We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer to desserts-it's all good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bottle

Black Bottle
Ranked #314 of 4,059 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Belltown
Barceloneta, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beer to desserts-it's all good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We had squid or calamari and the presentation was far above the typical plate of tentacles in most restaurants. The batter was uncommonly light and the squid was fresh and tender.
I had the olive and leak flat bread which was perfect, and so rich with flavor. Then we tried a cocao nib mousse and chocolate gnocchi with a pistachio brittle. I think that tops my desert list forever. There is a full bar, an extensive array of wine, and for us there were several good beers.
Service was excellent, and e decor contemporary. If more restaurants were like this I wouldn't have to write so many bad reviews!!! Highly reccommend.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ladyfish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    75
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“they need new management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

very bad service and management there very sloppy to me seem like the worker had little to much to drink...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wells802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Relaxed Eclectic Light Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Black Bottle was recommended by a friend who swears by their "blasted broccoli." As it turned out, the "blasted broccoli" was as good as advertised. The rest of the menu, primarily small plates i.e. tapas offered a very tasty offering of eclectic foods in a hip store front setting in the hip 1st Avenue area of Seattle. A great place to go for tapas light dinner or supper with wine and beer early or late.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I love tapas and this place has a wide range of different types of food so it's perfect to be able to order small plates. If you don't like, not a big deal but you get to experience new flavors. My only problem is the size of the restaurant and the location of the door to the bar (especially in the winter). But otherwise - great ambience and food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place but poor service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We decided to go to this restaurant with a friend who was visiting because of the good reviews and the recommendations from two friends but we were very disappointed. First, the service was terrible, our waitress was in a bad mood and she was wearing a tank top, shorts and flip flops. Everything counts, one thing is to look informal and friendly, it’s a whole different story to look like you just got came back from the beach. She was not friendly at all and I felt that she wanted us to leave the table as soon as possible.
The food we had was mediocre. We ordered an “octopus” salad but we couldn’t even see the octopus since the pieces were tiny. We also had the samosas, which tasted like the ones you buy at the supermarket, and the grilled Portobello, which tasted very similar to the salad, it had a lot of vinegar and it was not very creative/ inspiring. Even the presentation of the food was completely amateurish, it looked like dinner cooked at home in a hurry.
It’s a shame the food and the service were so mediocre because the place itself is in a very nice location and the decoration is simple but modern and hip. I wouldn’t go back or recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrizio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bottle also viewed

 

Been to Black Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing