheets on the bed. I know why they don't but I find it annoying to wake up with the bottom sheet no longer covering the mattress. Each room had a Keurig with a variety of options which I prefer over the small coffee makers.

Aside the from the lack of sleep our first night we enjoyed the hotel and liked its location. I'm not sure if we'd return or try something new the next time we're in Seattle but I think it's a good option. If it hadn't been for that sleepless first night I would have given a 4 and if it hadn't been for the friendliness of the staff I would have given it a 2.

Room Tip: Room 19 is off the lobby and very noisy. Interior rooms only look into an extremely small courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiscad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests about their experience with us, as it only helps us to improve. We are sorry that you had trouble with the noise, from both the lobby and the air conditioner. Guest comfort is of utmost importance and while we're glad we could accommodate you in a different room that evening, we want all of our guests to have a good night's rest. The AC's have been working overtime in Seattle this summer and we try to stay on top of the maintenance as best we can. We have also started scheduling another person in the morning to help with valet and baggage.

We know you have many hotel options when traveling, and we certainly appreciate you choosing us on your recent visit. We hope to serve you again the next time your travels bring you to Seattle.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I can't say enough good this about this place. Normally I am the type of person who opts to stay at a chain hotel but since my wife and I were attending a private party across the street from the Inn at El Gaucho, I decided to book a Saturday night there mainly for proximity reasons. Am I ever glad I did. This small hotel on the second floor above the El Gaucho restaurant is a hidden gem in my mind. The staff was very friendly, the room immaculate and nicely furnished, but it were the personal touches that won me over. Examples are a hand written, personalized letter in out room at check-in thanking use for choosing them and freshly baked cookies (made that very same morning) for us to nibble on placed in the room. The beds was extremely comfortable and despite facing the street from our room ( room number 1) it was very quiet. The price is certainly competitive with other downtown Seattle places and you won't regret staying some place different. Be sure to visit the restaurant downstairs. Unfortunately we didn't have time for dinner but we popped in for a drink at the bar and had a nice chat with the bartender. Great specialty drinks as well by the way!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Inn at El Gaucho! We know you have many options of places to stay while traveling, and we appreciate that you chose us while in Seattle. We are glad to hear that everything was to your liking and satisfaction, and that you appreciate the personalized service and amenities we offer as a boutique hotel. We hope to see you again next time your travels bring you to Seattle.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Downtown Seattle hotels are very expensive in the summer - usually higher even than New York. We found this place mostly trying to find something more reasonable, but were pleasantly surprised in every aspect. Belltown is a great area for a couple of nights downtown, and this hotel is super convenient. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are big, bright and comfortable, and overall this was a great stay. I would stay here any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrrast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Hi rrrast,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Inn at El Gaucho! We always appreciate hearing from our guests, as feedback like yours always helps us improve. We're glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with the location, service and amenities. We certainly hope the next time you're traveling to Seattle we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was our second trip to Seattle and decided to try out a local "boutique" hotel a la Inn at El Gaucho and loved the stay. Our room (16) was quiet and the interior was spacious with Bose Wave music system, flat screen, small couch and easy chair. In room coffee service was tucked away inside a double door closet that also included a desk. Free wifi was also included. There was unlimited coffee/tea service available in the upstair lobby and wine tasting every night at 5 pm.

While the hotel does not have an onsite spa/gym..enjoyed the guest privileges at the Seattle Athletic Club (a short walk from the hotel). Really enjoyed the Belltown location-and as "walkers" welcomed the morning jaunt to Pikes Place for breakfast. Staff was also helpful with directing us to other local restaurants in the Belltown area. Persons who have difficulty with stairs or have mobility issues may want to consider another hotel. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2travelVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear lv2travelVirginia,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at the Inn at El Gaucho! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, services and amenities we offer. We realize you have many choices when traveling and we appreciate that you chose us. Thank you for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to see you again next time you visit Seattle.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you have an early departure on Victoria Clipper, this is good choice. It's a 10 minute walk to ferry and you can leave your car in a nearby garage for $10/day with Clipper receipt. The décor is 1940s with movie stars of the day gracing the walls. While it's above a restaurant, I didn't notice any kitchen smells. The room was quite comfortable and close to the major sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFRMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Interesting hotel, it's above El Gaucho restaurant, so you need to take the stairs up, no elevator. The location is good, around Belltown with lots of bars and restaurants, and an easy walk to the Port Authority. We chose this hotel so we could walk the next morning to take the Victoria Clipper to San Juan Islands. The price was average, room was large with a nice flat screen, leather couches and comfty bed, but the AC unit was beyond obnoxious. It was very loud and had a constant hum. The bathroom was OK, wasn't a fan of the shower stall. Overall it worked, and the service was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#55 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#18 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at El Gaucho

Property: Inn at El Gaucho
Address: 2505 1st Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1302
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at El Gaucho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle's Luxury Urban Inn.Step back in time, to an era of uncompromising service and total indulgence. With its "retro-swank" fifties décor, the Inn at El Gaucho will give you the kind of responsive attention and personal pampering that only a 17-suite, exclusive Inn can provide.Located in Seattle's ultra-hip Belltown district, the Inn is minutes away from landmarks such as the Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. Whether you're a visitor to the city or a local spending a night on the town, the Inn at El Gaucho will serve up a memorable stay you'll cherish forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Inn at El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At El Gaucho Hotel Seattle
Hotel At El Gaucho
At El Gaucho Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing