We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Ranked #31 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We stayed for only one night but were very impressed with every aspect of this hotel. It has the charm and warmth of a bygone era with all the modern conveniences. Folks at the front desk were friendly, helpful and professional and our room was certainly large enough, very clean and comfortable. There was a bit of traffic noise but it certainly didn't bother us. The continental breakfast was top notch with excellent variety and everything fresh and tasty.

This hotel offered excellent value and we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Quilters_Loft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,451 - 1,457 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2009

We stayed 2 nights in an interior King bed room. Others speak of small noisey rooms, but ours was 13 feet x 19 feet with a large bathroom and very clean and comfortable. The hotel is right next to a loud overhead roadway, so an interior room that faces a small courtyard is best. Of course no view, but quiet. We were here on a AAA rate at about $90 before taxes.

Check in is not too friendly as to clerk attitude and lots of forms to sign regarding the many expensive penalties they want to impose if you don't follow their rules.

Parking is in a garage about 1 1/2 blocks away and is $20 per day with unlimited in and out privileges. The garage closes at 10 PM to the general public and I don't know if a Best Western guest has special after hours access. I think the parking rate was reasonable considering the location and alternatives.

The included continental breakfast is better than average. Only hot stuff is the make it yourself waffle and toast, but the yogurt and oranges and apples are of better quality. The tables have white linen tablecloths which are changed when soiled during the breakfast period.

Our internet connection worked well and there is no extra charge. There is no fitness center or pool at this hotel.

We found the location, which is a very short distance from the waterfront to be excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Location was central to places I wanted to see. Stayed 2 nights - room was small but comfortable and clean for the price charged. Staff member Mike was knowledgeable and helpful. Complimentary breakfast offered was much better than other same category chain hotels. Only downside to my stay was that the room window faced the side alley, with loud noises late at night that sounded like a garbage dumpster was being emptied.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mparkerVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I would not stay here again, nor recommend it. Where to start… Well, I’ll admit it was our fault to reserve so last minute on a busy weekend, but the rate of $200 tax for the first night compared to $95 the next night almost seemed criminal. The value was simply horrible. I’m kicking myself now for paying so much for a room that was clearly no better than one at Motel 6.

And if the cost wasn’t bad enough, upon arrival we were informed it was also the smallest room in the entire hotel, something they did NOT mention over the phone. When I expressed displeasure, I was offered no recourse, no discount, nothing. The $20/night parking fee was also an unpleasant surprise.

Also upon arrival, the initial welcome left a rude, very negative feeling in general. We are a younger couple, and as such, it felt we were treated in a condescending manner. For example, the parking garage key – I was told “It’s worth $50 to us, so it’s worth $50 to you, lose it and it will be charged to your credit card”. Not friendly or welcoming at all.

Once we made it to the room, we realized just how small it was. There was about one foot of clearance all around the bed, and barely enough room for luggage. Oh, and lets not forget the spectacular view of a brick wall outside. $200/night for this? Never again. We settled for it anyways due to a long day of driving and just generally being too tired to make an issue of it.

Amenities… All your Best Western standards were there. The complimentary breakfast was your usual bagels, etc. The wireless internet though, was extremely slow and almost unusable.

Overall, this is an old hotel albeit well maintained, but in a less desirable area of downtown Seattle (everything is uphill walking from this hotel). It’s a fair distance from any attractions, and also right next to a major viaduct, so I assume some rooms are likely quite noisy. $95/night (peak) sounds acceptable, anything more and you’re paying far too much. I expected better from a Best Western.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcirico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Where here now on the 2nd of 3 nights. The hotel is clean with a very nice breakfast, and location is excellent - one short block to the Underground Tours; across the street from the ferry's (take the Bainbridge Island ferry for a beautiful, very inexpensive trip to the Island - or another); about 8 blocks (nice walk) to Pike Place Market; a couple blocks to Elliott Bay shops. Everything is close and if you enjoy to walk just a little it's the perfect location and a great value. We love to find good value and boutique type hotels, especially in great locations. We highly recommend this. The only issue I have is our room is near the elevated highway and there is more noise at night than I care for (but ear plugs do the trick). But the room is very clean and it's a nice older hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2GoinSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2009

This hotel was great. Good AAA rate, friendly, accommodating staff, nice updated bathroom, free easy wifi, good section of town. Don't be scared by the proximity to the freeway. My room was quiet, at least. It's a far walk to Capitol Hill, but close to the rest of downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indisguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We arrived from the airport in a limo because we were 3 people with 8 pieces of luggage for a 7 day cruise. We should have arranged for a town car ahead of time (calling a car from the airport phone took 3 phone calls and 1/2 an hour because it was so busy) but for $40 we had a limo ride to this historic hotel.

The checkin was easy and friendly. We drew a room on the front facing the street and it had a step out small balconey. We were offered a bottle of cold water each. Our room was charming with 2 double beds. The room was clean and cheerful.

Note: we were a one nighter but it did get noisy as we were over the bar and we didn't really get too bothered but it got noisy enough at 2 am to wake us up.

Breakfast was the make a waffle, pick a cereal have an apple or a muffin or pastry variety but they also had a soda machine and were gracious when I asked for a diet cola in addition to my orange juice.

We were a little apprehensive as we walked around the Pioneer Square area because there were a number of people just hanging around. It was the first Thursday of the month so we enjoyed the Art booths set up for the Art Walk evening. This was a little bit of everything but it was a very small area. We walked from there down to the harbor and experienced the tourist spots that are t-shirt shops and restaurants. We also got to see the Seattle Art Museum this evening as it was open Thusday evening and as a bonus was also free. This hotel was charming and had nice staff but the location would not be our choice for a longer stay to experience Seattle. We saw several people sleeping in doorways in the morning also.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisaonthegoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#29 of 105 in Seattle
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 105 in Seattle
1,103 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 105 in Seattle
2,352 reviews
Pioneer Square
Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel

Address: 77 Yesler Way, Seattle, WA 98104-2530
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £94 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing