We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!”
Review of The Loyal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Loyal Inn
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!”
Reviewed 7 February 2010

it was sooooo revolting, freezing cold, smelt like cigarettes and mouldy, do not stay in this hotel u will be disappointed!

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank CobyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcohenSeattle, General Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2010
Thank you for taking your time to write a review for our hotel., We are sorry you did not have a pleasant stay and we take your points to heart. We are walking through the hotel again to see the hotel through your eyes to and will make the improvements needed to be certain guests do not have the same experience you did. We hope to see you back again soon so that you can experience the way our hotel is intended to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    328
    150
    66
    30
See reviews for
202
255
79
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

I stayed at this Best Western back in July 09. I found the hotel very clean, rooms were spacious enough for a family of four. The location is terrific we walked to the Space Needle. I did not find the area dangerous as stated in some reviews we walked around at night with no problems. The only complaint I had was the beds were not the best but it was tolerable. The breakfast was terrific. All and all I would stay here again. The staff was also very friendly and they have a business center complete with computer and internet. The only thing I regret is that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anayafamilytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWLOYALINN, Hotel Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 20 January 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We pride ourselves on taking great care of our guests and providing a clean hotel. And in the future our hotel will be more accomodating to families...We are starting to transition our breakfast room into a little movie room, game room with free popcorn and refreshments from 6pm to 10pm everynight. We hope to see you back here so that you can enjoy this. Have a great rest of the week and thank you for choosing Best Western!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I stayed here with a friend for the 49ers vs Seahawks game, The location is great about 5 blocks from Seattle Center, Space Needle and Monorail to Downtown..I got a great rate on priceline so I couldnt pass it up. The rooms were clean and nice, The staff were friendly even though just a heads up they charge a 25.00 incidental fee that is not revealed at check in time but Im told is refundable. The Continental breakfast was awesome. My only problem was with the lack of quality bed linens which especially during the winter was surprising, you will either have to keep your heater on all night or ask for extra blankets because the ones on the bed are paper thin. I probably would not stay here again only because I prefer to be closer downtown next time so I can get an airport shuttle and not have to pay 45.00 for a cab to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWLOYALINN, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with others. We are very glad that you liked our breakfast and that your stay was enjoyable. We strive to provide quality stay for all of our guests and again, we are extreemly pleased that we met your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you in Seattle again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2009

Close to the Space Needle and not far from downtown. Everyone working at Loyal Inn were friendly and helpful. The hot tub and excercise equipment were always available and we never needed to wait. There is a very generous breakfast set up in the breakfast room for self serve. The room was clean and the temperature was controllable. The room had a microwave and frig. There are also 2 computers set up in a small room with a printer. Quiet but close to the center city with a 24 hour restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5garden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWLOYALINN, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 13 November 2009
Thank you very much for taking the time to let people know about your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your kind comments and are very glad that you had a nice stay with us. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again in Seattle very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

A nice budget hotel in a good location to see the attractions of Seattle. Really liked this hotel, staff were really good and helpful, location was good short walk to Space Needle and also to the free bus zone to get around downtown. Hot tub in the hotel was good! Room was fine, nothing spectacular but comfy bed, large fridge and a microwave - couldn't ask for more for the price. I though the breakfast was great too, the make your own McDonalds style McMuffin part especially!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beve-snailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWLOYALINN, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide quality customer care and a quality product and I am glad that you experienced both. Thank you for choosing the Best Western Loyal Inn and we hope to see you back in Seattle very soon! Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I chose the hotel because was closed to downtown, had a breakfast and because was a Best Western. I stayed three nigths, somthing did not let me sleep well, and then the following day I killed I huge bug in the pillow, I asked for change of bedding, but it didn't work, found more bed mites....THe hotel should do something to clean up those matresses.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank canadarush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWLOYALINN, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
Thank you very much for your comments about the situation you encountered while staying with us. This is not the experience that we want people to walk away with from our hotel. I have not experienced "bed mites" at our property, but hotels can have bugs from time to time. We use companies that monitor bugs and we also monitor them with our own staff that uses chemicals. The unfortunate side of our business is that when a hotel has international guests; that guest can bring all sorts of visitors to your hotel. Again, we have a company that is supposed to combate that and also our staff combates that every day. I have recently completed an inspection with my vice president since you have left this comment. We are not taking this comment lightly and we are seaching every corner of every guest room to see signs of "bed mites". We did not find anything that resembles a bug issue or bugs lingering in the room. That being said, I dont want to discount your experience and I am very sorry that you were not comfortable at our hotel. Please know that this is not an issue at our hotel and will not be an issue at our hotel. We maintain a clean property and we are aware that guests bring things into hotels that they do not know about and we dont either, but we do check reguarly for these things. Thank you very much for writing this review and we will work tirelessly to keep our establishment bug free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2009

I live here in Seattle but my family members flew in from Montana and Texas and I had them book here at the Best Western because it was near downtown and they all would not fit in my apartment. I don't normally write reviews but mother and I felt it was only right to express our gratitude to the staff and our experience with others.

When we arrived at the hotel it was already late about one in the morning. We checked in with Rosita, very nice young lady. She gave us rooms on ground level like we asked when the reservations were made because my father uses a cane. The two rooms we got were very spacious, the beds were comfortable, towels were nice and thick, we had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the room.

In the morning we went to check out the free breakfast and I must say, we've been to other hotels where you just get a muffin and coffee but this breakfast was perfect! they have bagels, cereal, YOGURT!, breakfast sandwhiches that you can put together yourself (egg, bacon and cheese on english muffin) and the best part is making your own waffles in the waffle iron. The breakfast attendant Maria is such a darling, my parents loved her, she greeted my parents every morning and helped my father with his waffles.

Oh, you guys are going to love this part, their staff is trained in FIRST AID! One of my sister's sons scraped up his hand while horsing around with his brother in the parking lot. All we asked for was a band-aid and the security guard Vince came back with stuff to clean the dirt and blood off and any germs that might have gotten into the "abrasion" and bandaged it up. We were just so suprised the things the staff will take the time to do for us.

My family was there for a total of four days and those four days were made enjoyable and very pleseant by the atmosphere and the staff, we would like to thank you all and we look foward to seeing you in December!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPeterson70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWLOYALINN, Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, 27 October 2009
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Without valued guest comments we would not know how to improve. With that said, thank you very much for your kind words. It is always satisfying to have a guest walk away with an experience like yours. We strive to make every guest's experience special and we are very happy that we have succeeded with that goal in this situation. We look forward to seeing you in December and thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 101 in Seattle
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loyal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loyal Inn

Property: The Loyal Inn
Address: 2301 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1907 (Formerly Best Western Loyal Inn)
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Loyal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you arrive at The Loyal Inn, our exceptional customer service team and comfortable accommodations will greet you. Once inside your spacious non-smoking room, you'll find all the comforts of home, including a 32-inch flat screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Eco-Friendly rooms are also available. Additional amenities at this Seattle hotel include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast buffet each morning, relaxing spa, on-site exercise facility and a 24-hour business center. We offer guest parking for a nominal fee of only $10.00 per night plus applicable taxes. The best of the city awaits you just outside this hotel in Seattle. From exploring famed Pike Place Market to marveling at the Space Needle® while visiting Seattle Center to catching a Seattle Seahawks or Seattle Mariners game. Everything you want to do and see in Seattle is just minutes away. While in town, try to catch one of the many annual festivals, including the Bumbershoot® and Northwest Folklife Festivals and don't forget Seattle's annual Seafair celebration. The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle Cancer Alliance, Swedish Hospital, Virginia Mason, Lake Union, University of Washington and Seattle University are also nearby. Be sure to explore the variety of unique shops, restaurants and entertainment venues in downtown Seattle. Business guests will also enjoy the Loyal Inn's close proximity to local businesses, hospitals/medical companies and corporations, including PATH, Microsoft, Amazon and Boeing and the Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Seattle. Make an online reservation today and save at the Loyal Inn hotel! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Loyal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Loyal Hotel Seattle
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing