We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced rack rate & in desperate need of an overhaul”
Review of The Loyal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Loyal Inn
Ranked #63 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stumbled upon this hotel when googling for cheap places to stay in Seattle, as prices here are ridiculously high compared to larger cities like Chicago, where the Hilton can be had for $150 on a weekend. Rack rates when I booked were $170, not too far off from nicer places down in the Pike Place area. These rack rates are ex-tax, not including state hotel taxes etc which push the total close to/over $200 a night, which is pretty expensive for the experience offered by this establishment.

Upon check in, I was assigned a ground floor room, and dragged my luggage inside to find that there was a homeless man outside playing with his man-bits, while trying to peer in the glass of the room. Gross!

Reception quickly assigned me a room on a higher floor. Tip for others: Don't ask for a room facing the street, the windows aren't double glazed and road/traffic/people noise is high. There's not much to see anyway, other than cars driving past.

The room was comfortable, but the overall experience was a let down. Overall it seemed relatively clean, but the interior is extremely dated, and screams of an upgrade. The wood furniture was full of knocks and dings, showing its age.

The bed was comfortable, however there was blood on the comforter, so I asked for housekeeping to replace it. This was done promptly.

The air conditioning was in what seemed to be a makeshift housing in the wall, an after though rather than being properly built in to the building. The housing wasn't sealed properly and had gaps around it allowing a draught through, and made the airconditioner rattle and shake during operation.

A coffee machine was supplied, with a couple of packets of generic drip coffee and powdered whitener. I was surprised this was included, but didn't like the powder whitening agent, and much rather half & half, or sealed milk portions in the fridge. A small microwave, and bar fridge were also in the TV unit.

Noise from rooms adjacent, and above was ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. All day I could hear people in the room above me and above and one over from me stomping around, and at night I could hear the person above nailing something/someone pretty strenuously. Guests across the hall were audible with both theirs and my door closed. When the guest next to my room closed his front door, the windows in my room shook, showing the buildings age.

The toilet was clean, and properly flushing, however being supplied a nearly used up toilet paper roll on the holder was... Interesting? One doesn't want to be reminded that literally thousands of other guests have sat on the same throne when going about business. +1 for being eco-friendly (Or penny pinching?). The hand towels, were not clean, and all had stains on them. These were also replaced by housekeeping at my request.

The shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispenser in the shower is a novel idea, but let down by execution. I'm not sure if all units were like mine, however it required some force to dispense a small amount, and repeated presses to get enough the size of 2-3 quarters to be able to wash with. Body wash is also almost useless without a loofah or washcloth, compared to a bar of soap which lathers as friction is used on it against the body. The supplied bodywash without a loofah of washcloth simply runs between your fingers and is hard to build up a lather with. Otherwise, the shower was clean and appeared to be wiped down well.

I'd have to say the best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. It was plentiful, and an 'all you can eat' affair. I wasn't terribly hungry, but there was a great selection of hot and cold foods, along with waffles, toast, muffins and bagels available. The same assortment and brands I've seen used by the Hampton Inn, which is well known for their great breakfasts. The dining area was also very clean, if a little cramped and lacking ventilation - It was quite humid in there.

The included Wifi was also pathetically slow. I wouldn't recommend this for business travellers, as using a VPN was impossible due to the speeds.

Location was good, 5-10 mins walk to the space needle, however close by restaurants (apart from the asian place across the street) were nowhere to be found. Walgreens up the road has plenty of food you can make up in your room to suffice. A taxi to the stadium on the south side of town was under $10.


All in all, a pricey and disappointing stay, but given some attention and lots of TLC by the management/owners, this could be polished into a gem given time and a lot of money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Howard-J-Wolowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

Rooms are ok. Good size. Nice bedding. The location of this hotel makes it a perfect base voor discovering the city. Service at the frontdesk was good. Swift checkin, they had a room availbale even though we arrived early. The breakfast however was a big dissapointment. Dirty tables, wafles tasted strange, no regular coffee (empty) and no one who attended the breakfastroom.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

easy to find , off the freeway. nice , big room. very comfortabel king bed . good breakie. friendly & helpful staff ! but- its a tiche on the noisy side. traffic. hallway noise. pipes, plumbing noise.
thank god - I alway travel with foam earplugs ! what a difference ! nice & clean. new carpets.
free parking and wi-fi.

Room Tip: downtown , big cities are just plain noisy- sirens, traffic, doors slamming.....not sure what you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketman000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed here for three days while my wife and I were in Seattle. It wasn't a bad hotel at all, basically what you'd expect from this kind of hotel. The location was nice in that it was only a 5-10 minute walk to the Space Needle and the other attractions in that area. We even had a bit of a view of the Space Needle! It took a little longer to get to places like Pike Place Market but even that wasn't bad. We even walked to Safeco Field for a ball game and the back to the hotel after. It took about 45 mintues, which isn't bad. The staff were very friendly and everything was nice and clean. Breakfast was fairly basic but that isn't a bad thing. My biggest issue is that they seemed to change the WiFi password everyday, which was really annoying. Other than that everything was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria D, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Dear MargaretW,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Best Western Loyal Inn while in Seattle. We are located in the north end of downtown and although there are construction going on we are still very much accessible as we are right off Denny Way which is a main street in Downtown Seattle. We thank you for being a part of the Best Western family and hope to see you the next time you are in Seattle.

Sincerely,

Maria Diangco
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Loyal Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here during a trip to Seattle. This is your standard Best Western doing what it does best: predictable clean rooms and decent customer service. Nestled down in the "Denny Triangle" it's easy walking distance to the space needle (Check out the museum or Rock and Roll if you go that way) and downtown shopping. It's a little bit of a hike to Pike's Place Market (maybe 12+ blocks), but well worth it if you're ok at walking. If you do go down that way, check out the new Ferris Wheel down by the waterfront.

There's a Wallgreen's up a block or so if you need supplies from a drug store. A refrigerator in the room is a plus for left overs.

The complimentary breakfast was decent as far as complimentary breakfasts go. Fresh fruit and yogurt were included. They also had premade egg patties and ham to make breakfast sandwiches with. Usually these breakfasts are just bread and corn flakes, so it was more than I expected. : )

Other noteworthy things: They have stamps for postcards. We asked the clerk where to get a good meal. He suggested the 5-point cafe. It was a good spot for "American Fair". Thanks for the suggestion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hjonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great value for the money and location. You would be hard-pressed to find a hotel with this location and a free breakfast at this price for downtown Seattle in the summer. The breakfast was okay but there were plenty of choices to fill you up! The rooms were clean but a bit small. I stayed in a room with 2 queen beds with my son and husband and found it to be quite cramped. We spent most of the time sight seeing and only came back to sleep so not really a big deal to us. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klrc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was my first trip to Seattle and the location of this hotel is great for walking most places. Also included in the price is breakfast. Hotels in Seattle can be quite expensive so this was at the lower end which was attractive. On check in the staff were friendly and helpful and attended to any minor issues very quickly. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room which also had a small fridge and microwave. Looking out my window, which overlooked the parking lot, I was able to actually see the Space Needle. There is also an in room safe available. Breakfast was nice and fresh waffles cooked on site were available. Free newspaper was also delivered every morning I was there. Unfortunately the hotel itself is very dated and needs updating. My bathroom door didn't close and the room door didn't appear very solid. The carpet, pillows and curtains need replacing. The curtains had a cigarette (?) burn and the chair had stains on it. I believe the carpet in the lobby has been replaced so hopefully the rest of the hotel will follow suit. Overall not a bad stay as I didn't come to spend my days in the room anyway and only needed somewhere to sleep and rest between outings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adelaidian_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#48 of 103 in Seattle
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loyal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loyal Inn

Address: 2301 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1907 (Formerly Best Western Loyal Inn)
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: £106 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Loyal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you arrive at The Loyal Inn, our exceptional customer service team and comfortable accommodations will greet you. Once inside your spacious non-smoking room, you'll find all the comforts of home, including a 32-inch flat screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Eco-Friendly rooms are also available. Additional amenities at this Seattle hotel include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast buffet each morning, relaxing spa, on-site exercise facility and a 24-hour business center. We offer guest parking for a nominal fee of only $10.00 per night plus applicable taxes. The best of the city awaits you just outside this hotel in Seattle. From exploring famed Pike Place Market to marveling at the Space Needle® while visiting Seattle Center to catching a Seattle Seahawks or Seattle Mariners game. Everything you want to do and see in Seattle is just minutes away. While in town, try to catch one of the many annual festivals, including the Bumbershoot® and Northwest Folklife Festivals and don't forget Seattle's annual Seafair celebration. The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle Cancer Alliance, Swedish Hospital, Virginia Mason, Lake Union, University of Washington and Seattle University are also nearby. Be sure to explore the variety of unique shops, restaurants and entertainment venues in downtown Seattle. Business guests will also enjoy the Loyal Inn's close proximity to local businesses, hospitals/medical companies and corporations, including PATH, Microsoft, Amazon and Boeing and the Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Seattle. Make an online reservation today and save at the Loyal Inn hotel! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Loyal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Loyal Hotel Seattle
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing