We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting small hotel, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at El Gaucho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at El Gaucho
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting small hotel, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just completed our stay at the Inn. Pros - the staff was really tops. Our check in was pleasant and smooth, we were assisted in choosing a restaurant and making dinner reservations and everyone we encountered was just very pleasant.

But, the room was not up to the $700+ we paid for a 2 night stay. Nowhere close unfortunately. We were in room 5 which is literally the 2nd floor corner of 1st and Wall Street. The room is a bit noisy. We also found hair on the bathroom floor and walls of the shower and the toilet paper holder was loose and about to come off the wall. It was fairly large, which was nice, and the bed was comfortable. But sleep quality just is probably not achievable in that location.

We do like smaller inns, but candidly, at $300+/night, we would not book at this one again in the future. Still, thanks to the staff for a really great effort.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    101
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
35
213
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed there twice now and both excellent experiences. Staff was very friendly, easy check-in, and received a hand written note from the front desk and cookies in our room. Loved the evening wine tasting, and Keurig coffee maker in the room and in the lobby. Slightly out of the busyness of the city but still walking distance from just about everything downtown. We also went to a movie in the theater below and that was also fun. We are making this "our place" and will definitely stay there in the future!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haylie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Other than tottering up 2 flights of stairs with your cases we really
Iiked this small intimate hotel.
Thoughtfully presented , good facilities and comfy beds
Ideal location for down town and very nice staff
I would def stay again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lib572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your 5-star review and feedback for the Inn at El Gaucho! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that our boutique inn offers, including the location, spacious and luxurious rooms, and service. We are working on updates to the building, which will include adding an elevator for our guests, and that should be complete in 2016. Come back and check it out!

We know you have many choices of places to stay while traveling, and we appreciate your patronage.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Checking in was fast and we had fresh baked cookies waiting for us in the room! This is a great location with street parking, and they provide valet parking, though we parked on the street for free (after 8pm). Our room was quiet, clean, spacious, with a large leather couch/ seating area, and it had the most comfortable pillows we've ever used! In the evenings they have a complimentary wine tasting in their lobby from 5-7. It was really nice sitting by their fire and drinking wine before heading out for the night. We enjoyed a fantastic dinner downstairs in the El Gaucho Restaurant, with scallops, filet mignon, brussel sprouts, and bananas foster made table side!
We visited the Boeing factory which we highly recommend to everyone. Seeing Boeing jets being built really opens your eyes to how incredible air travel really is. We had a knowledgeable and friendly tour guide who made it very fun. The Inn is located within walking distance of the Space Needle and the Chihuly glass museum which is also really impressive. The Inn at El Gaucho is now our go to place when visiting Seattle now!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert21victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Had a "Daddy-Daughter" spring break excursion to Seattle. Raven, John, Kendall and David made our stay very enjoyable. Our Jr Suite was reasonably-priced, nicely-sized, the bed was comfortable and fresh cookies were a nice touch. Belltown location is very convenient -walking distance to Seattle Center and Pikes Market. A block from Macrina Bakery and Local360 restaurant (both recommended). We walked belltown as late as 10pm and didn't find it sketchy (as some had warned).

We'd originally tried to get a room next door at the Ace Hotel, but they were full. We were very happy with El Gaucho as our fallback and will stay there again next time we're in Seattle

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback and 5-star review of the Inn at El Gaucho! We are so glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your recent stay for Spring Break, and enjoyed the location, staff and amenities our boutique inn has to offer. We know that you have many choices to stay when traveling, and we thank you for choosing us! We hope to have the opportunity to see you again next time your travels bring you to Seattle.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Not only is the location awesome and the hotel itself unique and comfy, but the staff really rocked. In particular, Kendall, Raven, and another guy (blanking on his name but I think John) were super friendly and helpful. They made sure my stay was relaxing, well-stocked, and fun. The free wine every evening in the lobby was excellent as well. I am definitely going back to this place when I hit up Seattle again this year.

Room Tip: The ones facing the Atrium have no view but I think for that reason are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, UT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed in room #10- a junior suite. Queen bed with living area. Clerestory windows facing north. and north window that looks out onto a small courtyard. Bathroom has no tub - typical for hotels of this vintage. Mattress is new and nice. Liked the down duvet but could do without the mascara stains. Valet parking upwards of thirty, but we didn't have trouble finding after hours street parking. Staff member is pleasant and solicitous. We got chocolate chip cookies as gratis welcome gift - yum. Cool decor. Walking distance to pikes and great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0binski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed amenities our small boutique inn offers, including valet, fresh-baked cookies, and staff. We are sorry to hear about the make-up stains, but we can assure you that the bedding and linens are completely washed and changed out every time. We will be careful to look for those in the future. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the decor and location as well.

We hope the next time your travels bring you to Seattle, we will have the opportunity to host you again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#56 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#52 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#18 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at El Gaucho

Property: Inn at El Gaucho
Address: 2505 1st Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1302
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at El Gaucho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle's Luxury Urban Inn.Step back in time, to an era of uncompromising service and total indulgence. With its "retro-swank" fifties décor, the Inn at El Gaucho will give you the kind of responsive attention and personal pampering that only a 17-suite, exclusive Inn can provide.Located in Seattle's ultra-hip Belltown district, the Inn is minutes away from landmarks such as the Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. Whether you're a visitor to the city or a local spending a night on the town, the Inn at El Gaucho will serve up a memorable stay you'll cherish forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At El Gaucho Hotel Seattle
Hotel At El Gaucho
At El Gaucho Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing