We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, Sketchy location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Ranked #31 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
2 reviews
“Decent hotel, Sketchy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Overall the hotel was not a bad one. The thing that turned us off about the trip was the location of the hotel. While staying there my family got approached by homeless people everyday, at least 4 times a day while we walked around the Pioneer District. Enough to make you feel uncomfortable with a baby in tow. Also on the last night of our stay, my father got propositioned by a homeless woman on his way back from the parking garage alone. The bell men at the hotel were very friendly, and the rooms were clean. Breakfast was average, and nothing to write home about. Then again though, it was free. If we were to go to Seattle again, I would spend more money to stay somewhere else. The savings that this hotel offers compared to the more expensive ones downtown were not worth it. This was the first Tripadvisor.com rating that I truly felt was over-rated and incorrect.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superstar_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    528
    108
    44
    24
See reviews for
241
610
108
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Seattle is one of my favorite cities and i had not visited in a long time. So my husband and I planned a long weekend there. The Best western was a great choice for us to get reaquainted with this fabulous city. They hotel was perfect and the location too. the staff were helpful in every way. And the price was great too, leaving us extra money to splurge on other things!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WyoMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2009

The staff at this hotel went all out. From the day I checked in, I was treated like I was very special. I even participated in decorating the beautiful Christmas tree in the lobby, drinking hot cocoa from Starbucks! The concierges (all) were outstanding. Everyone, without exception, was friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to Pike Place and downtown, definitely walking distance and the weather was exceptional for this time of year and that helped a lot. The only drawback was the area is a little sketchy at night, so I'd recommend being aware of your surroundings in the evening. The accommodations were pleasant, and the bed was very comfortable.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SeattleJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

Good location, walking distance to International District and the Downtown shopping area, but in the immediate area, not much is open later in the evening. The staff is just so darn chipper that you can't help but be in a good mood even after a crappy flight. We checked in and got upgraded to a suite with a balcony and nice overlook. Very nice of them to offer - most hotels wouldn't even in the deadest of off-season. The internet is free, the rooms are comfy, and the toiletries are Neutrogena. Can't ask for more if I'm looking to spend less then $90 for prime locale. Parking is a pain --$20, but I can't really fault them. It's pretty much all paid limited parking. A little secret, walk all the way up the hill on Yesler toward residential and there will be free parking, unlimited. Also try next to the fire station, just east of Yesler. It's about .5 mile walk.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We had travelled 1000 miles via Amtrak celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary.
This hotel is in the Historic Area of Seattle which I did not know when the reservations (via AAA) were made. Old brick building, small lobby, nice with fireplace, palms and a couple of chairs, nothing spectacular but it filled the needs of a lobby.

You can imagine my surprise when we opened the door to our room and it was SPECTACULAR! Gorgeous furnishings, tri ceiling, lovely view of the quiet tree lined street below, tons of period furniture including a long couch and lovely desk, and the biggest bed I have ever seen (I sleep on a California King, at home).

I can hardly wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maribethCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We just got back from a weekend stay at the Best Western Pioneer Square in Seattle and the stay was beyond my expectations. During our last visit, we booked a hotel for a similar price and it was a complete dump so when I was able to book this hotel for a very reasonable rate with my CAA discount, I wasn't expecting too much. The hotel was in a great location, lots of places to eat and drink in the area plus close to some great places like the Crab Pot on the waterfront. The staff that we encountered during our stay were all so nice and friendly. The room was large and very clean with a nice big bathroom and tub! It was quiet, we never heard a single noise while in our rooms. The breakfast that is included was ok, nothing spectacular but lots to choose from with waffles, bagels, cereal, eggs, etc. The hotel is also in the "ride free" zone so you can ride the bus for free. We also walked and took a cab to the main shopping area and it is super close. Overall, nothing but good things to say and we will be back for sure! One thing, if you stay here and looking for something fun to do at night, the Comedy Underground is a very short 2 minute walk from the hotel and for $15, we got to see 2 comedians and it was a great time!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smmcisaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugene or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

a well preserved old hotel in a perfect location for our visits to seattle. we like to walk in the city, so using the car park two blocks away is convenient. close to train station, safeco field, elliot bay book store, seattle art museum, pike mkt (maybe 12 blocks), and an easy city bus ride to husky stadium.
the hotel is clean and comfortable. the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducksflynorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Pioneer Square
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Pioneer Square
Pioneer Square
Silver Cloud Hotel - Seattle Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,938 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#23 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel
Address: 77 Yesler Way, Seattle, WA 98104-2530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pioneer Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#29 Family Hotel in Seattle
#34 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Pioneer Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing