We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pioneer Square Best Western” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pioneer Square Best Western”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

The Best Western at Pioneer is a great little hotel. Don’t go if you are looking for the cookie cutter hotel of the big chains, this is more of a boutique hotel. The “free” breakfast was more along the lines of a small European hotel without the meat and hard rolls, which matched the feel for the whole hotel. In my opinion the hotel would be fit right in with the boutique hotels of any major European city. Right next to the hotel is a nice saloon which severed mostly local beers and wines, but had the atmosphere of a local “gasthaus” in Germany or a local pub in England.
If you are in Seattle with some free time I would advise you take the “Underground Tour,” which is about a block from the hotel. Not overly impressive however very informative. Just around the corner from the hotel up on First Avenue there is a nice little jazz club that has reasonably priced meals and great music, if you like jazz that is.
The hotel is with easy walking distance of the waterfront and its associated eateries. Just a short walk north on First Avenue is the famous Pikes Market where you can buy fresh fruit, meat, flowers and fish. If you go to the Market don’t forget your camera as the range of colors is outstanding.
Speaking of cameras, vist Kerry Park, which is north of the Space Needle, where you get a wonderful view of the city; I think it is the same view you see from window of Frasier’s window from the TV show of the same name. One doesn’t need a rental car to get there however it is a “hike” up the last few blocks, trust me on that as I hiked it once and about half way up my legs and I agree that I was out of shape and should have taken the rental car. (Testosterone will kill you every time.) They say in the winter when the air is fresh and clear you can see Mt. Rainer in the back ground behind the Space Needle; however I was there in the summer so I just got a hazy view of Mt. Rainer. For the camera buffs I would advise you go to the park right after sun down so you can get a view of the Space Needle and the rest of Seattle all lit-up.
If you want to change your daily wear visit Utilikilts on Pioneer Square. They can outfit you with a daily wear kilt in no time. I was much temped to buy one; however, well to be honest I chickened out.
All and all the Pioneer Square Best Western Hotel is a great little hotel, right in the heart of old Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamsteinRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    528
    108
    44
    24
See reviews for
241
610
108
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Pioneer Square for two nights in June, 2009. The room they gave us was behind the elevator and near the ice machine, and looked out into a dreary air vent, but despite these drawbacks, the room was spacious and clean. The location is great if you want to walk to Pike Market or along the waterfront, but the streets are very dirty and a large double-decker freeway is very nearby, so it is noisy outside. The breakfast was OK--just like most economy hotel continental breakfasts--but it was a welcome beginning to our days. Pioneer Square, where the hotel is located, is interesting, but just on the other side of seedy. I was unprepared for the shabbiness of the surrounding area, even though many businesses are trying to improve it. All in all, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Persnicketyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed here three nights, coming into Seattle on Amtrak from Vancouver. It is a beautiful classic hotel with personnel who are extremely helpful. The breakfast buffet is a perfect way to start the day. We took buses everywhere and the location couldn't be more convenient, although Pioneer Square at night is not condusive for strolling the streets, thus the 4-star rating on location. Our room was front streetview, second floor, spacious, clean and so very comfortable. If we come back to Seattle again, this is the place we will stay. The price is right! My husband stayed here seven years ago and he said this time was even better.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyTrainlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta-georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Larisa at front desk is fantastic.Always helping and answering questions with a great attitude and a BIG SMILE. Defenetly a big asset for the Hotel.
Outside Katarina always providing good tips an reccomendations. She is a jewel.
Thaks to all the employees for making us feel good.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mach2092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I am moved to report to help other travellers. If you book this one and are finding your way yourself look out as it does not carry the usual Best Western large illuminated logo. Having found it we received excellent and cheerful service.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We chose the Pioneer Square for its price and proximity to AMTRAK (it's a $4 cab ride to the station, tip not included). We stayed two nights, one going and one coming.
It would take a compelling reason now to choose another Seattle hotel. We got in late the first night and the desk staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. We were quickly in our nicely appointed and furnished room and found the extra pillows we had asked for online.
The Pioneer is a historic building with the ambiance only found in earlier days. It has had a first class restoration, so you get the best of the old and of the new.
The included breakfast is of first quality and generous quantity. A cheerful attendant provides any help you need and boiled eggs provide the protein often missing from such meals.
Finally, when I discovered I had left my shaving kit behind and called the hotel they simply checked my address and said they would send it along. At no charge.
The Best Western Pioneer Square will be our hotel in Seattle from now on.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

I have always wanted to stay in downtown Seattle, visit Pioneer Square, sightsee and shop. I was concerned about the safety of staying downtown. However I was so happy to have available at $20 for the night as well as into the next day, secured parking.
The staff was very friendly and sociable. They stored our luggage the morning we checked out so that we could do our shopping and touring for the day as well as to leave our mini van parked in the secured parking.
Although our room was a bit small, it was clean and comfortable. I would most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerriF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Pioneer Square
Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Address: 77 Yesler Way, Seattle, WA 98104-2530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#29 Family Hotel in Seattle
#34 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing