We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferry Convenience”
Review of Inn at El Gaucho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at El Gaucho
Ranked #24 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank dancinggoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Inn at El Gaucho
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Love this hotel and can't wait to go back!!! My boyfriend and I stay in Seattle at least once a month and we have stayed in probably 20 different hotels in the downtown area. The Inn at El Gaucho is now our favorite. The only disappointment is that we didn't discover it sooner!! When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly valet attendant who offered to help us with our luggage (we only had one small suitcase so we declined). We took the stairs up to the second floor (the restaurant is on the first) and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, who checked us in an actually walked us to our room to show us where it was and make sure the keys worked. Unheard of! This was the first nice touch. Second, my name was written on the envelope that the keys came in and there was also a greeting card addressed to me in the room, welcoming us to the hotel. Such a nice personal touch that made us feel special and it was much appreciated. Also, when we arrived to our room the radio was already on, playing some nice jazz music and there were 2 chocolate chip cookies waiting for us! YUM! Oh, and I forgot to mention free wine tasting (2 reds and 2 whites) in the lobby from 5-7. Awesome!!! I'm not sure if they do this every night or if we just got lucky. Our room was a junior suite (I think) and it was large, very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The next morning the receptionist was equally as friendly and helpful. We went out to the lobby to sit and have a cup of coffee and wait for our friends, who were also staying there as well, but had gotten up earlier and walked down to the market. He asked us a couple of times if he could get anything for us. He also offered to get our car pulled around to the front, but we declined since we were going to do some walking around downtown Seattle. When we did go to get our car we were blocked in by a big delivery truck for their restaurant...We called the front desk and someone came down immediately to move the truck and he apologized like 10 times. This hotel is an outstanding example of wonderful customer service and shows that they care about their guests. We can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hi Melissa,

Thank you so much for your feedback and 5-star review of the Inn at El Gaucho! We always appreciate hearing from our guests, and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of the amenities we offer, including the personalized service, freshly-baked chocolate chip cookies, "wine hour," and location. We know you have many choices when traveling, and we're so glad you found us.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations next time your travels bring you to Seattle.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent 2 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All the expected amenities & comforts (including many pillows, huge towels, very decent (pod) coffee & tea, stocked mini-bar, complimentary wine 5-6, etc. Our room (#1) had a comfy chair w/ottoman & a comfy loveseat. Also a closet desk & a real closet (small, adequate for 2 only for a short stay, 1 for a longer visit). Small but decent bathroom (HOT water & good showerhead!). Good blinds & curtains, and pretty darn quiet.

All staff were friendly & helpful.

The hotel is up a flight of stairs, staff will help w/luggage of course. Valet parking available.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heynah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just completed our stay at the Inn. Pros - the staff was really tops. Our check in was pleasant and smooth, we were assisted in choosing a restaurant and making dinner reservations and everyone we encountered was just very pleasant.

But, the room was not up to the $700+ we paid for a 2 night stay. Nowhere close unfortunately. We were in room 5 which is literally the 2nd floor corner of 1st and Wall Street. The room is a bit noisy. We also found hair on the bathroom floor and walls of the shower and the toilet paper holder was loose and about to come off the wall. It was fairly large, which was nice, and the bed was comfortable. But sleep quality just is probably not achievable in that location.

We do like smaller inns, but candidly, at $300+/night, we would not book at this one again in the future. Still, thanks to the staff for a really great effort.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank FORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed there twice now and both excellent experiences. Staff was very friendly, easy check-in, and received a hand written note from the front desk and cookies in our room. Loved the evening wine tasting, and Keurig coffee maker in the room and in the lobby. Slightly out of the busyness of the city but still walking distance from just about everything downtown. We also went to a movie in the theater below and that was also fun. We are making this "our place" and will definitely stay there in the future!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haylie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Other than tottering up 2 flights of stairs with your cases we really
Iiked this small intimate hotel.
Thoughtfully presented , good facilities and comfy beds
Ideal location for down town and very nice staff
I would def stay again!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lib572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for your 5-star review and feedback for the Inn at El Gaucho! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that our boutique inn offers, including the location, spacious and luxurious rooms, and service. We are working on updates to the building, which will include adding an elevator for our guests, and that should be complete in 2016. Come back and check it out!

We know you have many choices of places to stay while traveling, and we appreciate your patronage.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Checking in was fast and we had fresh baked cookies waiting for us in the room! This is a great location with street parking, and they provide valet parking, though we parked on the street for free (after 8pm). Our room was quiet, clean, spacious, with a large leather couch/ seating area, and it had the most comfortable pillows we've ever used! In the evenings they have a complimentary wine tasting in their lobby from 5-7. It was really nice sitting by their fire and drinking wine before heading out for the night. We enjoyed a fantastic dinner downstairs in the El Gaucho Restaurant, with scallops, filet mignon, brussel sprouts, and bananas foster made table side!
We visited the Boeing factory which we highly recommend to everyone. Seeing Boeing jets being built really opens your eyes to how incredible air travel really is. We had a knowledgeable and friendly tour guide who made it very fun. The Inn is located within walking distance of the Space Needle and the Chihuly glass museum which is also really impressive. The Inn at El Gaucho is now our go to place when visiting Seattle now!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locean242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#21 of 102 in Seattle
483 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 102 in Seattle
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#51 of 102 in Seattle
1,053 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at El Gaucho

Address: 2505 1st Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1302
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £132 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at El Gaucho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle's Luxury Urban Inn.Step back in time, to an era of uncompromising service and total indulgence. With its "retro-swank" fifties décor, the Inn at El Gaucho will give you the kind of responsive attention and personal pampering that only a 17-suite, exclusive Inn can provide.Located in Seattle's ultra-hip Belltown district, the Inn is minutes away from landmarks such as the Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. Whether you're a visitor to the city or a local spending a night on the town, the Inn at El Gaucho will serve up a memorable stay you'll cherish forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At El Gaucho Hotel Seattle
Hotel At El Gaucho
At El Gaucho Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing