We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and historic, the Arctic Club is something special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #26 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Classic and historic, the Arctic Club is something special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

Restored to its early 20th Century glory with a fabulous renovation in 2008, the Arctic Club Doubletree is unique, elegant and well-located. Immediately across the street is a mass transit tunnel that provides rail access to Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, as well as a free service area for buses in central Seattle. The famous Pike Place Market is within walking distance or you can grab a bus and ride a couple of stops for even easier access. The immediate area provides plenty of choices for dining and a plethora of coffee shops in the most caffeinated city anywhere. Pioneer Square and the waterfront are within easy reach, too.

As for the hotel itself, we especially enjoyed the historic charm and comfortable beds. Rooms are nicely finished and furnished with nice touches like in room coffee using a French press coffeemaker. We've seen some renovations in which the only thing left of the building was something on the order of a paved-over shell, but the Arctic Club celebrates its history throughout -- from historic photographs of its former members on the keycards to careful refinishing and preservation of its finest attributes. The result is 21st Century comfort with an ambiance that keeps the property's past vibrant and alive. We loved it and we think you will, too.

Give the Juno dining room a try and particularly the happy hour food offerings at half price. It's a funky menu the celebrates the Pacific Northwest, but you're sure to find something you like. The bar off the lobby is open later and it's a classy atmosphere that harkens back to the hotel's roots as a social club for men who made it their money in the days of the Klondike gold rush.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Standby4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgouge, General Manager at The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2010
Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful comments on the memorable experience you had staying at the Doubletree Arctic Club Hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Jeff Gouge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    420
    114
    35
    27
See reviews for
220
689
95
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

I really liked the Doubletree Arctic Club. I always enjoy staying in hotels that have an interesting history. This hotel has information in the lobby that tells all about when it was a private club during the gold rush. Check out the ballroom it has a beautiful stained glass dome.

The room I had was a corner room that was extremely comfortable and had a whirlpool tub. The furniture was attractive and I thought the french press coffee pot was a really nice touch. The location is not particulary wonderful and parking is a pain but I am glad I decided to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillah19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

We just got back from 4 nights here for a work/pleasure trip. This place has a really cool history - built in early 1900's as an exclusive men's club (photos of the members adorn the walls) and renovated in 2008 into a AAA 4-diamond hotel.
The staff was all very helpful and friendly. It is literally 1/2 block from the light rail station (exit Pioneer Square station on the 3rd Ave/James St) and you can take the rail from the airport to the hotel (about 30 minute ride.) We were welcomed very warmly upon arriving and had a fun, impromptu history lesson on the way to the elevator given by one of the front desk staff.
The room (we had a standard king room) was decorated very nicely, yet uniquely. You could tell the decorator really cared about the history of the hotel when he/she appointed the rooms. Our bathroom was HUGE for a Doubletree. And, it had a cool door. Bed was very comfortable, nice flat screen TV, minibar, etc...the room was nicer than any Doubletree or Hilton I've ever stayed in before.
Hotel was very convenient to a lot of cool places - Pike Place Market (5 min.) Light Rail (.5 block) good restaurants (all around) coffee shops (all around) bars/late nite options (2 blocks) etc...

All in all - it was great and we would highly recommend it! It did help that work was paying for it (rate was $155/nite) but it was reasonable, and definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klingja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Very nice hotel with lots of character. The rooms are very nice and the staff was great. Hotel is a bit pricey and parking is valet only. Good location in downtown Seattle. I recommend for business trips and couples.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotalDisneyFreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

I arrived early, the reception staff found me a handicapped room (ask for one -- the design and size are wonderful). The hotel is well located to everything in downtown Seattle, including a short walk to Qwest and Safeco Fields. The hotel is offering a great happy hour set of specials and a discount on dining at the Juno restaurant, on the property. The Juno menu is delicious. My room was spacious and very well appointed. Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea with a french press and tea infuser in the room! A really great stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkristick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

The Doubletree Arctic Club is conveniently situated on 3rd Avenue and the corner of Cherry St in downtown Seattle. It is very easy to find if you have taken a bus to Pioneer Sq, it's one block away and less than a minute to get to the hotel. If you are travelling from the airport, the 194 bus will take you downtown directly and the fare is $2, you must also have the exact amount.

When I arrived at the hotel before 2pm, my room was not ready, this was not a problem for me, as a first time visitor, it gave me the opportunity to drop my bags off and explore the downtown area quite easily. The check-in staff were very pleasant and offered me a nice warm cookie before I set off on my way and offered to call me to notify me that my room was ready and I was able to check in. The concierge team were also very helpful in ensuring that I had a good time in Seattle by offering me a map and suggestions for things to do in the city in such a short space of time. I had to leave the city early in the morning and the hotel promptly gave me a wake-up call and offered me a car to drive me to the airport at 5am, this was at a cost of $40.

The room I was allocated was of an adequate size bearing in mind that I was a solo traveller, if travelling with another person, I would imagine that the room would feel smaller than most hotels. The bathroom had an old world charm about it with wallpaper on the walls and a classic cosy feel. I was on a higher floor, however, it was still possible to hear the street noise which was a little off putting at times but it didn't spoil my stay.
I did not use the lobby lounge but it had a warm 'gentleman's club' type feel with classic furniture, soft lighting, which for me, made the hotel feel intimate unlike other hotels I have stayed in.

If you feel like a good walk (10-15 minutes) then head to the Farmers Market then take the monorail nearby to the Space Needle, which boasts some spectacular views of the city. If you don't have an umbrella, the hotel will happily provide you with one!

If you're looking for something a bit different from the usual hotels that one can stay in, then I would recommend the Doubletree Arctic Club.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

OMG I LOVE THIS HOTEL! It has an old world charm that is off the map. The main staircase and the entry way. The parking was expensive but the corner room and bathtub made up for it!!

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank patiences4not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Property: The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 700 3rd Ave, Seattle, WA 98104-1894
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#23 Business Hotel in Seattle
#24 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in the heart of the downtown Seattle financial district is a landmark Seattle hotel, rich in history and beautifully restored to provide the best in contemporary Doubletree hospitality. We have received the AAA 4-Diamond Award three consecutive years. Our modern luxury hotel is conveniently located just off of I-5, only three blocks from Pioneer Square, close to Seattle's International District, CenturyLink Field (home to the Seahawks and Sounders) and Safeco Field. Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA) is only 30 minutes south by car. Enjoy free daytime bus transportation to dozens of downtown Seattle attractions, like vibrant Pike Place Market and the Puget Sound waterfront. From the distinctive third-floor walrus heads overlooking the street, to the fine Alaskan marble foyer, to the magnificent Northern Lights Dome Room with its enchanting Rococo gilt and leaded stained glass ceiling, The Arctic Club Hotel in Seattle offers a unique hotel experience harkening back to the post-Klondike gold rush days of the early 1900s. Our tastefully-appointed hotel features modern conveniences suited to the savvy business traveler, as well as a central Seattle location and amenities to please leisure guests. Stylish guest rooms, suites, and executive accommodations boast a long list of guest amenities, flat panel HDTVs, our luxurious Sweet Dreams beds, and wireless high-speed internet access. Some rooms feature jetted tubs and outdoor terraces. Other hotel amenities include: •Remote printing capabilities •Wireless HSIA in public areas throughout the hotel •A Precor®-equipped Fitness Center •In-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arctic Club Seattle - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Arctic Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing