We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Hats off to Doubletree for re-creating the splendor of a by-gone era, and completing the package with superb service and dining. The re-casting of the building as a hotel is pulled off with aplomb. The room was magnificent - turn of the last century style but with all the modern conveniences. It was so nice I longed to just sit and soak in the atmosphere, but alas, work beckoned. I also thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant, Juno. Entrees, appetizers, and drinks were all fresh and superb, making the most of local ingredients. I found the prices to be very reasonable too. All staff were lovely - front desk, doormen, wait staff. I can't wait to go back. Oh, and it's in the middle of everything - you can walk everywhere. Great job, Arctic Club!

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you better views, and will reduce street noise - however, even on the fourth...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pb650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,640)
There are newer reviews for The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

This was a great choice in the Seattle area. I had trouble deciding from all the choices, but was glad I selected The Arctic Club. The rooms were interestingly furnished in a "men's club" sort of way--travel-themed, dark wood, cozy, 1920s-30s decor. Room service was prompt and the food was good. The counter staff were helpful as were the employees who got us cabs and opened doors. They work very hard! The bar was closed on July 4, but this was no problem for us, as that was our departure day. The restaurant was pricey, but frankly, we didn't use it much, preferring to find neighborhood eateries. The only thing is that the area is close to the courts and offices, not to stores or attractions (which are still within walking distance, but a hike), and the area buttons down at night, so it feels a bit isolated. Nonetheless, I recommend this hotel highly for adults and families with older children.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Arctic Club was a gentlemen's club (not THAT kind!) until the 1970's, formed by men who explored and did business in Alaska and the Yukon. Their signed photographs are all over the hotel, in the lobby, the halls and in the rooms.


Someone did a fine job of making this into a great hotel.The building itself has an early 20th Century feel, both outside and inside, and the bar area is a great place to sit and relax any time of the day. There's a beautiful skylit ballroom on the third floor (which apparently regularly hosts weddings on the weekends, which make the bar off limits for a portion of that evening.)


It's at 3rd Avenue and Cherry Street, situated between Pioneer Square and Downtown, and a short walk to either, as well as to the waterfront. Being on 3rd Avenue, so it's in the middle of those hills that run north south through the city, so you never have to walk up or down the entire hillside once you decide which way you are going that day.


There's a transit tunnel station (buses and light rail) half a block away, which gets you easy access to the Seattle Center/Space Needle, the football and baseball stadiums and even to and from the airport. Surface buses and trolleys also run up and down 3rd Avenue, and until September, they are free during daytime hours.


The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and all of there recommendations were on target, whether for food, attractions, ttransport, whatever. The hotel restaurant, open for breakfast lunch and dinner served great breakfasts, although we did not stay around for other meals.


Our corner room was averge sized, and a loveseat and easy chair made it seem a bit cramped, but the bathroom was large and spacious. An HD TV sat on top of the dresser, and could be rotated towards the bed or the seats. Room service was fine, except for one day when they didn't get to our room, and we returned for a late afternoon rest to an unmade bed. Otherwise, the service was fine.


There is a desk with two computers in the back of the bar area for guest use, and of course there's WiFi, although it seemed a bit slow. I never saw anybody using the small fitness center, but with all those hills, one can get enough of a workout just walking around town.


This was part of our on-going major league baseball stadium tour, but I'd come back to Seattle anytime, and I'd most certainly stay here again.


Some Negatives:

First, there are a lot of homeless people in Seattle. Maybe it's the climate, maybe the availability of social services, whatever, it just seemd like there were lot of homeless all over the city. We never really felt unsafe, but it was disconcerting to see.

Second, there's a great big empty lot across Cherry Street, and there were indications that some construction may be starting up soon. If that's the case, it's going to be noisy and dirty for a period while whatever is being built goes up.

Also, as I stated above the free transit fares are supposedly disappearing in the fall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajfsurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at out hotel. I was pleased to learn that overall you had a very enjoyable experience. I am happy to say that our fitness center is currently undergoing a renovation that should be completed within the next two weeks that will improve this area greatly. In addition, we are currently in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi bandwidth and you should see great improvement there as well in the near future.

Jeff Gouge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The name might suggest some gathering of walruses or polar bears and indeed one feature of this historic and recently refurbished building are the terracotta walrus heads that are on the third floor of the external façade. You can also buy a toy walrus from the gift shop or, if you are lucky, there might be one in the minibar. The building itself was built in 1916 for the Club (which sadly is no more, having been dissolved in 1971) which was established in 1908 as a social community for Seattle businessmen with ties to Alaska, former residents of Alaska and adventurers, miners and wealthy eccentrics who returned to Seattle and brought with them the riches of the Arctic. And no, I don't mean fish, I mean gold from the Yukon.

One feature of the building / hotel is the Dome Room ballroom, which is apparently the largest facility of its type in the Northwest. I did have the chance to have a quick look as it was being prepared to host a wedding - it's a beautiful room ideal for that sort of thing. Make sure you do as well. The bar area is also worth a picture or two but when it is quieter - it gets pretty busy of an evening.

BTW, Doubletree have a nice way of greeting you (although maybe not so if you suffer from a particular allergy or diabetes, perhaps) - they give you a warm, chocolate cookie on arrival (not good if you are gluten or nut intolerant but I am neither). One point of difference which I thought was great - a fully stocked desk stationery drawer - it is true, their loss rate for these items would be very high but I thought it was great.

Access to the hotel is simple from the light rail station at Pioneer Square - it is literally a few metres from the escalator access to Third Street. While it is a good walk to get to Pike Place Market / Westlake from the hotel, buses are plentiful from a stop more or less right outside the hotel.

Rooms are decorated 'of the period' so if you are expecting a modern look, you won't find it here - I liked it. It added to the atmosphere and the charm of the property and would happily come back when next in Seattle.

Room Tip: Book on the Doubletree website.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TITraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I would give it a 5 star, but the front desk staff was rude to us. So, I give it 4. The hotel and the room is very nice!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straussfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. I apologize for the issue you encountered with our front desk team and will follow up with them to rectify any future issues.

Warm Regards,

Jeff Gouge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This a great place to stay when in downtown Seattle. The hotel is very clean and spacious. Great location in the financial district and only a 5 to 10 minute walk to stadiums or the waterfront. Will stay there anytime I am staying downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel is located just steps from Pioneer Square, and an easy walk to Pike Market and SoDo (Mariner's and Seahawks). It's an old building with modern, comfortable rooms. Great beds, HD TV's with a lot of channels, and many rooms have jacuzzi's in the bathroom. The bathroom in my hotel room was one of the largest hotel bathrooms I have ever been in. The hotel restaurant is a little different than typical hotel restaurants. It's really an adjacent stand-alone restaurant/bar on the ground floor with side door for hotel guests to enter. It's not fancy, but definitely a bit nicer and more reasonable than most hotel restaurants.

All in all, a comfortable stay,

Room Tip: Ask for a jacuzzi room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitch7600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 102 in Seattle
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 700 3rd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-1894
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#23 Business Hotel in Seattle
#24 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £148 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in the heart of the downtown Seattle financial district is a landmark Seattle hotel, rich in history and beautifully restored to provide the best in contemporary Doubletree hospitality. We have received the AAA 4-Diamond Award three consecutive years. Our modern luxury hotel is conveniently located just off of I-5, only three blocks from Pioneer Square, close to Seattle's International District, CenturyLink Field (home to the Seahawks and Sounders) and Safeco Field. Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA) is only 30 minutes south by car. Enjoy free daytime bus transportation to dozens of downtown Seattle attractions, like vibrant Pike Place Market and the Puget Sound waterfront. From the distinctive third-floor walrus heads overlooking the street, to the fine Alaskan marble foyer, to the magnificent Northern Lights Dome Room with its enchanting Rococo gilt and leaded stained glass ceiling, The Arctic Club Hotel in Seattle offers a unique hotel experience harkening back to the post-Klondike gold rush days of the early 1900s. Our tastefully-appointed hotel features modern conveniences suited to the savvy business traveler, as well as a central Seattle location and amenities to please leisure guests. Stylish guest rooms, suites, and executive accommodations boast a long list of guest amenities, flat panel HDTVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams beds, and wireless high-speed internet access. Some rooms feature jetted tubs and outdoor terraces. Other hotel amenities include: •Remote printing capabilities •Wireless HSIA in public areas throughout the hotel •A Precor®-equipped Fitness Center •In-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Arctic Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing